Lead Pb

Pb · CAS 7439-92-1

Lead is a very dense, soft metal that melts at 327.5 degC.

18 sources · Updated 2026-10-17 · CC BY 4.0

Evidence level

2 of 5

Lab-measured

Stopping photons

0.05876 cm2/g at 1.25 MeV

Density

11.34 g/cm³

Soldering

183 °C

Stiffness

16 GPa

Recipe, share of the weight

  • Pb 100.0%Lead

Best for

Compact radiation shielding per volume, and tin-lead solder and finishes that resist tin whiskers (NASA requires at least 3% Pb in tin finishes unless a mitigation is approved)

Weakest at

Toxicity (reproductive toxicant, no known safe blood level per WHO), softness (Young's modulus 16 GPa) and mass; regulation has removed it from most consumer electronics

Risk at a glance

  • People Severe. Reproductive toxicant, no safe level
  • If it fails High. Tin whiskers when lead is removed from tin finishes and solder
  • Corrosion No data. No corrosion data recorded

Quick facts: Pb

Key properties of Pb
PropertyValueBasis
Density11.3 g/cm³1 sourced value
Young's modulus16 GPa1 sourced value
Hardness (Brinell)38.3 MN/m21 sourced value
Thermal conductivity35 W/(m·K)1 sourced value
Thermal expansion (CTE)28.9 ppm/K1 sourced value
Melting point328 °C1 sourced value
Electrical resistivity2.1e-7 Ω·m1 sourced value

What is the density of Lead (Pb)?

Lead (Pb) has a density of 11.3 g/cm³. The source and test conditions are listed in the properties table on this page.

What is the thermal conductivity of Lead (Pb)?

Lead (Pb) has a thermal conductivity of 35 W/(m·K). The source and test conditions are listed in the properties table on this page.

What is the coefficient of thermal expansion of Lead (Pb)?

Lead (Pb) has a coefficient of thermal expansion of 28.9 ppm/K. The source and test conditions are listed in the properties table on this page.

What is the melting point of Lead (Pb)?

Lead (Pb) has a melting point of 328 °C. The source and test conditions are listed in the properties table on this page.

What is the Young's modulus of Lead (Pb)?

Lead (Pb) has a Young's modulus of 16 GPa. The source and test conditions are listed in the properties table on this page.

What is Lead (Pb) used for?

Uses recorded in the sources include Printed circuit boards of mobile phones (lead in solder, measured in boards from 30 mobile phones and 30 smartphones); Tin-lead solder and tin-lead plated finishes on space electronics (NASA parts policy); Lead-acid batteries: starting-lighting-ignition (SLI), standby power for computer and telecommunications networks, and motive power.

Why it exists

Lead (Pb, element 82) is a dense, soft, easily melted metal. The density is 11.34 g/cm3 and it melts at 327.5 °C, a temperature that soldering and casting can reach easily. Its high atomic number makes it absorb X-rays and gamma rays very strongly: NIST gives a mass attenuation coefficient of 0.07102 cm2/g at 1 MeV, and the coefficient jumps from 1.910 to 7.683 cm2/g at the lead K edge at 88 keV. That is why lead is the classic shielding metal. It is also soft and toxic, and the EU restricts it in most new electronics (RoHS). For spacecraft the story has a twist: tin-lead alloy is the finish NASA trusts because lead holds back tin whiskers, so taking lead out creates a reliability problem of its own.

Where it's used

Mobile-phone circuit boards

A study of printed circuit boards from 30 mobile phones and 30 smartphones found 3747 ppm lead in the older mobile phones and 260 ppm in the smartphones, and says the lead content is lower in modern smartphones.

Space electronics

NASA's parts policy of 2008 asks for traditional tin-lead solder and at least 3% lead in tin platings unless a whisker mitigation is approved.

Batteries

The USGS estimates lead-acid batteries accounted for 67% of US apparent lead consumption in 2025, mainly starting batteries for vehicles, standby power for computer and telecom networks, and motive power.

