Lead alloys other than antimonial lead (Pb-Sn-Ag, Pb-Sn-Sb, Pb-Bi, Pb-Se) Pb alloys

Sn62/Pb36/Ag2 solder (62 % tin, 36 % lead, 2 % silver by weight)

This profile covers the lead alloys that are not lead-antimony and not the plain tin-lead solders.

15 sources · Updated 2026-10-26 · CC BY 4.0

Evidence level

2 of 5

Lab-measured

Single melting point

179 °C

High-temperature solder

309 °C

Density

8.4 g/cm3

Strength

43 MPa

Thermal conductivity

49 W/m·K

Recipe, share of the weight

  • Sn 62%Tin
  • Pb 36%Lead
  • Ag 2%Silver

Best for

Solder joints that need a single, defined melting point and a high-temperature joint (the Pb-Ag-Sn alloy melts at 309 degC), where RoHS compliance is not required

Weakest at

Lead toxicity and the regulatory limits that follow from it, and the lack of a sourced lead-bismuth density or melting point in this profile; pure-tin finishes that replace these solders grow tin whiskers

Risk at a glance

  • People No data. No hazard data recorded
  • If it fails Moderate. Tin whisker short circuit on pure tin plating (the failure that lead in solder prevents)
  • Corrosion Moderate. Tin-lead solder is the only method the Aerospace Corporation review found to stop tin whiskers consistently.

Quick facts: Pb alloys

Key properties of Pb alloys
PropertyValueBasis
Density8.1 to 8.5 g/cm³5 sourced values across conditions
Tensile strength24.8 to 52.5 MPa4 sourced values across conditions
Thermal conductivity49 to 50 W/(m·K)2 sourced values across conditions
Melting point179 to 1,078 °C5 sourced values across conditions
Electrical resistivity1.2e-7 to 1.5e-7 Ω·m2 sourced values across conditions

What is the density of Lead alloys other than antimonial lead (Pb alloys)?

Lead alloys other than antimonial lead (Pb alloys) has a density of 8.1 to 8.5 g/cm³. The range covers 5 sourced values across the tempers, forms and test conditions the sources report; room-temperature values are used where a source states a temperature.

What is the thermal conductivity of Lead alloys other than antimonial lead (Pb alloys)?

Lead alloys other than antimonial lead (Pb alloys) has a thermal conductivity of 49 to 50 W/(m·K). The range covers 2 sourced values across the tempers, forms and test conditions the sources report; room-temperature values are used where a source states a temperature.

What is the melting point of Lead alloys other than antimonial lead (Pb alloys)?

Lead alloys other than antimonial lead (Pb alloys) has a melting point of 179 to 1,078 °C. The range covers 5 sourced values across the tempers, forms and test conditions the sources report; room-temperature values are used where a source states a temperature.

What is the tensile strength of Lead alloys other than antimonial lead (Pb alloys)?

Lead alloys other than antimonial lead (Pb alloys) has a tensile strength of 24.8 to 52.5 MPa. The range covers 4 sourced values across the tempers, forms and test conditions the sources report; room-temperature values are used where a source states a temperature.

Why it exists

Tin-lead solders have a long track record in electronics, and this group covers the variants that a designer might specify when lead is still allowed. Sn62/Pb36/Ag2 gives a single melting point at 179 °C. The Pb-Ag-Sn alloy has a melting point near 309 °C, which makes it the high-melting option in this group. The Sn60/Pb39/Sb1 solder has a melting range of about 183 to 190 °C. The lead-bismuth and lead selenide entries are included for completeness; their key numbers were not found in a source opened in this run. The tin-lead solders themselves are described in solder-sn-pb, and antimonial lead, a battery and shielding alloy, is described in antimonial-lead.

Where it's used

Wave soldering and printed-circuit assembly

AIM lists Sn63/Pb37 as used for general soldering of copper and copper alloys and ferrous alloys, and states that the high-purity grade reduces dross by 12 to 18 %. The Sn60/Pb40 cored wire is sold for industrial electronics where RoHS compliance is not required.

High-reliability and aerospace electronics

A NASA review of lead-free soldering says that high-reliability aerospace users still depend on tin-lead for assemblies, and that the exemptions for those assemblies do not protect them from lead-free parts entering the supply chain.

Pb-Ag-Sn high-temperature joints

Lucas-Milhaupt lists the 97.5 % lead alloy with a solidus and liquidus both at 309 °C and a maximum recommended brazing temperature of 364 °C, so it is used where the joint must stay solid at a much higher temperature than the tin-lead eutectic.

