CVD diamond (polycrystalline and single-crystal) CVD diamond

C, carbon in the diamond cubic structure (eight atoms per unit cell, Wikipedia) · cubic

CVD diamond is carbon grown from hydrocarbon gas by chemical vapour deposition, as polycrystalline plates or as single crystals.

9 sources · Updated 2026-11-01 · CC BY 4.0

Evidence level

2 of 5

Lab-measured

Carry heat

greater than 2200 W/(m·K) at 300 K

Stay dimensionally stable

1.0 ppm/K at 300 K

Weight

3.52 g/cm3

Pass light

71.4 % at 1 mm

Hard

81 ± 18 GPa

Recipe, share of the weight

  • C 100.0%Carbon

Best for

Heat spreaders and high-power laser windows, where thermal conductivity above 2000 W/(m·K) at 300 K matters most

Weakest at

Size and thickness: polycrystalline optical windows up to Ø 135 mm and 3 mm thick, single-crystal plates up to 7 x 7 x 2 mm (Element Six)

Risk at a glance

  • People Low. Mixed; no classification for CVD diamond itself was read
  • If it fails Moderate. Fracture under load, with wide strength spread
  • Corrosion Low. Rain impact damage threshold velocity is printed as 525 m/s for polycrystalline optical grade.

Quick facts: CVD diamond

Key properties of CVD diamond
PropertyValueBasis
Density3.52 g/cm³1 sourced value
Young's modulus1,000 to 1,100 GPa1 sourced value
Thermal conductivityat least 1,000 W/(m·K)6 sourced values across conditions
Thermal expansion (CTE)1 ppm/K1 sourced value
Specific heat520 to 536 J/(kg·K)2 sourced values across conditions

What is the density of CVD diamond?

CVD diamond has a density of 3.52 g/cm³. The source and test conditions are listed in the properties table on this page.

What is the thermal conductivity of CVD diamond?

CVD diamond has a thermal conductivity of at least 1,000 W/(m·K). The range covers 6 sourced values across the tempers, forms and test conditions the sources report; room-temperature values are used where a source states a temperature.

What is the coefficient of thermal expansion of CVD diamond?

CVD diamond has a coefficient of thermal expansion of 1 ppm/K. The source and test conditions are listed in the properties table on this page.

What is the Young's modulus of CVD diamond?

CVD diamond has a Young's modulus of 1,000 to 1,100 GPa. The source and test conditions are listed in the properties table on this page.

What is CVD diamond used for?

Uses recorded in the sources include Heat spreaders for high-power GaN transistors, MMICs and laser diodes; Optical windows for high-power CO2 and solid-state lasers; RF and microwave windows in high-power gyrotrons.

Why it exists

CVD diamond has the highest thermal conductivity of any material, according to Element Six. Its polycrystalline optical grade is printed at greater than 2200 W/(m·K) at 300 K, and its RF grade at greater than 2000 W/(m·K) at 300 K. A Coherent single-crystal optical grade sheet prints at least 2200 W/(m·K) with no temperature given. That is why the material is used as a heat spreader under high-power electronics and as a window in high-power lasers.

Where it's used

Heat spreaders

Element Six Diafilm heat spreaders are stated for high-power, high-density circuits, including GaN discrete transistors, MMICs and laser diodes. The Diafilm TM200 grade is printed at greater than 2000 W/(m·K) at 300 K.

Laser windows

Element Six lists optical windows for high-power CO2 and solid-state lasers, and says CVD diamond windows allow much higher laser power densities than other materials.

RF windows

Element Six says CVD RF diamond windows are used in nuclear fusion experiments, in gyrotrons above 2 MW and as containment windows in waveguides.

Laser and power-electronics heat sinks

A 2019 open-access chapter says CVD diamond heat sinks are used for high-power laser diodes and transistor high power devices, and names AlGaN/GaN HEMTs on CVD diamond substrates (Vieira da Silva Neto et al., 2019).

Recipe

C, carbon in the diamond cubic structure (eight atoms per unit cell, Wikipedia)

Diamond is pure carbon with a cubic crystal structure (Wikipedia). Synthetic diamond can be grown from hydrocarbon gases by chemical vapour deposition (Wikipedia). Coherent describes its single-crystal optical grade as made by plasma-enhanced chemical vapour deposition (Coherent datasheet).

