Electroless nickel-phosphorus plating (AMS 2404 / ASTM B733) NiP

Ni-P alloy deposit, nickel with 1 to 13 % phosphorus by weight (low, medium and high phosphorus grades)

Electroless nickel-phosphorus (NiP) is a nickel coating that contains 1 to 13 % phosphorus by weight, with the grade set by the phosphorus content.

10 sources · Updated 2026-11-01 · CC BY 4.0

Evidence level

2 of 5

Lab-measured

Hardness

200 HV

Hardness after bake

Rc 66 to 70

Service temperature

538 °C

Thermal expansion

13 ppm/K

Recipe, share of the weight

  • Ni not statedNickel
  • P not statedPhosphorus

Best for

Hard, wear- and corrosion-resistant plating on aluminium connector shells and flight hardware, where a plated finish is specified (NASA recommends it for connector shells)

Weakest at

No space-environment test result (outgassing, atomic oxygen or thermal vacuum) and no measured corrosion rate was found, and the supplier sources disagree on thermal conductivity by about a factor of ten

Risk at a glance

  • People No data. No hazard data recorded
  • If it fails High. Hydrogen embrittlement of high-strength steel
  • Corrosion Low. NASA says the higher-phosphorus deposit gives increased corrosion resistance, and the Kanigen text claims up to five times the corrosion resistance of electrolytic nickel.

Quick facts: NiP

Key properties of NiP
PropertyValueBasis
Density7.6 to 8.8 g/cm³1 sourced value
Thermal conductivity4.2 to 70 W/(m·K)2 sourced values across conditions
Thermal expansion (CTE)13 ppm/K1 sourced value
Melting point875 to 1,300 °C4 sourced values across conditions
Electrical resistivity6.8e-8 to 0.0000011 Ω·m5 sourced values across conditions
Maximum service temperature538 °C1 sourced value

What is the density of Electroless nickel-phosphorus plating (NiP)?

Electroless nickel-phosphorus plating (NiP) has a density of 7.6 to 8.8 g/cm³. The source and test conditions are listed in the properties table on this page.

What is the thermal conductivity of Electroless nickel-phosphorus plating (NiP)?

Electroless nickel-phosphorus plating (NiP) has a thermal conductivity of 4.2 to 70 W/(m·K). The range covers 2 sourced values across the tempers, forms and test conditions the sources report; room-temperature values are used where a source states a temperature.

What is the coefficient of thermal expansion of Electroless nickel-phosphorus plating (NiP)?

Electroless nickel-phosphorus plating (NiP) has a coefficient of thermal expansion of 13 ppm/K. The source and test conditions are listed in the properties table on this page.

What is the melting point of Electroless nickel-phosphorus plating (NiP)?

Electroless nickel-phosphorus plating (NiP) has a melting point of 875 to 1,300 °C. The range covers 4 sourced values across the tempers, forms and test conditions the sources report; room-temperature values are used where a source states a temperature.

What is the maximum service temperature of Electroless nickel-phosphorus plating (NiP)?

Electroless nickel-phosphorus plating (NiP) has a maximum service temperature of 538 °C. The source and test conditions are listed in the properties table on this page.

What is Electroless nickel-phosphorus plating (NiP) used for?

Uses recorded in the sources include Aluminium connector shells for space-flight connectors; NASA/JSC flight hardware in steels, aluminium, copper, nickel and cobalt alloys; General wear and corrosion parts.

Why it exists

Electroless nickel-phosphorus (NiP) is a nickel coating used on aluminium and other metals to add hardness, wear resistance and corrosion resistance. The phosphorus content sets the grade, and the grade changes the hardness, melting point and electrical resistivity. NASA's JSC process specification PRC-5007, which applies AMS 2404, is the flight-hardware route, and the medium grade (5 to 9 % P) is the one NASA calls the most widely used for general wear and corrosion resistance.

Where it's used

Space connectors

NASA recommends electroless nickel or gold plating on connector shells. Glenair, which makes space-grade connectors, describes that guidance and lists electroless nickel as the shell finish for its aluminium connectors.