Recipe

Sn62/Pb36/Ag2 solder (62 % tin, 36 % lead, 2 % silver by weight); Pb97.5Ag1.5Sn1 solder (97.5 % lead, 1.5 % silver, 1 % tin by weight, as printed by Lucas-Milhaupt); Sn60/Pb39/Sb1 solder (about 60 % tin, 39 % lead, 1 % antimony); Pb-Bi eutectic (44.5 % lead, 55.5 % bismuth); PbSe (lead selenide, one lead and one selenium per formula unit)

Sn62/Pb36/Ag2 is a ternary solder alloy: tin, lead and silver melted together. It is a eutectic, so it has one melting point (179 °C, AIM). Other lead alloys in this profile are the Pb-Ag-Sn high-temperature solder (lead 97.5 %, silver 1.5 %, tin 1 %), the Sn60/Pb39/Sb1 solder, the lead-bismuth eutectic (lead 44.5 %, bismuth 55.5 %, as printed by Wikipedia) and lead selenide (PbSe), which is a compound rather than a solder.

What Pb alloys is made of
IngredientShare of the weightWhat it does
Tin Sn 62% The main metal of the solder. It wets copper and copper alloys well.
Lead Pb 36% Lowers the melting point of the tin and gives the eutectic its single melting point.
Silver Ag 2% Added in small amounts to the eutectic. The AIM sheet gives the typical composition as 2.0 % silver.

Weight shares are as printed in the sources.

What it can do

Single melting point

179 °C

measured

The Sn62/Pb36/Ag2 alloy is a eutectic with one melting point at 179 °C (354 °F). A Sn62 Pb36 Ag02 row in the Kester table gives a 179 to 189 °C range instead, so the two sources do not agree on the top of the range.

High-temperature solder

309 °C

measured

The Pb-Ag-Sn solder is printed with a solidus and liquidus both at 309 °C, and its supplier gives a maximum recommended brazing temperature of 364 °C.

Density

8.4 g/cm3

measured

The Sn63/Pb37 eutectic has a density of 8.40 g/cm3 (AIM). The Sn60/Pb40 alloy is 8.49 g/cm3 (AIM) and about 8.5 g/cm3 (Cynel-Unipress).

Strength

43 MPa

measured

The Sn63/Pb37 eutectic breaks at 43 MPa (6240 psi) per AIM, and the Sn60/Pb40 alloy at 44.13 MPa (6400 psi). Cynel gives 535 kg/cm2 for its Sn60/Pb40 cored wire. The sheets do not name the test method.

Thermal conductivity

49 W/m·K

measured

The Sn60/Pb40 cored wire has a thermal conductivity of 49 W/m·K. Goodfellow gives around 50 W/m·K for its Sn60/Pb39/Sb1 solder.

How it compares

Compared with the tin-lead eutectic in solder-sn-pb, the silver-bearing Sn62/Pb36/Ag2 solder gives the same kind of single melting point at 179 °C, while the Pb-Ag-Sn high-temperature solder melts at 309 °C and has a specific gravity of 11.28, against 8.40 g/cm3 for the Sn63/Pb37 eutectic. The Sn60/Pb39/Sb1 solder has a melting range rather than a single point. Lead selenide is in a different class altogether: it is a rock-salt compound with a density of 8100 kg/m3 and a melting point of 1078 °C, and it is not used as a solder. The table compares the family on its melting point, density and tensile strength.

The same measurements for each material, so you can compare them. Each row names the key condition under the value; the full conditions and methods are in the numbered notes under Technical details. Other materials are shown beside it; each was measured under its own conditions, so open its page before comparing closely. Compare every grade in the family.

