spore: profile
id: solder-sn95-sb5
spore_version: 0.2
family: low-melting-metals-and-solders
name: Tin-antimony solder Sn95/Sb5 (lead-free step solder)
abbreviation: Sn95Sb5
role: lead-free high-melting solder alloy
category: electronics
type: solders
summary: |
  Sn95Sb5 is a lead-free solder of tin and antimony, printed as Sn 95% and Sb 5% by the supplier. Kester and AIM both print its melting range as 232 to 240 °C, which makes it a high-melting solder for step soldering. Two sources disagree on tensile strength (2,990 psi from Nathan Trotter, 8.15 ksi from AIM), and no corrosion or space data were found.
best_for: Step soldering, where a lead-free joint must stay solid through later, lower-temperature steps (supplier and Kester data)
weakest_at: Strength values disagree between sources, and no corrosion, service-temperature or space data were found
identity:
  formula: 'Sn95Sb5: a tin-antimony alloy printed by the supplier as Sn 95% and Sb 5%'
  source: custom-sdr9505
  where: Specifications block (Sn 95% and Sb 5%) and product description (Alloy of Tin and Antimony)
  designations:
    - system: Trade name
      code: Sn95/Sb5
      source: aim-info
      where: Technical Information table, Sn95/Sb5 row
    - system: Trade name
      code: Sn95Sb5
      source: kester-alloy-chart
      where: Alloy column, LEAD-FREE section, Sn95Sb5 row
    - system: Trade name
      code: Indalloy 133
      source: custom-sdr9505
      where: Product description, Also known as line
    - system: Trade name
      code: 95Sn/5Sb
      source: trotter-sn95sb5
      where: Title and MATERIAL line
    - system: ASTM
      code: J-STD-006
      note: specification printed by the supplier for its 95Sn/5Sb bar
      source: trotter-sn95sb5
      where: Chemical composition block, ASTM SPEC line
tags:
  applications:
    - electronics-and-chips
properties:
  - benchmark: melting_point
    label: Solidus (Nathan Trotter data sheet)
    value: 453
    unit: °F
    scope: material
    conditions:
      basis: solidus as printed; no test method printed
    method: Printed in the Physical Properties block of the supplier data sheet
    status: ground
    source: trotter-sn95sb5
    where: Physical properties, Melting Temp (°F) row, 453 Solidus
  - benchmark: melting_point
    label: Liquidus (Nathan Trotter data sheet)
    value: 464
    unit: °C
    scope: material
    conditions:
      basis: liquidus as printed
    method: Printed in the Physical Properties block of the supplier data sheet
    status: ground
    source: trotter-sn95sb5
    where: Physical properties, Melting Temp (°C) row, 464 Liquidus
  - benchmark: melting_point
    label: Melting range (Kester alloy chart)
    value: 232
    value_high: 240
    bound: range
    unit: °C
    scope: material
    conditions:
      basis: melting range as printed in the Kester alloy table; the 450-464 °F range is printed beside it
    method: Range printed in the Kester alloy temperature chart
    status: ground
    source: kester-alloy-chart
    where: Alloy table, LEAD-FREE section, Sn95Sb5 row, Melting Range °C column (232-240)
  - benchmark: melting_point
    label: Melting range (AIM alloy information sheet)
    value: 232
    value_high: 240
    bound: range
    unit: °C
    scope: material
    conditions:
      basis: Sn95/Sb5 row of the technical information table
    method: Range printed in the AIM alloy information sheet
    status: ground
    source: aim-info
    where: Technical Information table, Sn95/Sb5 row, Melting Point (°C) column (232-240)
  - benchmark: melting_point
    label: Melt range (supplier specifications, SDR-9505)
    value: 230
    value_high: 240
    bound: range
    unit: °C
    scope: material
    conditions:
      basis: Melt range line in the specifications block; the same page prints 455-464 °F beside it
    method: Range printed on the retailer product page
    status: ground
    note: The page title says 235-240C, while the specifications line says 230-240°C (455-464°F). Both are printed; neither is reconciled here.