Recipe

Pb

Lead is the element Pb, atomic number 82, a single-element metal with cubic close-packed crystals (ccp, space group Fm-3m, WebElements). USGS says lead concentrate was mined in five Missouri mines and as a by-product at zinc and silver mines, and that nearly all of it is exported because the last primary lead refinery closed in 2013. Secondary lead from old scrap, mostly lead-acid batteries, gave about 1 million tons in 2025, equal to 70% of apparent domestic consumption (USGS).

What Pb is made of
IngredientAtoms per unitShare of the weightWhat it does
Lead Pb 1 100.0% The whole material. WebElements prints the relative atomic mass on its main page.

Weight shares are calculated from standard atomic weights.

What it can do

Stopping photons

0.05876 cm2/g at 1.25 MeV

worked out from the formula

NIST tabulates the attenuation of lead from 1 keV to 20 MeV. It is 5.549 cm2/g at 100 keV, 0.1614 cm2/g at 500 keV and 0.05876 cm2/g at 1.25 MeV, the energy range of cobalt-60 gamma rays. These are narrow-beam values from tables, not a shield design.

Density

11.34 g/cm³

measured

Solid lead is 11.34 g/cm3 in the ILO-WHO safety card as quoted by PubChem.

Soldering

183 °C

measured

Eutectic tin-lead solder Sn63Pb37 melts at one temperature, 183 °C, while lead-free SAC305 melts over 217 to 220 °C in the same manufacturer chart, so tin-lead is processed about 34 to 37 °C cooler (difference calculated here).

Stiffness

16 GPa

measured

WebElements lists a Young's modulus of 16 GPa and a Brinell hardness of 38.3 MN/m2, which makes lead very soft. No tensile strength was found in an opened source.

How it compares

Against lead-free solder, Sn63Pb37 melts at 183 °C and SAC305 at 217 to 220 °C (Kester chart). In tin-whisker evidence from NASA, Sn-Pb is rated 'greatly reduced whisker tendencies' and pure tin 'significant whisker tendencies'. No source in this record compares lead with tungsten, tantalum or polymer shielding, so no such comparison is made.

The same measurements for each material, so you can compare them. Each row names the key condition under the value; the full conditions and methods are in the numbered notes under Technical details. Other materials are shown beside it; each was measured under its own conditions, so open its page before comparing closely. Compare every grade in the family.