Benchmarks
MeasurementPb alloysSnPbBiInCdSbPb-SbSnPbSAC305--GaInSnIn-Sn / In-AgSnZn and SnBiSn-Sb-Cu
Thermal behavior and safety
Melting point, Sn62/Pb36/Ag2 eutectic (AIM)Value printed on a manufacturer data sheet179 °C231.9 °C327.5 °C271.3 °C156.6 °C321 °C630.7 °C630 °C183 °C217 °C70 °C98 °C-19 °C118 °C199 °C241 to 354 °C
Melting range, Sn62Pb36Ag02 (Kester table)179 to 189 °C1231.9 °C327.5 °C271.3 °C156.6 °C321 °C630.7 °C630 °C183 °C217 °C70 °C98 °C-19 °C118 °C199 °C241 to 354 °C
Solidus and liquidus, Pb97.5Ag1.5Sn1 (Lucas-Milhaupt)Value printed on a supplier product page309 °C231.9 °C327.5 °C271.3 °C156.6 °C321 °C630.7 °C630 °C183 °C217 °C70 °C98 °C-19 °C118 °C199 °C241 to 354 °C
Melting point, PbSe (lead selenide)Value printed on a reference database page1078 °C5231.9 °C327.5 °C271.3 °C156.6 °C321 °C630.7 °C630 °C183 °C217 °C70 °C98 °C-19 °C118 °C199 °C241 to 354 °C
Thermal conductivity, Sn60/Pb40 cored wire (Cynel-Unipress)Value printed on a manufacturer data sheet49 W/m·K66.8 W/(m·K)35 W/(m.K)8 W/(m·K)81.8 W/(m·K)97 W/(m·K)24.4 W/(m·K)no data49 W/m·K61 W/mKno data4 W/m-K25.4 W/m.K34 W/m·K61 W/m-Kno data
Thermal conductivity, Sn60/Pb39/Sb1 (Goodfellow)50 W/m·K1166.8 W/(m·K)35 W/(m.K)8 W/(m·K)81.8 W/(m·K)97 W/(m·K)24.4 W/(m·K)no data49 W/m·K61 W/mKno data4 W/m-K25.4 W/m.K34 W/m·K61 W/m-Kno data
Melting range, Sn60/Pb39/Sb1 (Goodfellow)Range printed on a materials information page183 to 190 °C13231.9 °C327.5 °C271.3 °C156.6 °C321 °C630.7 °C630 °C183 °C217 °C70 °C98 °C-19 °C118 °C199 °C241 to 354 °C
Melting range, Sn60/Pb40 cored wire (Cynel-Unipress)183 to 190 °C14231.9 °C327.5 °C271.3 °C156.6 °C321 °C630.7 °C630 °C183 °C217 °C70 °C98 °C-19 °C118 °C199 °C241 to 354 °C
Melting range, Sn60/Pb40 (AIM)183 to 191 °C15231.9 °C327.5 °C271.3 °C156.6 °C321 °C630.7 °C630 °C183 °C217 °C70 °C98 °C-19 °C118 °C199 °C241 to 354 °C
Physical and electrical
Specific gravity, Pb97.5Ag1.5Sn1 (Kester table)Value printed in a soft-solder property table11.28 -7310 kg/m311.34 g/cm³9.78 g/cm³7.31 g/cm³8.69 g/cm³6.68 g/cm³6.68 g/cm³8.4 g/cm³7.35 g/cc10.15 g/cm³10.44 g/cm³6.44 g/cm³7.3 g/cm³7.27 g/cc7.39 g/cm³
Density, Sn63/Pb37 eutectic (AIM)8.4 g/cm³37310 kg/m311.34 g/cm³9.78 g/cm³7.31 g/cm³8.69 g/cm³6.68 g/cm³6.68 g/cm³8.4 g/cm³7.35 g/cc10.15 g/cm³10.44 g/cm³6.44 g/cm³7.3 g/cm³7.27 g/cc7.39 g/cm³
Density, Sn60/Pb40 (AIM)8.49 g/cm³47310 kg/m311.34 g/cm³9.78 g/cm³7.31 g/cm³8.69 g/cm³6.68 g/cm³6.68 g/cm³8.4 g/cm³7.35 g/cc10.15 g/cm³10.44 g/cm³6.44 g/cm³7.3 g/cm³7.27 g/cc7.39 g/cm³
Specific weight, Sn60/Pb40 cored wire (Cynel-Unipress)Value printed on a manufacturer data sheet8.5 g/cm³7310 kg/m311.34 g/cm³9.78 g/cm³7.31 g/cm³8.69 g/cm³6.68 g/cm³6.68 g/cm³8.4 g/cm³7.35 g/cc10.15 g/cm³10.44 g/cm³6.44 g/cm³7.3 g/cm³7.27 g/cc7.39 g/cm³
Density, PbSe (lead selenide)Value printed on a reference database page8100 kg/m37310 kg/m311.34 g/cm³9.78 g/cm³7.31 g/cm³8.69 g/cm³6.68 g/cm³6.68 g/cm³8.4 g/cm³7.35 g/cc10.15 g/cm³10.44 g/cm³6.44 g/cm³7.3 g/cm³7.27 g/cc7.39 g/cm³
Electrical resistivity, Sn63/Pb37 eutectic (AIM)1.45×10^-5 ohm-cm1212.6 µΩ·cm2.1×10^-7 ohm.m130 µΩ·cm8.8 µΩ·cmno data40.1 µΩ·cmno data1.45×10^-5 ohm-cm13.2 μ Ohm-cmno data43 µOhmcmno data0.147 µΩ·m1.1×10^-5 ohm-cmno data
Electrical resistivity, Sn60/Pb39/Sb1 (Goodfellow)Range printed on a materials information page12 to 14 μΩ·cm12.6 µΩ·cm2.1×10^-7 ohm.m130 µΩ·cm8.8 µΩ·cmno data40.1 µΩ·cmno data1.45×10^-5 ohm-cm13.2 μ Ohm-cmno data43 µOhmcmno data0.147 µΩ·m1.1×10^-5 ohm-cmno data
Temperature behavior
Maximum recommended brazing temperature, Pb97.5Ag1.5Sn1364 °C2no datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano data
Other measurements
Tensile strength, Sn63/Pb37 eutectic (AIM)43 MPa6no datano datano data2.6 to 4.5 MPano datano data34.8 to 38.9 MPa43 MPa39.58 MPano data44.1 MPano data12 MPa54.7 MPa77 MPa
Tensile strength, Sn60/Pb40 (AIM)44.13 MPa7no datano datano data2.6 to 4.5 MPano datano data34.8 to 38.9 MPa43 MPa39.58 MPano data44.1 MPano data12 MPa54.7 MPa77 MPa
Tensile strength at break, Sn60/Pb40 cored wire (Cynel-Unipress)535 kg/cm²8no datano datano data2.6 to 4.5 MPano datano data34.8 to 38.9 MPa43 MPa39.58 MPano data44.1 MPano data12 MPa54.7 MPa77 MPa
Tensile strength, Pb97.5Ag1.5Sn1 (Kester table)3600 psi9no datano datano data2.6 to 4.5 MPano datano data34.8 to 38.9 MPa43 MPa39.58 MPano data44.1 MPano data12 MPa54.7 MPa77 MPa
Elongation at break, Sn60/Pb40 cored wire (Cynel-Unipress)Value printed on a manufacturer data sheet40 %10no datano datano datano datano datano data7.2 to 8.2 %40 %49 %no data37.5 %no datano data32.5 %18 %