What CVD diamond is made of
IngredientAtoms per unitShare of the weightWhat it does
Carbon C 1 100.0% The whole material. The PubChem carbon element record prints a molecular weight of 12.011.

Weight shares are calculated from standard atomic weights.

What it can do

Carry heat

greater than 2200 W/(m·K) at 300 K

measured

Element Six prints greater than 2200 W/(m·K) at 300 K for polycrystalline optical grade and for single-crystal optical grade. At 425 K it prints greater than 1600 W/(m·K) for the polycrystalline optical grade.

Stay dimensionally stable

1.0 ppm/K at 300 K

measured

The coefficient of thermal expansion is 1.0 ppm/K at 300 K and 4.4 ppm/K at 1000 K, per Element Six. The Diafilm article prints 1.0 ± 0.1 ppm/K at 300 K.

Weight

3.52 g/cm3

measured

Density is printed as 3.52 x 10³ kg m⁻³ in the Element Six brochure and as 3.52 x 10³ kg/m³ in the Diafilm article.

Pass light

71.4 % at 1 mm

measured

Polycrystalline optical grade transmits 71.4 % through 1 mm of material over 8 to 200 µm, per Element Six.

Hard

81 ± 18 GPa

measured

Polycrystalline CVD diamond is printed at a hardness of 81 ± 18 GPa, and single crystal at 70 - 120 GPa.

How it compares

The Element Six brochure prints thermal conductivity above 2000 W/(m·K) at 300 K for the RF and optical grades, and the Coherent single-crystal sheet prints at least 2200 W/(m·K), and the Diafilm article gives 1000 and 2000 W/(m·K) for the TM100 and TM200 grades. The two sources give different specific heat figures, 520 J/(kg·K) at 300 K in the trade article and 0.536 J/g-K at 25 °C on the Coherent sheet, so read them with their temperatures in view. For birefringence the Element Six table gives 1e-4 for its single-crystal optical grade, while the Coherent sheet gives less than 5e-5, so grades and sources need to be matched before comparing.

The same measurements for each material, so you can compare them. Each row names the key condition under the value; the full conditions and methods are in the numbered notes under Technical details.

Benchmarks
MeasurementCVD diamond
Thermal behavior and safety
Thermal conductivity, polycrystalline CVD diamond, optical grade, 300 K> 2200 W/(m·K)1
Thermal conductivity, polycrystalline CVD diamond, RF grade, 300 K> 2000 W/(m·K)2
Thermal conductivity, single-crystal CVD diamond, optical grade, 300 K> 2200 W/(m·K)3
Thermal conductivity, polycrystalline CVD diamond, optical grade, 425 K> 1600 W/(m·K)4
Thermal conductivity, single-crystal CVD diamond sheet (SCD-O), temperature not stated> 2200 W/(m·K)5
Thermal conductivity, Element Six Diafilm TM100, 300 K> 1000 W/(m·K)6
Thermal conductivity, Element Six Diafilm TM200, 300 K> 2000 W/(m·K)7
Specific heat capacity, CVD diamond, 500 KValue printed in a manufacturer properties table520 J/(kg·K)11
Specific heat capacity, Diafilm grades, 300 K520 J/(kg·K)12
Specific heat capacity, single-crystal CVD diamond sheet (SCD-O), 25 °CValue printed in a manufacturer datasheet0.536 J/g-K13
Thermal diffusivity, Element Six Diafilm TM200, 300 K> 11.1 cm²/s29
Physical and electrical
Density, CVD diamond3.52 g/cm³10
Hardness, polycrystalline CVD diamond81 GPa15
Hardness, single-crystal CVD diamondRange printed in a manufacturer properties table70 to 120 GPa
Temperature behavior
Temperature coefficient of refractive index (dn/dT), CVD diamondValue printed in a manufacturer properties table9.6×10^-6 K-1
Other measurements
Coefficient of thermal expansion, CVD diamond, 300 KValue printed in a manufacturer properties table1 ppm/K8
Coefficient of thermal expansion, CVD diamond, 1000 KValue printed in a manufacturer properties table4.4 ppm/K9
Young's modulus, Element Six Diafilm grades1000 to 1100 GPa14
Refractive index, CVD diamond at 10.6 µmValue printed in a manufacturer properties table2.376 -
Refractive index, CVD diamond at 1550 nmValue printed in a manufacturer properties table2.386 -
Refractive index, CVD diamond at 1064 nmValue printed in a manufacturer properties table2.392 -16
Birefringence, single-crystal CVD diamond, optical plus grade< 5×10^-5 -17
Birefringence, single-crystal CVD diamond, optical gradeValue printed in a manufacturer properties table1×10^-4 -18
Absorption coefficient at 10.6 µm, polycrystalline CVD diamond, optical grade< 0.07 cm-119
Absorption coefficient at 10.6 µm, single-crystal CVD diamond, optical grade< 0.05 cm-120
Absorption coefficient at 1064 nm, single-crystal CVD diamond, optical plus grade< 0.005 cm-121
Transmittance at 1 mm thickness, polycrystalline CVD diamond, optical grade, 8 to 200 µmValue printed in a manufacturer properties table71.4 %22
Dielectric constant, polycrystalline CVD diamond, 35 GHz5.68 -23
Loss tangent at 145 GHz, polycrystalline CVD diamond, optical gradeRange printed in a manufacturer properties table8×10^-6 to 2×10^-5 -24
Loss tangent at 145 GHz, polycrystalline CVD diamond, RF gradeRange printed in a manufacturer properties table1×10^-5 to 1×10^-4 -25
Fracture stress, single-crystal CVD diamond, optical grade and optical plus3500 MPa26
Sand erosion, polycrystalline CVD diamond, optical grade2.1 mg/kg27
Emittance at 10 µm, CVD diamond, 573 KValue printed in a manufacturer properties table0.02 -28