Benchmarks
MeasurementPbSnBiInCdSbPb-SbSnPbSAC305--GaInSnIn-Sn / In-AgSnZn and SnBiSn-Sb-CuPb alloys
Capacity and energy
Lead K absorption edge88 keV17no datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano data
Thermal behavior and safety
Melting point327.5 °C3231.9 °C271.3 °C156.6 °C321 °C630.7 °C630 °C183 °C217 °C70 °C98 °C-19 °C118 °C199 °C241 to 354 °C179 °C
Thermal conductivity35 W/(m.K)1066.8 W/(m·K)8 W/(m·K)81.8 W/(m·K)97 W/(m·K)24.4 W/(m·K)no data49 W/m·K61 W/mKno data4 W/m-K25.4 W/m.K34 W/m·K61 W/m-Kno data49 W/m·K
Physical and electrical
Density, solid lead11.34 g/cm³17310 kg/m39.78 g/cm³7.31 g/cm³8.69 g/cm³6.68 g/cm³6.68 g/cm³8.4 g/cm³7.35 g/cc10.15 g/cm³10.44 g/cm³6.44 g/cm³7.3 g/cm³7.27 g/cc7.39 g/cm³11.28 -
Density assumed in the NIST attenuation tables11.35 g/cm³2no datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano data
Brinell hardness38.3 MN/m29no datano data8.83 MN/m2203 MN/m2no datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano data24.5 HBno data
Electrical resistivity2.1×10^-7 ohm.m1212.6 µΩ·cm130 µΩ·cm8.8 µΩ·cmno data40.1 µΩ·cmno data1.45×10^-5 ohm-cm13.2 μ Ohm-cmno data43 µOhmcmno data0.147 µΩ·m1.1×10^-5 ohm-cmno data1.45×10^-5 ohm-cm
Other measurements
Boiling point1740 °C42602 °C1564 °C2080 °C765 °C1750 °Cno datano datano datano datano data1300 °Cno datano datano datano data
Young's modulus16 GPa5no datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano data
Shear (rigidity) modulus5.6 GPa618 GPa12 GPano data19 GPa20 GPano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano data
Bulk modulus46 GPa758.2 GPa31 GPa35.3 GPa42 GPa42 GPano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano data
Poisson's ratio0.44 dimensionless80.357 -0.33 -0.45 -0.3 -0.25 to 0.33 -no datano data0.35 -no datano datano datano datano datano datano data
Coefficient of linear thermal expansion28.9 ppm/K1123.5 ppm/K13.4 ppm/K24.8 ppm/K30.8 ppm/K9 ppm/Kno datano data21 ppm/°Cno datano datano data20 ppm/K15 ppm/°Cno datano data
Mass attenuation coefficient at 60 keV5.021 cm²/g13no datano datano datano datano data5.021 cm²/gno datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano data
Mass attenuation coefficient at 100 keV5.549 cm²/g14no datano datano datano datano data5.549 cm²/gno datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano data
Mass attenuation coefficient at 500 keV0.1614 cm²/g15no datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano data
Mass attenuation coefficient at 1.25 MeV0.05876 cm²/g16no datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano data
Melting point, eutectic tin-lead solder Sn63Pb37Manufacturer alloy temperature chart183 °C18no datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano data
Melting range, lead-free solder Sn96.5Ag3.0Cu0.5 (SAC305)Manufacturer alloy temperature chart217 to 220 °Cno datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano data
Melting range, high-lead solder Sn10Pb90Manufacturer alloy temperature chart268 to 302 °C19no datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano data
Lead in printed circuit boards of older mobile phones3747 ppm20no datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano data
Lead in printed circuit boards of smartphones260 ppm21no datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano datano data

Why choose it, and why not

Good for

  • Compact photon shielding. NIST gives 0.1614 cm2/g at 500 keV and 0.05876 cm2/g at 1.25 MeV, with a density of 11.34 g/cm3.
  • Tin-whisker suppression. NASA's policy asks for at least 3% Pb in tin finishes, and its table rates Sn-Pb as greatly reduced whisker tendency.
  • Easy low-temperature joining. Sn63Pb37 melts at 183 °C.

Watch out for

  • Toxicity. H360 reproductive toxicity was notified by 84.4% of companies, and the WHO says no safe blood level is known.
  • Regulation. RoHS caps lead at 0.1% in most new electronics; lead has been a REACH Candidate List substance since 27 June 2018.
  • Softness and mass. Young's modulus is 16 GPa and Brinell hardness 38.3 MN/m2; no tensile strength was sourced.
  • Absorption edge. Shielding per gram is lower just below 88 keV than just above it (1.910 against 7.683 cm2/g in the NIST table), so energy matters.

Lead is an effective, cheap photon absorber and the solder and finish NASA still prefers for space electronics because it suppresses tin whiskers, but it is a reproductive toxicant that EU rules have removed from most consumer electronics. This profile has solid NIST, USGS, NASA and EU-law backing, but no tensile data and no space-environment data.

Technical details

For scientists and researchers. Everything above comes from the record below: every number with its method, its conditions and its source.

Notes

The method, full conditions and any caveat for the numbered rows above.

