Tin-antimony solder Sn95/Sb5 (lead-free step solder) Sn95Sb5

Sn95Sb5: a tin-antimony alloy printed by the supplier as Sn 95% and Sb 5%

Also known as ASTM J-STD-006, Sn95/Sb5, Sn95Sb5, Indalloy 133, 95Sn/5Sb

Sn95Sb5 is a lead-free solder of tin and antimony, printed as Sn 95% and Sb 5% by the supplier.

8 sources · Updated 2026-11-01 · CC BY 4.0

Evidence level

2 of 5

Lab-measured

Melting range

232-240 °C

Tensile strength

2,990 psi or 8.15 ksi

Density

0.2617 lbs/in.3

Hardness

15.0 HV

Recipe, share of the weight

  • Sn 95%Tin
  • Sb 5%Antimony

Best for

Step soldering, where a lead-free joint must stay solid through later, lower-temperature steps (supplier and Kester data)

Weakest at

Strength values disagree between sources, and no corrosion, service-temperature or space data were found

Risk at a glance

  • People None found. Hazard data limited
  • If it fails Moderate. Re-melting of a joint in a later solder step
  • Corrosion No data. No corrosion data recorded

Quick facts: Sn95Sb5

Key properties of Sn95Sb5
PropertyValueBasis
Density0.26 lbs/in32 sourced values across conditions
Yield strength38.1 MPa1 sourced value
Tensile strength20.6 to 56.2 MPa2 sourced values across conditions
Melting point232 to 464 °C3 sourced values across conditions

What is the density of Tin-antimony solder Sn95/Sb5 (Sn95Sb5)?

Tin-antimony solder Sn95/Sb5 (Sn95Sb5) has a density of 0.26 lbs/in3. The range covers 2 sourced values across the tempers, forms and test conditions the sources report; room-temperature values are used where a source states a temperature.

What is the melting point of Tin-antimony solder Sn95/Sb5 (Sn95Sb5)?

Tin-antimony solder Sn95/Sb5 (Sn95Sb5) has a melting point of 232 to 464 °C. The range covers 3 sourced values across the tempers, forms and test conditions the sources report; room-temperature values are used where a source states a temperature.

What is the yield strength of Tin-antimony solder Sn95/Sb5 (Sn95Sb5)?

Tin-antimony solder Sn95/Sb5 (Sn95Sb5) has a yield strength of 38.1 MPa. The source and test conditions are listed in the properties table on this page.

What is the tensile strength of Tin-antimony solder Sn95/Sb5 (Sn95Sb5)?

Tin-antimony solder Sn95/Sb5 (Sn95Sb5) has a tensile strength of 20.6 to 56.2 MPa. The range covers 2 sourced values across the tempers, forms and test conditions the sources report; room-temperature values are used where a source states a temperature.

What are the other names and codes for Tin-antimony solder Sn95/Sb5 (Sn95Sb5)?

Tin-antimony solder Sn95/Sb5 (Sn95Sb5) is also written as ASTM J-STD-006, Sn95/Sb5, Sn95Sb5, Indalloy 133, 95Sn/5Sb. Each code is printed in the source listed beside it in the designations table.

What is Tin-antimony solder Sn95/Sb5 (Sn95Sb5) used for?

Uses recorded in the sources include Step soldering; Solder paste, wire, preforms and bar.

Why it exists

Sn95Sb5 is a lead-free tin-antimony solder. Its supplier describes it as a high-melting solder for step soldering. AIM and Kester both print its melting range as 232 to 240 °C, and Kester lists it as available in paste, wire, preforms and bar forms. Its strength figures disagree between sources, and no corrosion or space data were found in the sources read.

Where it's used

Step soldering

The supplier describes this alloy as ideal for a step solder process, the sequence in which a higher-melting joint is made first and lower-melting joints later. The supplier's melt range is 230-240°C (455-464°F).

Solder forms for circuit assembly

Kester marks Sn95Sb5 as available as paste, wire, preforms and bar. Its melting range is printed as 232-240 °C in the same row.

Recipe

Sn95Sb5: a tin-antimony alloy printed by the supplier as Sn 95% and Sb 5%

Sn95Sb5 is a binary alloy of tin and antimony. The supplier page prints the composition as Sn 95% and Sb 5%. Nathan Trotter says it uses only virgin metals in its process and prints a maximum-impurity table, but that table gives no units, so the impurity limits are not recorded here.

What Sn95Sb5 is made of
IngredientShare of the weightWhat it does
Tin Sn 95% The major element, printed as Sn 95% by the supplier.
Antimony Sb 5% The alloying element, printed as Sb 5% by the supplier.

Weight shares are as printed in the sources.