    source: custom-sdr9505
    where: Specifications block, Melt range row (230-240°C (455-464°F))
  - benchmark: density
    label: Density (Nathan Trotter data sheet)
    value: 0.262
    unit: lbs/in3
    scope: material
    conditions:
      basis: as printed in lbs/in³; no temperature stated
    method: Printed in the Physical Properties block of the supplier data sheet
    status: ground
    source: trotter-sn95sb5
    where: Physical properties, Density (lbs/in³) row (0.262)
  - benchmark: density
    label: Density (AIM alloy information sheet, as printed)
    value: 0.2617
    unit: lbs/in.3
    scope: material
    conditions:
      basis: printed in lbs/in.3 and not converted; no temperature stated
    method: Value printed in the Specialty Solder Alloys table of the AIM information sheet
    status: ground
    source: aim-info
    where: Specialty Solder Alloys table, ANTIMONY section, Sb5 row, Density column (.2617)
  - benchmark: shear_strength
    label: Shear strength (Nathan Trotter data sheet)
    value: 37
    unit: MPa
    scope: material
    conditions:
      test: not stated in the data sheet
    method: Printed in the Physical Properties block of the supplier data sheet
    status: ground
    note: The data sheet prints the label as 'Shear Strenth (MPa)'. The benchmark name shear_strength is not in property-canon.yaml and is used as written.
    source: trotter-sn95sb5
    where: Physical properties, Shear Strenth (MPa) row (37)
  - benchmark: ultimate_tensile_strength
    label: Tensile strength (Nathan Trotter data sheet)
    value: 2990
    unit: psi
    scope: material
    conditions:
      form: not stated in the data sheet
      test: not stated in the data sheet
    method: Printed in the Physical Properties block of the supplier data sheet
    status: ground
    note: The AIM alloy information sheet prints 8.15 ksi for the same alloy (see the next row). Neither source states a test method, so the two values should not be compared directly.
    source: trotter-sn95sb5
    where: Physical properties, Tensile Strength (psi) row (2,990)
  - benchmark: ultimate_tensile_strength
    label: Tensile strength (AIM alloy information sheet)
    value: 8.15
    unit: ksi
    scope: material
    conditions:
      form: not stated in the information sheet
      test: not stated in the information sheet
    method: Value printed in the Technical Information table of the AIM alloy information sheet
    status: ground
    note: The Nathan Trotter data sheet prints 2,990 psi for the same alloy. The sources disagree and neither states a test method.
    source: aim-info
    where: Technical Information table, Sn95/Sb5 row, Tensile Strength (ksi) column (8.15)
  - benchmark: yield_strength
    label: 0.2 % yield strength (AIM alloy information sheet)
    value: 5.53
    unit: ksi
    scope: material
    conditions:
      basis: 0.2 % yield strength, as printed in the column header
      form: as printed; test method not stated
    method: Value printed in the Technical Information table of the AIM alloy information sheet
    status: ground
    source: aim-info
    where: Technical Information table, Sn95/Sb5 row, 0.2% Yield Strength (ksi) column (5.53)
  - benchmark: fatigue_strength
    label: Fatigue strength (Nathan Trotter data sheet)
    value: 2990
    unit: psi
    scope: material
    conditions:
      test: not stated; no number of cycles printed
    method: Printed in the Physical Properties block of the supplier data sheet
    status: ground
    note: The printed value is the same as the printed tensile strength (2,990 psi). Treat it with caution until a test method is found.
    source: trotter-sn95sb5
    where: Physical properties, Fatigue Strength (psi) row (2,990)
  - benchmark: hardness_vickers
    label: Hardness (Nathan Trotter data sheet)
    value: 15
    unit: HV
    scope: material
    conditions:
      load: not stated in the data sheet
    method: Printed in the Physical Properties block of the supplier data sheet
    status: ground
    note: The benchmark name hardness_vickers is not in property-canon.yaml and is used as written.
    source: trotter-sn95sb5
    where: Physical properties, Hardness (HV) row (15.0)
  - benchmark: elongation
    label: Elongation at break (Nathan Trotter data sheet)
    value: 38
    unit: '%'
    scope: material
    conditions:
      test: not stated in the data sheet
    method: Printed in the Physical Properties block of the supplier data sheet
    status: ground
    note: The AIM information sheet prints a uniform elongation of 1.06 for this alloy without a unit, so it is not recorded.