Notes for the numbered rows
#MeasurementMethodConditionsCaveat
1Density, solid leadValue listed in a PubChem compilation of agency recordsform elemental lead, grade and purity not statedreference listing ILO-WHO International Chemical Safety Card as quoted by PubChemPubChem also lists 11.3 at 25 degC (US DOE PAC database) and 11.3437 at 61 degF (CAMEO Chemicals, quoting NTP 1992, no unit stated). WebElements gives 11340 kg/m3.
2Density assumed in the NIST attenuation tablesInput constant of the NIST mass attenuation coefficient tablesuse material constant assumed for elemental medium in the NIST X-ray attenuation evaluationZ 82The page states that some density values in Table 1 are only nominal. Lead is not among those it names (Z = 85 and 87).
3Melting pointValue listed in a PubChem compilation of agency recordsform elemental leadpressure not statedreference listing ILO-WHO International Chemical Safety Card as quoted by PubChemPubChem also lists 327.462 degC (US DOE PAC database) and 621.5 degF (CAMEO, OSHA).
4Boiling pointValue listed in a PubChem compilation of agency recordsform elemental leadpressure not stated for this entryreference listing ILO-WHO International Chemical Safety Card as quoted by PubChemPubChem also lists 1749 degC at 760 mmHg (US DOE PAC database).
5Young's modulusValue listed on the WebElements physical-properties page (compilation, underlying measurement not given)form elemental lead, temperature, purity and test method not statedA compilation value, not a datasheet for a stated grade. Lead creeps at room temperature, so a modulus alone does not describe sustained loading.
6Shear (rigidity) modulusValue listed on the WebElements physical-properties pageform elemental lead, temperature and purity not stated—
7Bulk modulusValue listed on the WebElements physical-properties pageform elemental lead, temperature and purity not stated—
8Poisson's ratioValue listed on the WebElements physical-properties pageform elemental lead, temperature and purity not stated—
9Brinell hardnessValue listed on the WebElements physical-properties page, unit as written thereform elemental lead, load, ball size and purity not statedWritten by the page in MN m-2, not as an HB number, and the test conditions are not given.
10Thermal conductivityValue listed on the WebElements physical-properties pageform elemental leadtemperature not stated on the page—
11Coefficient of linear thermal expansionPage gives 28.9 x 10^-6 per K; written here as ppm/K, same numberform elemental leadtemperature not stated on the page—
12Electrical resistivityPage gives 21 x 10^-8 ohm m; written here as 2.1e-7 ohm m, same quantityform elemental leadtemperature not stated on the page—
13Mass attenuation coefficient at 60 keVNIST XCOM-based tabulation of X-ray mass attenuation coefficientsphoton energy 0.06 MeVmedium elemental lead, Z = 82quantity mu/rho (total attenuation, narrow beam)Tabulated from theory and data, not measured on a specific lead sample. Narrow-beam coefficient; thick-shield buildup is not included.
14Mass attenuation coefficient at 100 keVNIST XCOM-based tabulation of X-ray mass attenuation coefficientsphoton energy 0.1 MeVmedium elemental lead, Z = 82quantity mu/rho (total attenuation, narrow beam)This energy is just above the lead K absorption edge (88.0045 keV), which is why the coefficient is higher than at 80 keV (2.419 cm2/g, same table).
15Mass attenuation coefficient at 500 keVNIST XCOM-based tabulation of X-ray mass attenuation coefficientsphoton energy 0.5 MeVmedium elemental lead, Z = 82quantity mu/rho (total attenuation, narrow beam)—
16Mass attenuation coefficient at 1.25 MeVNIST XCOM-based tabulation of X-ray mass attenuation coefficientsphoton energy 1.25 MeVmedium elemental lead, Z = 82quantity mu/rho (total attenuation, narrow beam)1.25 MeV is close to the mean of the two cobalt-60 gamma lines; the same table gives 0.07102 cm2/g at 1 MeV and 0.04606 cm2/g at 2 MeV.
17Lead K absorption edgeEdge energy as tabulated in the NIST mass attenuation coefficient table (0.0880045 MeV)medium elemental lead, Z = 82edge KAt the edge the table jumps from 1.910 to 7.683 cm2/g (mu/rho).
18Melting point, eutectic tin-lead solder Sn63Pb37—alloy Sn63Pb37 (63% tin, 37% lead)form wire, bar, paste or preformnote single melting point, no range listedChart is dated 17 Nov 2004. The same chart lists Sn60Pb40 at 183 to 190 degC.
19Melting range, high-lead solder Sn10Pb90—alloy Sn10Pb90 (10% tin, 90% lead)form wire, bar, paste or preformLead-rich solders of this kind (85% lead or more) are the subject of RoHS Annex III exemption 7(a).
20Lead in printed circuit boards of older mobile phonesDisassembly, milling, acid leach and fusion, then elemental analysis (instrument not named on the page read)sample 30 mobile phones (non-smartphone), boards removed from the phonesdigestion aqua regia leach of cryo-milled board powder, residue fused with LiBO2basis per mass of boardUncertainty: not stated on the page readValue as quoted in the abstract (the statistic, mean or median, is not specified on the page read). The paper compares phones by type, not by manufacture year on the page read, so the link to RoHS is the authors' reading that Pb is lower in newer phones, not a direct before/after test.
21Lead in printed circuit boards of smartphonesDisassembly, milling, acid leach and fusion, then elemental analysis (instrument not named on the page read)sample 30 smartphonesdigestion aqua regia leach of cryo-milled board powder, residue fused with LiBO2basis per mass of boardUncertainty: not stated on the page readAbout 14 times lower than the older mobile phones in the same study (3747 / 260, calculated here). Internet routers in the same study contained 3413 ppm.