NASA flight hardware

NASA/JSC PRC-5007 governs electroless nickel on steels, stainless steels, aluminium, copper, nickel and cobalt alloys. Its example callout is 0.0010-0.0012 inch on 6061-T6 or 7075-T73 aluminium, Class 4.

Optical mirrors (not established)

Optical aluminium mirrors are the open question. A US patent argues that the nickel layer makes the mirror bimetallic and degrades its figure, and that bare heat-treated aluminium works better. That is the inventors' claim, and no test result we opened supports or refutes it.

Recipe

Ni-P alloy deposit, nickel with 1 to 13 % phosphorus by weight (low, medium and high phosphorus grades)

Electroless nickel-phosphorus is a nickel coating that contains phosphorus, which sets its grade. The grades are low (1 to 4 % P), medium (5 to 9 % P) and high (more than 10 % P) in the Kanigen table, and NASA gives 9 to 13 % P as the higher-corrosion-resistance range.

What NiP is made of
IngredientShare of the weightWhat it does
Nickel Ni not stated The main metal. The coating is nickel with phosphorus dissolved or combined in it, and the nickel sets most of the base metal behaviour.
Phosphorus P not stated Sets the grade. The phosphorus content changes the hardness, melting point, electrical resistivity and corrosion resistance (see properties).

Weight shares are as printed in the sources.

What it can do

Hardness

200 HV

measured

As plated, the Kanigen table gives about 520 HV 0.1 for the high-phosphorus grade, about 580 HV 0.1 for the medium grade and about 650 HV for the low grade. After a 290 °C heat treatment for 5 hours it gives about 900 HV 0.1 for the grades.

Hardness after bake

Rc 66 to 70

measured

For the medium grade, the supplier page gives Rc 58 to 62 as plated and Rc 66 to 70 after heat treatment.

Service temperature

538 °C

measured

A finishing reference page states that the AMS 2404C deposit is for service up to 1000F (538 °C).

Thermal expansion

13 ppm/K

measured

The Kanigen table gives a coefficient of thermal expansion of 13 ppm/K at room temperature, the same value for all three grades.

How it compares

Against electrolytic nickel, the Kanigen table gives a medium-phosphorus deposit with higher electrical resistivity (72 µΩ·cm against 6.8 µΩ·cm for electrolytic nickel) and much higher as-plated hardness (about 580 HV 0.1 against 200 HV). The three electroless grades melt between 875 and 910 °C in the same table. The table compares these grades with electrolytic nickel, and the values are the manufacturer's, not a standard.

The same measurements for each material, so you can compare them. Each row names the key condition under the value; the full conditions and methods are in the numbered notes under Technical details.