Why choose it, and why not

Good for

  • Heat spreading: greater than 2200 W/(m·K) at 300 K for the optical grades, per Element Six.
  • High-power laser windows: absorption at 10.6 µm below 0.07 cm-1 for polycrystalline optical grade.
  • Erosion resistance: sand erosion of 2.1 ± 0.6 mg/kg at 100 m/s for polycrystalline optical grade.

Watch out for

  • Size: polycrystalline optical windows top out at Ø 135 mm and 3 mm thick, and single-crystal plates at 7 x 7 x 2 mm.
  • Strength spread: a Weibull modulus of 2.5 with a fracture stress of 3500 MPa for single crystal, and the brochure does not explain the scatter.
  • No atomic-oxygen, oxidation or radiation data were read for this profile. The hazard entries come from an abrasive-powder SDS and element-level PubChem notifications, not from a CVD plate SDS.

CVD diamond is printed at greater than 2200 W/(m·K) at 300 K for the Element Six optical grades and at least 2200 W/(m·K) on the Coherent sheet, and the Diafilm article gives greater than 2000 W/(m·K) at 300 K for the TM200 grade. Its size limits, the 2.5 Weibull modulus on fracture stress, and the missing CVD-specific hazard and space-environment data are the main gaps.

Technical details

For scientists and researchers. Everything above comes from the record below: every number with its method, its conditions and its source.

Notes

The method, full conditions and any caveat for the numbered rows above.