Corrosion and compatibility

What happens when it meets other materials and environments.

Corrosion and compatibility
EnvironmentConcernWhat happens
Water not rated Lead is listed as practically insoluble in water, but this record has no corrosion rate.1
Corrosion details
#EnvironmentDetailsTest conditions
1 Water The ILO-WHO Chemical Safety Card quoted by PubChem lists lead as practically insoluble in water, and CAMEO Chemicals and NIOSH list it as insoluble. No corrosion rate, acid, atmosphere or soil test was opened, so no corrosion behaviour is claimed. The WHO notes that lead can reach drinking water through plumbing with lead pipes or solders. —

Risks and side effects

Hazards to people, what happens when a cell overheats, and how the material is handled and stored.

For people

Lead is a toxic metal with an EU reproductive-toxicity classification, and the WHO says there is no known safe blood lead concentration.

Classification
ECHA's C&L Inventory, as shown in PubChem, carries signal word Danger and pictograms GHS07, GHS08 and GHS09, with H360 (may damage fertility or the unborn child) notified by 84.4% of companies and H372 or H373 organ damage by 50.5% and 34.4%.
Children and pregnancy
The WHO says young children absorb more lead than adults from the same dose and can suffer permanent brain-development harm, and that lead stored in bone can be released in pregnancy and reach the fetus.
Workplace
NIOSH gives an OSHA limit and a NIOSH limit of 0.050 mg/m3 over 8 hours, and an IDLH of 100 mg/m3, all as lead.

If it fails

The failures recorded for lead are mostly about what happens when it is taken out of solder and finishes.

Tin whiskers
NASA reports at least three commercial satellites completely failed from tin-whisker short circuits in pure-tin plated relays, with more partial losses listed; the site says whiskers can reach several millimetres.
Recycling and mining
The WHO says contaminated dust and soil from battery recycling and mining has caused mass lead poisoning outbreaks in some countries.

Handling and storage

Rules on lead content
RoHS limits lead to 0.1% by weight in homogeneous materials of most new electronics, with exemptions in Annex III such as high-lead solder of 85% lead or more. Lead became a REACH Candidate List substance on 27 June 2018, and REACH Annex XVII limits lead to 0.05% in some mouthable consumer articles.
Space hardware
NASA's parts policy of 2008 asks for tin-lead solder and at least 3% Pb in tin finishes unless a mitigation is approved, so a spacecraft team has to manage lead rules and tin-whisker risk together.

Test details
The original wording and numbers from the sources, for readers who want them.