Benchmarks
MeasurementNiP
Thermal behavior and safety
Melting point, KANIGEN MP (medium phosphorus)890 °C1
Melting point, KANIGEN HP (high phosphorus)875 °C2
Melting point, KANIGEN LP (low phosphorus)910 °C3
Melting range, electroless nickel (supplier technical data panel)Range printed in a supplier technical data panel890 to 1300 °C4
Thermal conductivity, KANIGEN MP0.7 W/(cm·K)6
Thermal conductivity, electroless nickel (supplier technical data panel)Range printed in a supplier technical data panel0.042 to 0.067 W/(cm·K)
Physical and electrical
Electrical resistivity, KANIGEN HPValue printed in a manufacturer comparison table110 µΩ·cm
Electrical resistivity, KANIGEN MPValue printed in a manufacturer comparison table72 µΩ·cm
Electrical resistivity, KANIGEN LPValue printed in a manufacturer comparison table30 µΩ·cm
Electrical resistivity, electrolytic nickel (comparison column)Value printed in a manufacturer comparison table6.8 µΩ·cm
Electrical resistivity, electroless nickel (supplier technical data panel)Range printed in a supplier technical data panel100 to 1100 nΩ·m5
Hardness as plated, electrolytic nickel (comparison column)Value printed in a manufacturer comparison table200 HV
Density, electroless nickel (supplier technical data panel)Range printed in a supplier technical data panel7.6 to 8.8 g/cm³
Hardness as plated, KANIGEN HPValue printed in a manufacturer comparison table520 HV
Hardness as plated, KANIGEN MPValue printed in a manufacturer comparison table580 HV
Hardness as plated, KANIGEN LPValue printed in a manufacturer comparison table650 HV7
Hardness after heat treatment, KANIGEN (medium grade row, same value printed for HP and LP)Value printed in a manufacturer comparison table900 HV
Hardness, non-heat-treated deposit (Kanigen text)Range printed in a manufacturer product text500 to 550 HV8
Hardness after heat treatment (Kanigen text)Value printed in a manufacturer product text1100 HV9
Hardness, medium phosphorus (6 to 9 % P, Type IV), as platedRange printed in a supplier technical data page58 to 62 Rc10
Hardness, medium phosphorus (6 to 9 % P, Type IV), with heat treatmentRange printed in a supplier technical data page66 to 70 Rc
Minimum hardness, ASTM B733 Class 2 heat treatment> 850 HK10011
Minimum hardness, AMS 2404 Class 2 heat treatment> 800 HK10012
Electroless nickel thickness on aluminium, minimum to maximum0.001 to 0.003 inch14
Other measurements
Coefficient of thermal expansion, KANIGEN HP, MP and LP (same value printed for each)Value printed in a manufacturer comparison table13 ppm/K
Service temperature, electroless nickel deposit (AMS 2404C statement)538 °C13
Phosphorus content, low phosphorus gradeRange printed in a manufacturer comparison table1 to 4 % wt
Phosphorus content, medium phosphorus gradeRange printed in a manufacturer comparison table5 to 9 % wt
Phosphorus content, high phosphorus grade> 10 % wt15

Why choose it, and why not

Good for

  • Hard wear and corrosion coatings on aluminium: about 580 HV 0.1 as plated and about 900 HV 0.1 after heat treatment in the medium grade, per the Kanigen table.
  • Space connector shells, where NASA recommends electroless nickel or gold plating.

Watch out for

  • Sources disagree on thermal conductivity by about ten times (0.7 W/(cm·K) against 0.042 to 0.067 W/(cm·K)); both are recorded.
  • No measured corrosion rate and no space-environment test result for the deposit were found.
  • Hazard data are for elemental nickel, and the nickel sensitiser code H317 applies to the metal.
  • A heat treatment above 500 F can change the deposit from amorphous to crystalline.

Electroless nickel-phosphorus is the standard plated finish that NASA specifies for aluminium flight hardware and connector shells. The medium grade gives about 580 HV 0.1 as plated and about 900 HV 0.1 after heat treatment, and the phosphorus grade changes the properties. This profile lacks a measured corrosion result, a space-environment test and a deposit safety data sheet, and the thermal conductivity sources disagree.

Technical details

For scientists and researchers. Everything above comes from the record below: every number with its method, its conditions and its source.

Notes

The method, full conditions and any caveat for the numbered rows above.

