Kestrel sits between the small Sparrow and the large Osprey in Blackwing Space's range of satellite platforms. It is a 3U XL, sold online and rated at 3 to 30 watts of average power over an orbit. Blackwing says the rails let a satellite join a shared launch late, by taking an open slot in a dispenser.
The frame is 6061 aluminium with a hard anodised finish, and Blackwing says it is qualified for the mechanical loads of SpaceX rideshare launches. Inside is the same Rook flight computer as on Sparrow. Two Puffin battery packs hold 150 watt-hours between them.
Application
A mid-size 3U XL platform with room for a 4 kg payload and 30 W of orbit-average power. It is sold online with transparent pricing and can ride in open slots of existing rideshare deployers, which helps teams that need a late launch opportunity.
Photos
How it is built
Frame and side panels
The frame alone weighs 375 grams. Optional side panels come blank, ready for the customer to modify, and add another 680 grams. Assembly instructions and fasteners are included, and the frame has built-in connections for deployment switches, solar arrays, a de-orbiting device, antennas and radiators.
Kestrel 3U XL Chassis
Kestrel 3U XL Chassis optional side panels
Kestrel 3U XL Chassis assembly fasteners
Chassis interface provisions
Rideshare-qualified frame
Computer and battery
The Rook board puts the flight computer and power control on one four-layer FR-4 circuit board. Its charge controller takes solar or USB-C input. Each Puffin Pack holds lithium-ion 18650 cells, and Kestrel carries two of them.
Rook onboard computer (one per platform)
Rook printed circuit board
Charge controller, TI BQ25798 buck-boost
Puffin battery pack (Puffin Pack)
Radio, pointing and propulsion
An S-band radio rated at 5 megabits a second is available for Kestrel and Osprey only. Pointing control comes in coarse versions, accurate to better than 10 degrees, and a precision version, better than 1 degree. Electric propulsion is available in a standard and an advanced form.
S-band radio
2-axis coarse ADCS
3-axis fine ADCS
Electric propulsion, standard
Electric propulsion, advanced
Where the parts areNumber of parts we have listed in each group
A draft Blackwing specification names PEEK, a plastic, as an alternative to aluminium for the frame.
The materials by familyHow many of the parts that name a material use each one
Other5
Polymers and foams2
Aluminium1
Glass fibre1
Semiconductors1
How it connects to other things
Blackwing says Kestrel complies with the CubeSat Design Specification and the PC/104 board format. It names four compatible dispensers, which also fit Sparrow and Osprey: SEOPS Equalizer Flex, Maverick Space NLAS, Exolaunch EXOpod Nova and SPACEMIND SMPOD12. The Rook computer grew out of PyCubed, an open-source CubeSat design. Blackwing's pages mention no Kestrel flight.
Launched on
SEOPS Equalizer Flex (deployer)
Compatible deployer: 1U to 12U, tab and rail, up to 96U per port, flown on SpaceX Falcon 9 rideshare
Maverick Space Systems NLAS (deployer)
Compatible deployer: ruggedized 6U (or 2x3U) dispenser with NASA Ames NLAS heritage
Lithium-ion 18650 cells, two in series. Here: Puffin battery pack (Puffin Pack); Draft power module cells (Li-ion or LiFePO4). There: 18650 cell (Tenergy, 4 per card); Battery cell model (README).
Gallium arsenide. Here: Draft solar panel cells (triple-junction GaAs). There: Solar cell (SpectraLabs XTE-SF, 2 per module); Solar cell technology.
Blackwing hasn't published a datasheet, developer page or interface guide for Kestrel, and says final specifications go to qualified customers on request. It says all its platforms share one payload interface, but only Sparrow's is documented. Its pages give two different payload masses and two different lengths for Kestrel.
The detailed data
What is written above is built from these numbers and quotes. Each row links to the page it was taken from. Get all of it as JSON, or ask our MCP server.
Features
Sold online as a commercial off-the-shelf system with transparent pricing
Modular architecture
Railed CubeSat format supports late manifesting in existing deployer slots
Specifications
What
Value
Form factor
3U XL
Payload
4 kg payload mass; 2U payload volume; 30W OAP (not defined on the site)
The only parts-level data is the chassis shop page and a spec-table row that name one aluminium alloy and a hard anodize; no drawings or interface documents exist for Kestrel. Components, suppliers and links were added from public sources. A material is left blank where no source states it.
Deployable solar panel wings (1 or 2 panels)Optional deployable arrays to raise orbit-average power; body-mounted panels are the alternative“Deployable Solar Panels (1 Panel)”
Structure option: PEEK frameAlternative to aluminium in the draft structure specification (page marked draft, subject to change)“Material: Aluminum 6061-T6 or PEEK”
CubeSat specification (compliance claim only) · Chassis; the revision is not named
What the sources leave out
No Kestrel developer page, payload interface guide, drawings or STEP file are published (Blackwing says Kestrel developer tools are in development; the Sparrow guide is the only published interface document). The pricing page says all platforms share the same payload interfaces, but the Sparrow payload module drawings are Sparrow-specific and are not applied here. No anodize standard, fastener material, side-panel material, or connector part number for this platform is stated. Chassis pages say 'Aluminum 6061 T6 or T651' without saying which. More detail: Kestrel has no published developer page, interface guide or drawings (listed as coming soon). No bill of materials: fastener count and material, side-panel material, anodize type, solar panel and radio suppliers, ADCS and electric-propulsion suppliers, thermal coatings and adhesives are not stated. The chassis page gives 340 / 100 / 100 mm and 'Standard 6U' while the pricing page gives 366 x 100 x 100 mm for the 3U XL, and payload mass 2.95 kg vs 4 kg. The Specifications page is draft. No Kestrel has flown according to the pages read. More detail: Kestrel has no published developer page, interface guide or drawings (listed as coming soon). No bill of materials: fastener count and material, side-panel material, anodize type, solar panel and radio suppliers, ADCS and electric-propulsion suppliers, thermal coatings and adhesives are not stated. The chassis page gives 340 / 100 / 100 mm and 'Standard 6U' while the pricing page gives 366 x 100 x 100 mm for the 3U XL, and payload mass 2.95 kg vs 4 kg. The Specifications page is draft. No Kestrel has flown according to the pages read.