    source: trotter-sn95sb5
    where: Physical properties, Elongation at Break row (38%)
corrosion: []
risks:
  hazards:
    - text: PubChem's record for antimony metal (CAS 7440-36-0) reports that 18.7% (140 of 748) of company reports do not meet GHS hazard criteria. Its signal word is Danger, and the hazard statements include H301, H302, H332, H351, H373 and H411. The record is for antimony metal, not for this alloy.
      ghs:
        - H301
        - H302
        - H332
        - H351
        - H373
        - H411
      source: pubchem-antimony
      where: GHS Classification section (CID 5354495)
    - text: PubChem's record for tin metal (CAS 7440-31-5) reports that 72.9% (695 of 953) of company reports do not meet GHS hazard criteria. Its signal word is Warning, with H319 and H335. The record is for tin metal, not for this alloy.
      ghs:
        - H319
        - H335
      source: pubchem-tin
      where: GHS Classification section (CID 5352426)
  failure_risks:
    - mode: Re-melting of a joint in a later solder step
      trigger: Reflow at or above the 232 °C start of the melting range printed by AIM and Kester
      consequence: A joint made with this alloy begins to melt at 232 °C and is fully liquid by 240 °C, as the two sources print. A later step at or above that range would melt the earlier joint.
      severity: moderate
      source: kester-alloy-chart
      where: Alloy table, LEAD-FREE section, Sn95Sb5 row (232-240)
    - mode: Conflicting strength data
      trigger: Choosing a design strength from one sheet
      consequence: The sheets print 2,990 psi and 8.15 ksi for tensile strength. Neither gives a test method, so no confirmed design strength is recorded here.
      severity: moderate
      source: aim-info
      where: Technical Information table, Sn95/Sb5 row (8.15 ksi); Trotter Physical properties (2,990 psi)
  side_effects: []
  handling:
    - text: Use an RMA or RA flux, as the supplier specifies.
      source: custom-sdr9505
      where: Product description, Use with an RMA or RA flux line
    - text: Nathan Trotter says chemical analysis is provided with each shipment, and lab service is available for pot samples.
      source: trotter-sn95sb5
      where: Certification block
  mitigations: []
uses:
  - application: electronics-and-chips
    device: Step soldering
    example: The supplier describes the alloy as 'High melting range temperature solder. Ideal for use in a step solder process.'
    source: custom-sdr9505
    where: Product description
  - application: electronics-and-chips
    device: Solder paste, wire, preforms and bar
    example: Kester lists Sn95Sb5 with a melting range of 232-240 °C and marks it as available as paste, wire, preforms and bar.
    source: kester-alloy-chart
    where: Alloy table, LEAD-FREE section, Sn95Sb5 row
supply:
  - subject: Tin (mine production, world)
    producers:
      - country: China
        share_percent: 24.5
        year: 2025
      - country: Indonesia
        share_percent: 21
        year: 2025
      - country: Peru
        share_percent: 11.4
        year: 2025
      - country: Brazil
        share_percent: 9.7
        year: 2025
      - country: Congo (Kinshasa)
        share_percent: 9.3
        year: 2025
    critical_lists: []
    recycling: 'USGS: about 17,000 tons of tin from old and new scrap was estimated to have been recycled in 2025.'
    substitutes:
      - 'USGS: epoxy resins for solder are listed as substitutes for tin.'
    source: usgs-tin-2026
    where: World Mine Production and Reserves table, 2025e column (world total 290,000 t). Shares calculated by Space Mushroom from China 71,000, Indonesia 61,000, Peru 33,000, Brazil 28,000 and Congo (Kinshasa) 27,000. Recycling and Substitutes sections.