Notes for the numbered rows
#MeasurementMethodConditionsCaveat
1Melting point, KANIGEN MP (medium phosphorus)Value printed in a manufacturer comparison table (technical information, ISO 4527 comparison)grade KANIGEN MP, 5 - 9 % wt. phosphorustable column MP—
2Melting point, KANIGEN HP (high phosphorus)Value printed in a manufacturer comparison table (technical information, ISO 4527 comparison)grade KANIGEN HP, more than 10 % wt. phosphorustable column HP—
3Melting point, KANIGEN LP (low phosphorus)Value printed in a manufacturer comparison table (technical information, ISO 4527 comparison)grade KANIGEN LP, 1 - 4 % wt. phosphorustable column LP—
4Melting range, electroless nickel (supplier technical data panel)—basis generic range in the supplier technical data panel, not tied to one phosphorus gradeWider than the three Kanigen grade values (875 to 910 °C). The sources disagree and both are recorded.
5Electrical resistivity, electroless nickel (supplier technical data panel)—basis generic range in the supplier technical data panel, not tied to one phosphorus gradePrinted in nΩ·m; the Kanigen grades read 30 to 110 µΩ·cm. The sources give different ranges and both are recorded.
6Thermal conductivity, KANIGEN MPApproximate value printed in a manufacturer comparison tablegrade KANIGEN MPnote on value printed with a tilde as approximate (~ 0.7)About ten times the supplier panel range below (0.042 to 0.067 W/(cm·K)). The sources disagree and both are recorded.
7Hardness as plated, KANIGEN LP—grade KANIGEN LP, as plated (row label: without thermal treatment)load not printed for this rowThe LP row prints HV without a test load, so the load is not stated.
8Hardness, non-heat-treated deposit (Kanigen text)—state non-heat-treated, as printed in the Hardness sectionload 0.1 (printed as HV 0.1)The same page's table gives 520 to 650 HV 0.1 as plated. The two statements are recorded side by side.
9Hardness after heat treatment (Kanigen text)—treatment one hour at 400 C or 5 hours at 290 C (as printed)load 0.1 (printed as HV 0.1)The same page's table gives about 900 HV 0.1 after heat treatment. The two values are recorded side by side.
10Hardness, medium phosphorus (6 to 9 % P, Type IV), as plated—grade medium phosphorus, 6 to 9 % P as printedcondition as platedThe same page writes the medium grade as 6 to 9 % P, while the NASA text and the ASTM summary on the same page write 5 to 9 % P.
11Minimum hardness, ASTM B733 Class 2 heat treatmentMinimum value printed in a supplier summary of ASTM B733standard ASTM B733 Class 2condition after hardening heat treatment at 260 to 400 °CThe same page gives 800 HK100 as the AMS 2404 Class 2 minimum. Both are recorded.
12Minimum hardness, AMS 2404 Class 2 heat treatmentMinimum value printed in a supplier summary of AMS 2404standard AMS 2404 Class 2condition after hardening heat treatment—
13Service temperature, electroless nickel deposit (AMS 2404C statement)Service temperature statement printed on a finishing reference page; not a test resultstandard AMS-2404Cunit in source 1000F (printed as up to 1000F (538C))—
14Electroless nickel thickness on aluminium, minimum to maximumRequirement printed in NASA's process specificationsubstrate aluminium alloysstandard NASA/JSC PRC-5007 Rev. E, Table 1Pitting and roughness are a process control problem above 0.0030 inch, per the footnote to Table 1.
15Phosphorus content, high phosphorus gradeLower bound printed in a manufacturer comparison tablegrade KANIGEN HPprinted as > 10 % wt. Phosphorus—

Corrosion and compatibility

What happens when it meets other materials and environments.

Corrosion and compatibility
EnvironmentConcernWhat happens
Periodic salt-spray check of a corrosion test panel (ASTM B117) not rated The process specification requires a 48-hour salt-spray check of a periodic test panel, but it prints no result.1
Higher phosphorus deposits (9 to 13 % P) in corrosive service low NASA says the higher-phosphorus deposit gives increased corrosion resistance, and the Kanigen text claims up to five times the corrosion resistance of electrolytic nickel.2
Corrosion details
#EnvironmentDetailsTest conditions
1 Periodic salt-spray check of a corrosion test panel (ASTM B117) NASA/JSC PRC-5007 requires a periodic corrosion test panel to be tested for 48 hours in a continuous salt spray test under ASTM B117. The specification states the test duration only, so no corrosion rate or pass result for this deposit is recorded here. test continuous salt spray, ASTM B117, 48 hoursresult not printed in the source
2 Higher phosphorus deposits (9 to 13 % P) in corrosive service NASA's process specification states that a deposit in the range 9 to 13 % P gives increased corrosion resistance. The Kanigen text states that the coating is up to 5 times more resistant to corrosion than electrolytic nickel, according to the Taber index. The Taber index is a wear index, and the page gives no test conditions, so the five-fold figure is recorded as a claim and not verified. basis qualitative statement in NASA text and a supplier claim; no measured corrosion ratecomparison electrolytic nickel

Risks and side effects

Hazards to people, what happens when a cell overheats, and how the material is handled and stored.