What it can do

Melting range

232-240 °C

measured

AIM and Kester both print the melting range of Sn95/Sb5 as 232 to 240 °C. The supplier's specification line prints 230-240°C.

Tensile strength

2,990 psi or 8.15 ksi

measured

The two sheets disagree. Nathan Trotter prints 2,990 psi and AIM prints 8.15 ksi for the same alloy, and neither gives a test method.

Density

0.2617 lbs/in.3

measured

AIM prints 0.2617 lbs/in.3 for the Sb5 alloy. Nathan Trotter prints 0.262 lbs/in3 for its bar.

Hardness

15.0 HV

Nathan Trotter prints a Vickers hardness of 15.0 HV, with no load stated.

How it compares

On the AIM alloy information sheet, Sn95/Sb5 melts higher than the lead-free SAC alloy and the tin-lead alloy that the same sheet lists with melting points. AIM's second performance table has no row for Sn95/Sb5, so no thermal fatigue or wetting rating is compared here. Its tensile strength is 8.15 ksi on the AIM sheet and 2,990 psi on the Nathan Trotter data sheet, and the two sources disagree.

The same measurements for each material, so you can compare them. Each row names the key condition under the value; the full conditions and methods are in the numbered notes under Technical details. Compare every grade in the family.

Benchmarks
MeasurementSn95Sb5
Thermal behavior and safety
Solidus (Nathan Trotter data sheet)453 °F1
Liquidus (Nathan Trotter data sheet)464 °C2
Melting range (Kester alloy chart)232 to 240 °C3
Melting range (AIM alloy information sheet)Range printed in the AIM alloy information sheet232 to 240 °C
Melt range (supplier specifications, SDR-9505)Range printed on the retailer product page230 to 240 °C4
Physical and electrical
Density (Nathan Trotter data sheet)0.262 lbs/in35
Density (AIM alloy information sheet, as printed)0.2617 lbs/in.36
Hardness (Nathan Trotter data sheet)15 HV12
Other measurements
Shear strength (Nathan Trotter data sheet)37 MPa7
Tensile strength (Nathan Trotter data sheet)2990 psi8
Tensile strength (AIM alloy information sheet)8.15 ksi9
0.2 % yield strength (AIM alloy information sheet)5.53 ksi10
Fatigue strength (Nathan Trotter data sheet)2990 psi11
Elongation at break (Nathan Trotter data sheet)38 %13

Why choose it, and why not

Good for

  • Step soldering. The supplier calls the alloy 'Ideal for use in a step solder process.' (supplier product page)
  • High-melting lead-free joints. AIM and Kester both print a melting range of 232 to 240 °C.

Watch out for

  • Tensile strength disagrees: 2,990 psi from Nathan Trotter and 8.15 ksi from AIM, with no test method in either.
  • Melting range is printed three ways: 232 to 240 °C (AIM and Kester), 230-240°C (supplier specifications) and 235-240C (supplier page title).
  • Nathan Trotter's fatigue strength equals its tensile value (2,990 psi) and prints no cycle count, so treat it with caution.

Sn95Sb5 is the high-melting lead-free option for step soldering, with a melting range printed at 232 to 240 °C by AIM and Kester. Its strength figures disagree between sources and no corrosion or space data were found, so check a sample before relying on one value.

Technical details

For scientists and researchers. Everything above comes from the record below: every number with its method, its conditions and its source.

Other names and standards

The same grade under other systems, as datasheets and standards print them. Each code was checked against the page it comes from.

Other names and standards
SystemCodes
ASTMJ-STD-006 (specification printed by the supplier for its 95Sn/5Sb bar)
Trade nameSn95/Sb5, Sn95Sb5, Indalloy 133, 95Sn/5Sb

Notes

The method, full conditions and any caveat for the numbered rows above.