Notes for the numbered rows
#MeasurementMethodConditionsCaveat
1Thermal conductivity, polycrystalline CVD diamond, optical grade, 300 KLower limit printed in a manufacturer properties tablegrade polycrystalline CVD diamond, optical gradetemperature 300 Kunit in source W m-1 K-1, printed as >2200—
2Thermal conductivity, polycrystalline CVD diamond, RF grade, 300 KLower limit printed in a manufacturer properties tablegrade polycrystalline CVD diamond, RF gradetemperature 300 Kunit in source W m-1 K-1, printed as >2000—
3Thermal conductivity, single-crystal CVD diamond, optical grade, 300 KLower limit printed in a manufacturer properties tablegrade single-crystal CVD diamond, optical gradetemperature 300 Kunit in source W m-1 K-1, printed as >2200—
4Thermal conductivity, polycrystalline CVD diamond, optical grade, 425 KLower limit printed in a manufacturer properties tablegrade polycrystalline CVD diamond, optical gradetemperature 425 Kunit in source W m-1 K-1, printed as >1600—
5Thermal conductivity, single-crystal CVD diamond sheet (SCD-O), temperature not statedLower limit printed in a manufacturer datasheet; no temperature givengrade single-crystal CVD diamond, optical grade (SCD-O), table labels it Thermal Gradetemperature not stated on the datasheetunit in source W/mK, printed as ≥2,200Matches the Element Six single-crystal optical grade value at 300 K, but the datasheet does not print the temperature.
6Thermal conductivity, Element Six Diafilm TM100, 300 KLower limit printed in a trade article that reports Element Six product datagrade Element Six Diafilm TM100, polycrystalline CVD heat spreadertemperature 300 Kunit in source W/m-K, printed as better than 1,000—
7Thermal conductivity, Element Six Diafilm TM200, 300 KLower limit printed in a trade article that reports Element Six product datagrade Element Six Diafilm TM200, polycrystalline CVD heat spreadertemperature 300 Kunit in source W/m-K, printed as better than 2,000—
8Coefficient of thermal expansion, CVD diamond, 300 K—grade polycrystalline and single-crystal CVD diamond (same value printed for both)temperature 300 Kunit in source ppm K-1The Diafilm article prints 1.0 ± 0.1 ppm/K at 300 K for four Diafilm grades, which agrees.
9Coefficient of thermal expansion, CVD diamond, 1000 K—grade polycrystalline and single-crystal CVD diamond (same value printed for both)temperature 1000 Kunit in source ppm K-1—
10Density, CVD diamondValue printed as 3.52 in a manufacturer properties table under the heading x 10³ kg m⁻³; the same figure is entered in g/cm3 (1 g/cm3 = 1000 kg/m3). The Diafilm article prints 3.52 x 10³ kg/m³ for its four grades.grade polycrystalline and single-crystal CVD diamond (same value printed for both)unit in source 3.52 x 10³ kg m⁻³ (printed in the table heading, which equals 3.52 g/cm3)—
11Specific heat capacity, CVD diamond, 500 K—grade polycrystalline and single-crystal CVD diamond (same value printed for both)temperature 500 Kunit in source J Kg-1 K-1—
12Specific heat capacity, Diafilm grades, 300 KValue printed in a trade article that reports Element Six product datagrade Element Six Diafilm TM grades (printed for all four)temperature 300 Kunit in source J/kg/K—
13Specific heat capacity, single-crystal CVD diamond sheet (SCD-O), 25 °C—grade single-crystal CVD diamond, optical grade (SCD-O)temperature 25 °Cunit in source J/g-KDiffers in unit form and temperature from the 520 J/(kg·K) values; 0.536 J/g-K is 536 J/(kg·K). Both are kept, with their temperatures.
14Young's modulus, Element Six Diafilm gradesRange printed in a trade article that reports Element Six product datagrade Element Six Diafilm TM grades (same printed range for all four)temperature not statedunit in source GPa, printed as 1,000 to 1,100The Element Six brochure prints 1050 in the Young's modulus row with no unit, so that value is not entered.