  - subject: Antimony (mine production, world)
    producers:
      - country: China
        share_percent: 36.4
        year: 2025
      - country: Russia
        share_percent: 29.1
        year: 2025
      - country: Tajikistan
        share_percent: 20
        year: 2025
    critical_lists: []
    recycling: 'USGS: recycling supplied 12% of estimated domestic apparent consumption in the United States in 2025.'
    substitutes:
      - USGS names no substitute for antimony in solder; the substitutes it lists are for flame retardants, enamels, paint, pigments and lead-acid battery alloys.
    source: usgs-antimony-2026
    where: World Mine Production and Reserves table, 2025e column (world total 110,000 t). Shares calculated by Space Mushroom from China 40,000, Russia 32,000 and Tajikistan 22,000. Recycling (United States) and Substitutes sections.
documents:
  - title: Nathan Trotter & Co., 95Sn/5Sb Lead-Free Bar Solder product data sheet (spec NT 95Sn/5Sb Bar Solder, Rev 3, 2015)
    type: datasheet
    url: https://nathantrotter.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/09/95Sn-5Sb-Data.pdf
    year: 2015
  - title: Kester Alloy Temperature Chart
    type: datasheet
    url: https://www.kester.com/Portals/0/Documents/Knowledge%20Base/Alloy%20Temperature%20Chart.pdf
  - title: 'AIM: Alloy Information, common and specialty solder alloys with technical information'
    type: datasheet
    url: https://aimsolder.com/wp-content/uploads/legacy-files/alloy_information.pdf
    year: 2026
  - title: 'USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries 2026: Tin'
    type: report
    url: https://pubs.usgs.gov/periodicals/mcs2026/mcs2026-tin.pdf
    year: 2026
  - title: 'USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries 2026: Antimony'
    type: report
    url: https://pubs.usgs.gov/periodicals/mcs2026/mcs2026-antimony.pdf
    year: 2026
  - title: 'PubChem: Antimony (CID 5354495), GHS classification summary'
    type: database
    url: https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/5354495
    year: 2026
  - title: 'PubChem: Tin (CID 5352426), GHS classification summary'
    type: database
    url: https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/5352426
    year: 2026
gaps:
  - No corrosion or ageing data for Sn95Sb5 in any source read this run. The corrosion list is empty, so no rate or environment is claimed.
  - No UNS, EN, JIS, AISI or SAE designation was found in the sources read. The ASTM J-STD-006 entry is the specification the supplier prints for its bar, not a grade number.
  - The alloy's own safety data sheet was not read. The PubChem records cover antimony metal (CAS 7440-36-0) and tin metal (CAS 7440-31-5), not this alloy, so hazard data for the alloy are not established.
  - 'Tensile strength disagrees between sources: 2,990 psi (Nathan Trotter) against 8.15 ksi (AIM). Neither states a test method, so no confirmed strength value is recorded.'
  - 'The melting range differs by source: 232-240 °C (AIM and Kester), 230-240°C (supplier specifications) and 235-240C (supplier page title). All are recorded; none is reconciled.'
  - Trotter's solidus is printed in °F (453) and its liquidus in °C (464). Neither value was converted.
  - Trotter's fatigue strength (2,990 psi) equals its tensile value and prints no cycle count or test method.
  - Electrical resistivity is printed by Nathan Trotter as 'Electric Resistivity (10-9 ohm-m) - 144'. The unit uses an exponent, so the value is left out.
  - Trotter's 'Specific Gravity (g/m³) - 7.25' carries a unit that is not a density unit, so it is not recorded. The density rows use the lbs/in³ values instead.
  - AIM's uniform elongation of 1.06 is printed without a unit, so it is left out. Trotter's 38% elongation at break is a different measure and is recorded separately.
  - Shear strength (37 MPa), Vickers hardness (15.0 HV) and fatigue strength are not in property-canon.yaml and are used as written; their test conditions are not stated in the source.
  - No thermal conductivity, coefficient of thermal expansion, electrical conductivity, service temperature limit, creep or fatigue-life data were found in the sources read.
  - Critical-mineral status of tin and antimony is not stated in the USGS 2026 chapters read. The USGS and EU critical lists were not checked for these metals in this run, so critical_lists is empty.
  - No space-environment data (outgassing, radiation, thermal vacuum, flight heritage) were found in the sources read.