Notes for the numbered rows
#MeasurementMethodConditionsCaveat
1Solidus (Nathan Trotter data sheet)Printed in the Physical Properties block of the supplier data sheetbasis solidus as printed; no test method printed—
2Liquidus (Nathan Trotter data sheet)Printed in the Physical Properties block of the supplier data sheetbasis liquidus as printed—
3Melting range (Kester alloy chart)Range printed in the Kester alloy temperature chartbasis melting range as printed in the Kester alloy table; the 450-464 °F range is printed beside it—
4Melt range (supplier specifications, SDR-9505)—basis Melt range line in the specifications block; the same page prints 455-464 °F beside itThe page title says 235-240C, while the specifications line says 230-240°C (455-464°F). Both are printed; neither is reconciled here.
5Density (Nathan Trotter data sheet)Printed in the Physical Properties block of the supplier data sheetbasis as printed in lbs/in³; no temperature stated—
6Density (AIM alloy information sheet, as printed)Value printed in the Specialty Solder Alloys table of the AIM information sheetbasis printed in lbs/in.3 and not converted; no temperature stated—
7Shear strength (Nathan Trotter data sheet)Printed in the Physical Properties block of the supplier data sheettest not stated in the data sheetThe data sheet prints the label as 'Shear Strenth (MPa)'. The benchmark name shear_strength is not in property-canon.yaml and is used as written.
8Tensile strength (Nathan Trotter data sheet)Printed in the Physical Properties block of the supplier data sheetform not stated in the data sheettest not stated in the data sheetThe AIM alloy information sheet prints 8.15 ksi for the same alloy (see the next row). Neither source states a test method, so the two values should not be compared directly.
9Tensile strength (AIM alloy information sheet)Value printed in the Technical Information table of the AIM alloy information sheetform not stated in the information sheettest not stated in the information sheetThe Nathan Trotter data sheet prints 2,990 psi for the same alloy. The sources disagree and neither states a test method.
100.2 % yield strength (AIM alloy information sheet)Value printed in the Technical Information table of the AIM alloy information sheetbasis 0.2 % yield strength, as printed in the column headerform as printed; test method not stated—
11Fatigue strength (Nathan Trotter data sheet)Printed in the Physical Properties block of the supplier data sheettest not stated; no number of cycles printedThe printed value is the same as the printed tensile strength (2,990 psi). Treat it with caution until a test method is found.
12Hardness (Nathan Trotter data sheet)Printed in the Physical Properties block of the supplier data sheetload not stated in the data sheetThe benchmark name hardness_vickers is not in property-canon.yaml and is used as written.
13Elongation at break (Nathan Trotter data sheet)Printed in the Physical Properties block of the supplier data sheettest not stated in the data sheetThe AIM information sheet prints a uniform elongation of 1.06 for this alloy without a unit, so it is not recorded.

Risks and side effects

Hazards to people, what happens when a cell overheats, and how the material is handled and stored.

For people

No safety data sheet for this alloy was read. The two PubChem records below cover the pure metals, not the alloy.

Antimony
PubChem's record for antimony metal reports that 18.7% (140 of 748) of company reports do not meet GHS hazard criteria. Its signal word is Danger, and it lists H301, H302, H332, H351, H373 and H411.
Tin
PubChem's record for tin metal reports that 72.9% (695 of 953) of company reports do not meet GHS hazard criteria. Its signal word is Warning, with H319 and H335.

If a joint is reheated

These are melting-point consequences, not field or space failure data. No failure tests on this alloy were found.

Melting
AIM and Kester both print a melting range of 232 to 240 °C. A later solder step at or above that range would melt a joint made with this alloy.
Conflicting strength
The sheets print 2,990 psi and 8.15 ksi for tensile strength, and neither gives a test method, so no confirmed design strength is given here.

Handling and storage

Flux
The supplier says to use an RMA or RA flux.
Analysis
Nathan Trotter says chemical analysis is provided with each shipment, and lab service is available for pot samples.

Test details
The original wording and numbers from the sources, for readers who want them.

Failure risks

Failure risks
FailureTrigger and consequence
Re-melting of a joint in a later solder stepmoderate severityReflow at or above the 232 °C start of the melting range printed by AIM and KesterA joint made with this alloy begins to melt at 232 °C and is fully liquid by 240 °C, as the two sources print. A later step at or above that range would melt the earlier joint.
Conflicting strength datamoderate severityChoosing a design strength from one sheetThe sheets print 2,990 psi and 8.15 ksi for tensile strength. Neither gives a test method, so no confirmed design strength is recorded here.

Handling and storage

  • Use an RMA or RA flux, as the supplier specifies.
  • Nathan Trotter says chemical analysis is provided with each shipment, and lab service is available for pot samples.

Supply and geography

How common the raw materials are and where they come from.

Tin (mine production, world)

Top producers (2025)
China 24.5%, Indonesia 21%, Peru 11.4%, Brazil 9.7%, Congo (Kinshasa) 9.3%
Recycling
USGS: about 17,000 tons of tin from old and new scrap was estimated to have been recycled in 2025.
Substitutes
USGS: epoxy resins for solder are listed as substitutes for tin.

Antimony (mine production, world)

Top producers (2025)
China 36.4%, Russia 29.1%, Tajikistan 20%
Recycling
USGS: recycling supplied 12% of estimated domestic apparent consumption in the United States in 2025.
Substitutes
USGS names no substitute for antimony in solder; the substitutes it lists are for flame retardants, enamels, paint, pigments and lead-acid battery alloys.

Updated