Why choose it, and why not

Good for

  • A defined melting point. The Sn62/Pb36/Ag2 eutectic melts at 179 °C (AIM), with one value rather than a range.
  • A high-temperature joint. The Pb-Ag-Sn alloy has a solidus and liquidus both at 309 °C (Lucas-Milhaupt).
  • Whisker resistance. The Aerospace Corporation review says lead in the solder is the only consistently demonstrated whisker preventer.

Watch out for

  • Lead toxicity: the NIOSH limit is 0.050 mg/m3 as an eight-hour average. The Sn60/Pb40 wire is restricted to professional use.
  • The sources disagree on some values. Sn62/Pb36/Ag2 has a 179 to 189 °C range in the Kester table and a single 179 °C eutectic from AIM, and the Sn60/Pb40 tensile strength is 44.13 MPa (AIM) against 535 kg/cm2 (Cynel).
  • Lead-free rules: the NASA review says exemptions do not stop lead-free parts from reaching aerospace assemblies, so lead content cannot be assumed in a supply chain.

Lead alloys still give the most defined melting points for tin-lead solder, but lead toxicity and lead-free rules limit where they can be used. Lead-bismuth and lead selenide need sources that were not available in this run.

Technical details

For scientists and researchers. Everything above comes from the record below: every number with its method, its conditions and its source.

Notes

The method, full conditions and any caveat for the numbered rows above.