15Hardness, polycrystalline CVD diamondValue printed in a manufacturer properties table, with a stated spread of ± 18 GPagrade polycrystalline CVD diamond (value spans the two polycrystalline columns)unit in source GPa, printed as 81 ± 18The spread of ± 18 GPa is printed beside the mean; the brochure does not say whether it is a standard deviation.
16Refractive index, CVD diamond at 1064 nm—grade polycrystalline and single-crystal CVD diamond (same value printed for both)wavelength 1064 nmThe chart on page 3 of the same brochure reads 2.390 at 1064 nm, so the two values differ by 0.002. The table value is entered.
17Birefringence, single-crystal CVD diamond, optical plus gradeUpper limit printed in a manufacturer properties tablegrade single-crystal CVD diamond, optical plusunit in source <5 x 10-5 (Δn, dimensionless)The Coherent SCD-O datasheet prints the same limit, <5 x 10-5 Δn, for its single-crystal optical grade.
18Birefringence, single-crystal CVD diamond, optical grade—grade single-crystal CVD diamond, optical gradeunit in source 1 x 10-4 (Δn, dimensionless)The Element Six table gives 1 x 10-4 for this grade, while the Coherent SCD-O datasheet gives less than 5 x 10-5 for its optical grade. Both are kept side by side and the grades may differ.
19Absorption coefficient at 10.6 µm, polycrystalline CVD diamond, optical gradeUpper limit printed in a manufacturer properties tablegrade polycrystalline CVD diamond, optical gradewavelength 10.6 µmunit in source <0.07 cm-1—
20Absorption coefficient at 10.6 µm, single-crystal CVD diamond, optical gradeUpper limit printed in a manufacturer properties tablegrade single-crystal CVD diamond, optical gradewavelength 10.6 µmunit in source <0.05 cm-1The Coherent SCD-O datasheet prints the same limit, 10.6 µm ABS coefficient <0.05 (cm-1).
21Absorption coefficient at 1064 nm, single-crystal CVD diamond, optical plus gradeUpper limit printed in a manufacturer properties tablegrade single-crystal CVD diamond, optical pluswavelength 1064 nmunit in source <0.005The Coherent SCD-O datasheet prints 0.005 (cm-1) at 1.064 µm for its single-crystal optical grade, which agrees.
22Transmittance at 1 mm thickness, polycrystalline CVD diamond, optical grade, 8 to 200 µm—grade polycrystalline CVD diamond, optical gradethickness 1 mmwavelength 8 to 200 µm—
23Dielectric constant, polycrystalline CVD diamond, 35 GHzValue printed in a manufacturer properties table, with a stated spread of ± 0.15grade polycrystalline CVD diamond (value spans the two polycrystalline columns)frequency 35 GHzThe spread of ± 0.15 is printed beside the value. The brochure gives 4.3 % increase in D at 773 K and does not give the value at that temperature.
24Loss tangent at 145 GHz, polycrystalline CVD diamond, optical grade—grade polycrystalline CVD diamond, optical gradefrequency 145 GHzunit in source 8 - 20 (x 10-6)—
25Loss tangent at 145 GHz, polycrystalline CVD diamond, RF grade—grade polycrystalline CVD diamond, RF gradefrequency 145 GHzunit in source 10 - 100 (x 10-6)—
26Fracture stress, single-crystal CVD diamond, optical grade and optical plusValue printed in a manufacturer properties table with its Weibull modulusgrade single-crystal CVD diamond, optical grade and optical plus (same value printed for both)weibull modulus 2.5unit in source MPa, Weibull modulus printed in brackets—
27Sand erosion, polycrystalline CVD diamond, optical gradeValue printed in a manufacturer properties table, with a stated spread of ± 0.6grade polycrystalline CVD diamond, optical gradesand C300/600velocity 100 m/sunit in source mg kg-1 at 100 ms-1 C300/600 sandThe brochure gives no single-crystal value for sand erosion.
28Emittance at 10 µm, CVD diamond, 573 K—grade polycrystalline and single-crystal CVD diamond (same value printed for both)wavelength 10 µmtemperature 573 KAt 773 K the same table prints 0.03.
29Thermal diffusivity, Element Six Diafilm TM200, 300 KLower limit printed in a trade article that reports Element Six product datagrade Element Six Diafilm TM200, polycrystalline CVD heat spreadertemperature 300 Kunit in source cm²/s, printed as greater than 11.1—