  - No environments tag is recorded because no source read names an environment.
sources:
  trotter-sn95sb5:
    title: 95Sn/5Sb Lead-Free Bar Solder, product data sheet (Nathan Trotter & Co., spec NT 95Sn/5Sb Bar Solder)
    id: 'NT 95Sn/5Sb Bar Solder, Rev: 3, Date: 2015'
    url: https://nathantrotter.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/09/95Sn-5Sb-Data.pdf
    year: 2015
    kind: datasheet
    license: supplier data sheet, cited not reproduced
  kester-alloy-chart:
    title: Alloy Temperature Chart, Kester solder alloys
    id: Kester Alloy Temperature Chart (undated PDF)
    url: https://www.kester.com/Portals/0/Documents/Knowledge%20Base/Alloy%20Temperature%20Chart.pdf
    kind: datasheet
    license: supplier chart, cited not reproduced
  custom-sdr9505:
    title: Solder wire Sn95/Sb05, part SDR-9505, product page (Custom Thermoelectric)
    id: Part SDR-9505
    url: https://customthermoelectric.com/solder-sn95-sb05-melt-point-235-240-deg-c.html
    year: 2026
    kind: web
    license: retailer product page, cited not reproduced
  aim-info:
    title: 'Alloy Information: common solder alloys, specialty solder alloys and technical information'
    id: AIM alloy information sheet (legacy file)
    url: https://aimsolder.com/wp-content/uploads/legacy-files/alloy_information.pdf
    year: 2026
    kind: datasheet
    license: supplier information sheet, cited not reproduced
  usgs-tin-2026:
    title: 'Mineral Commodity Summaries 2026: Tin'
    id: USGS MCS 2026, February 2026
    url: https://pubs.usgs.gov/periodicals/mcs2026/mcs2026-tin.pdf
    year: 2026
    kind: report
    license: public domain (USGS)
  usgs-antimony-2026:
    title: 'Mineral Commodity Summaries 2026: Antimony'
    id: USGS MCS 2026, February 2026
    url: https://pubs.usgs.gov/periodicals/mcs2026/mcs2026-antimony.pdf
    year: 2026
    kind: report
    license: public domain (USGS)
  pubchem-antimony:
    title: PubChem compound record, Antimony (CID 5354495, CAS 7440-36-0), GHS classification
    id: CID 5354495; CAS 7440-36-0
    url: https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/5354495
    year: 2026
    kind: database
    license: public domain (NCBI)
  pubchem-tin:
    title: PubChem compound record, Tin (CID 5352426, CAS 7440-31-5), GHS classification
    id: CID 5352426; CAS 7440-31-5
    url: https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/5352426
    year: 2026
    kind: database
    license: public domain (NCBI)
license: CC-BY-4.0
updated: '2026-11-01'
review:
  status: draft
  method: assistant
  checked_values: 14
  unreachable: 0
  caveats: 4
  note: Read by an AI assistant on 2026-11-01 from the Nathan Trotter data sheet, Kester alloy chart, the supplier product page, AIM alloy information sheet, USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries 2026 (tin, antimony) and PubChem. Tensile strength, melting range and fatigue strength disagree or carry caveats; all are recorded with their sources.
story:
  recipe:
    line: Sn95Sb5 is a binary alloy of tin and antimony. The supplier page prints the composition as Sn 95% and Sb 5%. Nathan Trotter says it uses only virgin metals in its process and prints a maximum-impurity table, but that table gives no units, so the impurity limits are not recorded here.
    parts:
      - name: Tin
        symbol: Sn
        share_percent: 95
        role: The major element, printed as Sn 95% by the supplier.
        source: custom-sdr9505
        where: Specifications block (Sn 95%)
      - name: Antimony
        symbol: Sb
        share_percent: 5
        role: The alloying element, printed as Sb 5% by the supplier.
        source: custom-sdr9505
        where: Specifications block (Sb 5%)
  risk_groups:
    - title: For people
      level: 0
      verdict: Hazard data limited
      lead: No safety data sheet for this alloy was read. The two PubChem records below cover the pure metals, not the alloy.
      points:
        - label: Antimony
          line: PubChem's record for antimony metal reports that 18.7% (140 of 748) of company reports do not meet GHS hazard criteria. Its signal word is Danger, and it lists H301, H302, H332, H351, H373 and H411.
        - label: Tin
          line: PubChem's record for tin metal reports that 72.9% (695 of 953) of company reports do not meet GHS hazard criteria. Its signal word is Warning, with H319 and H335.