Notes for the numbered rows
#MeasurementMethodConditionsCaveat
1Melting range, Sn62Pb36Ag02 (Kester table)Value printed in a soft-solder property table (Kester, 2005 copy)alloy Sn62Pb36Ag02 as printed in the Kester tablebasis solidus and liquidus columnsThe Kester table gives a liquidus 10 degC above the AIM eutectic figure for the row it prints as Sn62Pb36Ag02. The range is kept as printed, and the AIM eutectic figure is the one used in the summary.
2Maximum recommended brazing temperature, Pb97.5Ag1.5Sn1Value printed on a supplier product page (the name is not in property-canon; it is a supplier-specific temperature)alloy Pb97.5Ag1.5Sn1 as printed by the supplierbasis supplier's maximum recommended brazing temperature—
3Density, Sn63/Pb37 eutectic (AIM)Value printed on a manufacturer data sheet (the sheet also prints 0.303 lb/in3)alloy Sn63/Pb37 eutectictemperature not stated on the sheet—
4Density, Sn60/Pb40 (AIM)Value printed on a manufacturer data sheet (the sheet also prints 0.3068 lb/in3)alloy Sn60/Pb40 nominal compositiontemperature not stated on the sheet—
5Melting point, PbSe (lead selenide)—compound PbSe, rock-salt structureA second database lists 1088 degC, which this profile does not use because that page was not opened in this run.
6Tensile strength, Sn63/Pb37 eutectic (AIM)Value printed on a manufacturer data sheet (the sheet prints 6240 psi)alloy Sn63/Pb37 eutecticproduct form not stated on the sheettest method not stated on the sheetThe sheet does not name the test standard, product form or temper, so treat it as indicative.
7Tensile strength, Sn60/Pb40 (AIM)Value printed on a manufacturer data sheet (the sheet prints 6400 psi)alloy Sn60/Pb40 nominal compositionproduct form not stated on the sheettest method not stated on the sheetThe Cynel sheet gives 535 kg/cm2 for the same alloy in a different product form (cored wire). The two sheets do not state the test method, so the difference is not resolved here.
8Tensile strength at break, Sn60/Pb40 cored wire (Cynel-Unipress)Value printed on a manufacturer data sheet in the unit the sheet usesalloy Sn60Pb40 (ISO 9453 designation)product form cored solder wiretest method not stated on the sheet—
9Tensile strength, Pb97.5Ag1.5Sn1 (Kester table)Value printed in a soft-solder property table (Tensile Strength PSI column)alloy Sn1Pb97.5Ag1.5 as printed in the Kester tabletest method not stated in the table—
10Elongation at break, Sn60/Pb40 cored wire (Cynel-Unipress)—alloy Sn60Pb40 (ISO 9453 designation)product form cored solder wiretest method not stated on the sheet—
11Thermal conductivity, Sn60/Pb39/Sb1 (Goodfellow)Approximate value printed on a materials information pagealloy Sn60/Pb39/Sb1 as printed by the supplierbasis printed as around 50 W/m·K (approximate)—
12Electrical resistivity, Sn63/Pb37 eutectic (AIM)Value printed on a manufacturer data sheet (printed as 1.45 x 10 -5 ohm-cm; written in decimal form)alloy Sn63/Pb37 eutectictemperature not stated on the sheet—
13Melting range, Sn60/Pb39/Sb1 (Goodfellow)—alloy Sn60/Pb39/Sb1 as printed by the supplierbasis eutectic temperature printed as around 183 to 190 °C, described as a narrow melting rangeA search listing for a different Pb-Sn-Sb solder (about 27.5 Sn, 71 Pb, 1.5 Sb) gives a 188 to 250 degC range. That listing was not opened in this run, so it is not used.
14Melting range, Sn60/Pb40 cored wire (Cynel-Unipress)Range printed on a manufacturer data sheet (solidus/liquidus)alloy Sn60Pb40 (ISO 9453 designation)product form cored solder wire—
15Melting range, Sn60/Pb40 (AIM)Range printed on a manufacturer data sheet (solidus and liquidus)alloy Sn60/Pb40 nominal composition—

Corrosion and compatibility

What happens when it meets other materials and environments.

Corrosion and compatibility
EnvironmentConcernWhat happens
Humid heat, 85 °C and 85 % relative humidity, no applied voltage, up to 1000 hours (tin corrosion under QFN packages on solder-paste boards) low In an 85 °C and 85 % humidity test the 63/37 paste did not show the tin-corrosion failure seen with SAC305, which corroded faster.1
Pure tin plating with no lead, such as connector pins and relays in space hardware moderate Tin-lead solder is the only method the Aerospace Corporation review found to stop tin whiskers consistently.2
Corrosion details
#EnvironmentDetailsTest conditions
1 Humid heat, 85 °C and 85 % relative humidity, no applied voltage, up to 1000 hours (tin corrosion under QFN packages on solder-paste boards) A Cookson Electronics and MSLCircuits study found tin corrosion products under QFN and large passive parts after 500 hours. The authors say flux chemistry had the greatest effect and that SAC305 corroded faster than 63Sn37Pb. Reflow conditions had almost no effect. The failure was not seen with the 63/37 paste used. exposure 85 °C and 85 % RH, no applied voltage, readings at 250, 500, 750 and 1000 hourscomparison SAC305 solder pastes on the same boardsflux three solder-paste flux chemistries
2 Pure tin plating with no lead, such as connector pins and relays in space hardware The review states that the only consistently demonstrated method of precluding tin whiskers is a minimum percentage of lead in the solder. A tin whisker can short two conductors at low voltage and high impedance; a short stays in place unless the current is high enough to fuse the whisker, generally more than 50 mA. basis literature review of tin-whisker mechanisms and mitigation; not a corrosion test of the solder itself