Corrosion and compatibility

What happens when it meets other materials and environments.

Corrosion and compatibility
EnvironmentConcernWhat happens
Corrosive chemicals and hostile environments none CVD diamond is chemically inert and the manufacturer says it can operate in corrosive environments.1
Rain impact low Rain impact damage threshold velocity is printed as 525 m/s for polycrystalline optical grade.2
Sand erosion low Sand erosion is 2.1 ± 0.6 mg/kg at 100 m/s for polycrystalline optical grade.3
Corrosion details
#EnvironmentDetailsTest conditions
1 Corrosive chemicals and hostile environments Element Six says its CVD diamond components can operate in highly corrosive and hostile environments and that diamond ATR prisms give the longest lifetimes. The brochure gives no test data, so this is a manufacturer statement, not a measured corrosion rate. basis manufacturer statement; no chemical, temperature or time given
2 Rain impact Element Six prints a rain impact DTV of 525 m/s for polycrystalline optical grade and of 457 - 533 m/s for single crystal. The brochure does not define the abbreviation DTV or give the test set-up in its printed text. grade polycrystalline optical grade (525) and single crystal (457 - 533)unit in source m s-1
3 Sand erosion Element Six prints a sand erosion value of 2.1 ± 0.6 mg kg-1 at 100 m s-1 with C300/600 sand for polycrystalline optical grade. The brochure gives no value for single crystal, and no exposure time is printed. grade polycrystalline CVD diamond, optical gradesand C300/600velocity 100 m/s

Risks and side effects

Hazards to people, what happens when a cell overheats, and how the material is handled and stored.

For people

The sources give two different pictures. An SDS for a diamond abrasive powder says the material is not a hazardous substance, and PubChem's element-level notifications for carbon carry eye and respiratory irritation statements.

Substance
PubChem's carbon element record aggregates ECHA notifications with GHS07, signal word Warning, H319 "Causes serious eye irritation" and H335 "May cause respiratory irritation". These are for carbon, not for CVD diamond.
Dust and handling
The PACE SDS for diamond powders gives precautionary statement P261 "Avoid breathing dust." and says the material is not likely to be hazardous by inhalation. The brochure does not describe dust or powder hazards for the optical and RF grades; it describes the material as chemically inert.

If it fails

These are failure routes found in the sources. The sand erosion and fracture figures are measurements printed by the manufacturer.

Sand erosion
Element Six prints 2.1 ± 0.6 mg/kg of sand erosion at 100 m/s for polycrystalline optical grade, with C300/600 sand.
Fracture
Element Six prints a fracture stress of 3500 MPa for single-crystal optical grade, with a Weibull modulus of 2.5, and does not say what the modulus means for a part.
Rain
Element Six prints a rain impact DTV of 525 m/s for polycrystalline optical grade and of 457 - 533 m/s for single crystal.

Handling and storage

Size
Element Six lists polycrystalline optical windows up to Ø 135 mm and 3 mm thick, and single-crystal plates up to 7 x 7 x 2 mm.
Mounting
Element Six says windows and mounts can be made with water or air cooling if required.

Test details
The original wording and numbers from the sources, for readers who want them.

Failure risks

Failure risks
FailureTrigger and consequence
Sand erosion of an exposed diamond surfacelow severitySand impacting at 100 m/s, in the test used by Element SixElement Six prints 2.1 ± 0.6 mg/kg of mass loss for polycrystalline optical grade. The brochure does not say how much erosion would matter for a given part.
Fracture under load, with wide strength spreadmoderate severityTensile stress on a single-crystal partElement Six prints a fracture stress of 3500 MPa with a Weibull modulus of 2.5 for single-crystal optical grade and optical plus. The brochure does not explain what the modulus means for a part's strength.

Handling and storage

  • Element Six says CVD diamond can be processed to virtually any shape, and that windows and mounts can be made with water or air cooling if required.
  • Element Six lists maximum sizes of up to Ø 135 mm and 3 mm thick for polycrystalline optical grades, and plates up to 7 x 7 x 2 mm for single crystal.

Supply and geography

How common the raw materials are and where they come from.

Synthetic industrial diamond (manufactured bort, grit, dust and powder)

Recycling
USGS: in 2025 about 15 million carats of diamond bort, grit, dust and powder were recycled, and at least two companies recovered used industrial diamond material. Manufactured production was estimated at 160 million carats.
Substitutes
USGS: cubic boron nitride, fused aluminum oxide and silicon carbide can compete with industrial diamond in some applications.

Natural industrial diamond (mine production, shown for contrast)

Top producers (2025)
Russia 42%, Congo (Kinshasa) 18%, Botswana 14%, Zimbabwe 13%, South Africa 8%
Recycling
Synthetic diamond accounts for more than 99 % of global industrial diamond production and consumption, and natural diamond for less than 1 % of industrial diamond used (USGS).

Updated