Failure risks

Failure risks
FailureTrigger and consequence
Tin whiskers when lead is removed from tin finishes and solderhigh severityElectroplated pure tin (a lead-free finish) on parts such as relays; incubation from days to yearsNASA's site reports at least three on-orbit commercial satellites completely failed from tin-whisker short circuits, and lists GALAXY VII, SOLIDARIDAD 1 and GALAXY IIIR as complete losses, and OPTUS B1, DBS-1, PAS-4 and DirecTV 3 as partial losses, in relays described as pure tin plated. The site says whiskers have reached several millimetres, rarely over 10 mm, and reported growth rates range from 0.03 to 9 mm per year.
Toxic exposure during handling, soldering and recyclinghigh severityFume or dust from molten lead, battery recycling and miningThe WHO reports that exposure to contaminated soil and dust from battery recycling and mining has caused outbreaks of mass lead poisoning, including child deaths in some countries.

Side effects on surrounding parts

Side effects on surrounding parts
AffectsEffect
Reliability of electronics once lead is removedLead in a tin finish is widely believed to inhibit whisker growth, although NASA says the reasons remain somewhat of a mystery; its Sampson 2010 slide rates Sn-Pb as 'Greatly Reduced Whisker Tendencies' against 'Significant Whisker Tendencies' for pure tin. Tin-lead whiskers have been reported but are much smaller than pure-tin ones.

Handling and storage

  • NASA mitigation guidelines for tin whiskers: avoid pure tin and write the prohibition into procurement; verify plating composition after delivery because GSFC found parts specified 'No Pure Tin' that were pure tin and had whiskers; solder-dip with tin-lead (limited success, thermal shock precautions); replate with tin-lead or nickel; conformal coat or foam encapsulate (a 2 to 3 mil coating contained growth in GSFC experiments); evaluate application-specific risk.
  • NASA parts policy as summarised in a 2010 NEPP talk: policy is in NPD 8730.2 (3 November 2008); it requires traditional tin-lead solders except when justified by technical need such as high melting point, treats SAC and other new alloys as needing exceptional rationale, and requires all tin-based platings and protective finishes to have at least 3% Pb (no pure tin) unless a persuasive rationale is given or a mitigation strategy supported by data is approved by NASA.
  • RoHS (Directive 2011/65/EU): Article 4(1) requires electrical and electronic equipment placed on the market not to contain the substances in Annex II; Annex II sets lead at 0.1% (by weight, in homogeneous materials). Annex III exemption 7(a) covers lead in high melting temperature type solders (lead-based alloys containing 85% by weight or more lead); 7(b) covers lead in solders for servers, storage and storage array systems and network infrastructure equipment for switching, signalling, transmission and network management. Equipment categories and expiry dates of exemptions were not checked.
  • REACH: ECHA added lead (EC 231-100-4, CAS 7439-92-1) to the Candidate List on 27 June 2018 as toxic for reproduction. Suppliers of articles containing more than 0.1% lead by weight, per individual article, must give recipients safe-use information, and producers or importers had to notify ECHA within 6 months. REACH Annex XVII entry 63, as amended by Regulation (EU) 2015/628, limits lead to 0.05% by weight in mouthable articles supplied to the general public (with exclusions such as articles under RoHS).

Mitigations

  • Use tin-lead finishes with at least 3% lead by weight, which NASA's background page treats as acceptable, accepting that RoHS, REACH and workplace rules then apply to the lead.

Supply and geography

How common the raw materials are and where they come from.

Lead

USGS: identified world lead resources total more than 2 billion tons. World mine production was 4,600 thousand tons in 2024 and an estimated 4,500 thousand tons in 2025 (lead content); world reserves 95,000 thousand tons. Largest 2025 estimates: China 1,900, Australia 480, Peru 290, Russia 260, Mexico 200, India 220 (thousand tons).

Top producers (2025)
China, Australia, Peru, Russia, India, United States
Critical mineral lists
US: listed
Recycling
USGS: an estimated 1 million tons of secondary lead was produced in the US in 2025, equal to 70% of apparent domestic consumption, nearly all recovered from old scrap, mostly lead-acid batteries. US net import reliance for refined lead was 33% in 2025. The last US primary lead refinery closed in 2013.
Substitutes
Plastics in cable covering and cans; Tin in solder for potable water systems; Lead-free solders in electronics; Flat-panel displays that do not require lead shielding; Steel and zinc in wheel weights