    - title: If a joint is reheated
      lead: These are melting-point consequences, not field or space failure data. No failure tests on this alloy were found.
      points:
        - label: Melting
          line: AIM and Kester both print a melting range of 232 to 240 °C. A later solder step at or above that range would melt a joint made with this alloy.
        - label: Conflicting strength
          line: The sheets print 2,990 psi and 8.15 ksi for tensile strength, and neither gives a test method, so no confirmed design strength is given here.
    - title: Handling and storage
      points:
        - label: Flux
          line: The supplier says to use an RMA or RA flux.
        - label: Analysis
          line: Nathan Trotter says chemical analysis is provided with each shipment, and lab service is available for pot samples.
  why: Sn95Sb5 is a lead-free tin-antimony solder. Its supplier describes it as a high-melting solder for step soldering. AIM and Kester both print its melting range as 232 to 240 °C, and Kester lists it as available in paste, wire, preforms and bar forms. Its strength figures disagree between sources, and no corrosion or space data were found in the sources read.
  uses:
    - where: Step soldering
      line: The supplier describes this alloy as ideal for a step solder process, the sequence in which a higher-melting joint is made first and lower-melting joints later. The supplier's melt range is 230-240°C (455-464°F).
    - where: Solder forms for circuit assembly
      line: Kester marks Sn95Sb5 as available as paste, wire, preforms and bar. Its melting range is printed as 232-240 °C in the same row.
  can_do:
    - label: Melting range
      benchmark: melting_point
      value: 232-240 °C
      line: AIM and Kester both print the melting range of Sn95/Sb5 as 232 to 240 °C. The supplier's specification line prints 230-240°C.
    - label: Tensile strength
      benchmark: ultimate_tensile_strength
      value: 2,990 psi or 8.15 ksi
      line: The two sheets disagree. Nathan Trotter prints 2,990 psi and AIM prints 8.15 ksi for the same alloy, and neither gives a test method.
    - label: Density
      benchmark: density
      value: 0.2617 lbs/in.3
      line: AIM prints 0.2617 lbs/in.3 for the Sb5 alloy. Nathan Trotter prints 0.262 lbs/in3 for its bar.
    - label: Hardness
      value: 15.0 HV
      line: Nathan Trotter prints a Vickers hardness of 15.0 HV, with no load stated.
  compare: On the AIM alloy information sheet, Sn95/Sb5 melts higher than the lead-free SAC alloy and the tin-lead alloy that the same sheet lists with melting points. AIM's second performance table has no row for Sn95/Sb5, so no thermal fatigue or wetting rating is compared here. Its tensile strength is 8.15 ksi on the AIM sheet and 2,990 psi on the Nathan Trotter data sheet, and the two sources disagree.
  compare_rows:
    - label: Melting point
      benchmark: melting_point
    - label: Tensile strength
      benchmark: ultimate_tensile_strength
    - label: Density
      benchmark: density
  handling:
    - Use an RMA or RA flux, as the supplier specifies (supplier product page).
    - Chemical analysis comes with each shipment, and lab service is available for pot samples (Nathan Trotter data sheet).
    - Hazard data for this alloy are limited. Check the supplier's safety data sheet before use (see gaps).
  good_for:
    - Step soldering. The supplier calls the alloy 'Ideal for use in a step solder process.' (supplier product page)
    - High-melting lead-free joints. AIM and Kester both print a melting range of 232 to 240 °C.
  watch_out:
    - 'Tensile strength disagrees: 2,990 psi from Nathan Trotter and 8.15 ksi from AIM, with no test method in either.'
    - 'Melting range is printed three ways: 232 to 240 °C (AIM and Kester), 230-240°C (supplier specifications) and 235-240C (supplier page title).'
    - Nathan Trotter's fatigue strength equals its tensile value (2,990 psi) and prints no cycle count, so treat it with caution.
  verdict: Sn95Sb5 is the high-melting lead-free option for step soldering, with a melting range printed at 232 to 240 °C by AIM and Kester. Its strength figures disagree between sources and no corrosion or space data were found, so check a sample before relying on one value.