For people

The hazard data we could open are for elemental nickel. Nickel is a skin sensitiser, and the deposit's own safety data sheet was not read.

The metal
PubChem's GHS record for nickel (CID 935) gives H317, may cause an allergic skin reaction, with the signal word Danger in its main entries. Some notifications also carry H350 and H351, cancer codes.
Process hazards
The bath chemicals and the bake ovens are not covered by any source we opened, so their hazards are not recorded here.

If it fails

These failure routes come from NASA's process specification and the supplier text. None is a flight result.

Poor adhesion on aluminium
NASA says adhesion can be a problem on aluminium alloys, and it asks for a 180-degree bend test to ASTM B571 over a 4T mandrel.
Hydrogen in high-strength steel
NASA requires a hydrogen bakeout at 375 F within four hours of plating for the steels in its Table 2.
Thick deposits
Above 0.0030 inch, pitting and roughness become a process control problem, according to NASA.

Handling and storage

Callout
NASA requires the thickness, the PRC-5007 reference and the AMS 2404 class on the drawing, and the phosphorus content when it is outside 5 to 9 %.
Substrate
NASA's PRC-5007 does not cover titanium or beryllium alloys, while the AMS 2404 and ASTM B733 classes list beryllium alloys.

Test details
The original wording and numbers from the sources, for readers who want them.

Failure risks

Failure risks
FailureTrigger and consequence
Poor adhesion on aluminium alloysmoderate severityPlating aluminium without the adhesion steps and checks in the specificationNASA says plating adhesion can be a problem with aluminium alloys. It requires a 180-degree bend test to ASTM B571 over a 4T mandrel, and a Class 3 or Class 4 thermal treatment to improve adhesion.
Hydrogen embrittlement of high-strength steelhigh severitySteel at 150 ksi or more, or tempered below 375 F, plated without a hydrogen bakeoutNASA requires a hydrogen bakeout within four hours of plating for the steels listed in its Table 2. The ASTM B733 summary gives Class 3 at 180 to 200 °C for 2 to 4 hours for steel adhesion and hydrogen embrittlement relief.
Pitting and roughness in thick depositslow severityDeposit thicker than 0.0030 inchNASA notes that pitting and roughness become a process control problem above 0.0030 inch.

Side effects on surrounding parts

Side effects on surrounding parts
AffectsEffect
Hardness and internal structure of the coatingA post-plate bake above 500 F can change the deposit from amorphous to crystalline and greatly raise its hardness, according to the APT page on electroless deposition.
Optical figure of aluminium mirrors (the patent's claim)A US patent on aluminium mirrors argues that a nickel layer on aluminium is theoretically bimetallic and deforms with temperature, which it says degrades optical performance. The patent gives this as the inventors' position and gives no test result for it.

Handling and storage

  • The specification requires the thickness, the PRC-5007 reference and the AMS 2404 class to be called out on the engineering drawing, and the phosphorus content to be called out when it is outside 5 to 9 %.
  • Bake listed steels at 375 F within four hours of plating, per NASA's hydrogen bakeout note. The duration printed in the extracted text is not recorded here.
  • NASA PRC-5007 does not cover titanium or beryllium alloys, but the AMS 2404 and ASTM B733 classes list beryllium alloys for the Class 3 and Class 5 treatments.

Mitigations

  • Match the heat-treatment class to the substrate: AMS 2404 Class 3 at 375 F for nonheat-treatable aluminium and beryllium, and Class 4 at 250 F for heat-treatable aluminium.

Supply and geography

How common the raw materials are and where they come from.

Nickel (mine production)

Top producers (2025)
Indonesia 66.7%, Philippines 6.9%, Russia 5.1%, New Caledonia 3.6%, Canada 3.6%
Critical mineral lists
US: listed
Recycling
USGS: most secondary nickel was recovered as the nickel content of stainless-steel scrap; nickel in alloyed form was recovered from processing nickel-containing waste.
Substitutes
USGS: low-nickel, duplex or ultrahigh-chromium stainless steels have been substituted for austenitic grades in construction, and titanium alloys can substitute for nickel or nickel-base alloys in corrosive environments.

Updated