Risks and side effects

Hazards to people, what happens when a cell overheats, and how the material is handled and stored.

For people

Every alloy in this group contains lead, which NIOSH lists with a time-weighted average limit of 0.050 mg/m3 and an IDLH of 100 mg/m3 as Pb.

Exposure limits
The NIOSH and OSHA limit for an eight-hour average is 0.050 mg/m3 of lead. Target organs listed by NIOSH include the blood, the central nervous system and the kidneys.
Use
The Sn60/Pb40 wire is sold for professional use only because of its lead content. The AIM sheet asks users to work with adequate ventilation and personal protective equipment.

In service

Lead in the solder is the mitigation for tin whiskers. The Aerospace Corporation review says a minimum lead content is the only consistently demonstrated way to stop them.

Whisker shorts
A tin whisker can short neighbouring conductors at low voltage. Unless the current is above about 50 mA, the short can stay in place indefinitely.
Aerospace exemptions
NASA states that exemptions for high-reliability aerospace electronics do not protect those assemblies from lead-free parts that suppliers introduce without changing part numbers.

Handling and storage

Storage
The Sn60/Pb40 sheet calls for storage at room temperature in a dry place, out of reach of children.
Soldering
Recommended soldering tip temperature is 340 to 400 °C for the Sn60/Pb40 cored wire. The SW26 flux residues need not be removed, but alcohol-based solvents are recommended for washing.

Test details
The original wording and numbers from the sources, for readers who want them.

Failure risks

Failure risks
FailureTrigger and consequence
Tin whisker short circuit on pure tin plating (the failure that lead in solder prevents)moderate severityPure tin plating with no lead, over time, with stress or in closely spaced circuitsWhiskers can short neighbouring conductors. The review says a short can stay in place indefinitely unless the current is high enough to fuse the whisker, generally more than 50 mA.
Lead-free parts entering aerospace assembliesmoderate severityExemptions for high-reliability aerospace electronics that do not cover parts the supplier changed to lead-free without a new part numberThe NASA review says the exemptions will not protect these assemblies from the introduction of lead-free parts, and that some suppliers switch to lead-free without changing part numbers or serial numbers.

Side effects on surrounding parts

Side effects on surrounding parts
AffectsEffect
The soldered surfaceFlux residues from the cored wire may remain on the joint after soldering. The sheet says they need not be removed, and recommends alcohol-based solvents if washing is needed.

Handling and storage

  • Store at room temperature in a dry place, out of reach of children.
  • Recommended soldering tip temperature is 340 to 400 °C for the Sn60/Pb40 cored wire.
  • Use with adequate ventilation and proper personal protective equipment. Refer to the safety data sheet for emergency information.

Mitigations

  • Specify a tin-lead alloy rather than pure tin plating where whisker growth matters. The Aerospace Corporation review calls a minimum lead content the only consistently demonstrated whisker preventer.

Supply and geography

How common the raw materials are and where they come from.

Tin

Top producers (2025)
China, Indonesia, Peru, Brazil, Congo (Kinshasa)
Recycling
USGS: about 17,000 tons of tin from old and new scrap was recycled in 2025. Tin has not been mined or smelted in the United States since 1993.
Substitutes
USGS: epoxy resins for solder; other substitutes listed are for cans, bronze, bearing metals and some chemicals.

Lead

Top producers (2025)
China, Australia, Peru, Russia, India
Critical mineral lists
US: listed
Recycling
USGS: an estimated 1 million tons of secondary lead was produced in 2025, equal to 70% of apparent domestic consumption, nearly all from old scrap, mostly lead-acid batteries.
Substitutes
USGS: tin has replaced lead in solder for potable water systems, and the electronics industry has moved toward lead-free solders.