spore: profile
id: tool-steel-12316
spore_version: 0.2
family: tool-steels
name: 1.2316 stainless plastic mould steel (EN 1.2316, printed name X38CrMo16)
abbreviation: 1.2316 (X38CrMo16)
role: stainless plastic mould steel
category: metals
type: steels-and-stainless
summary: 1.2316 is a stainless, martensitic chromium-molybdenum steel for plastic moulds (EN 1.2316; the name printed by Dörrenberg and Abrams is X38CrMo16). Dörrenberg says it is usually supplied quenched and tempered at 280 to 325 HB, and Abrams gives 15.5 to 17.5 percent chromium for corrosion resistance. Aços Formosa points PVC and plastics that release aggressive gases to this grade rather than to the P-20 family.
best_for: Moulds and tools for PVC and other corrosive plastics that need a stainless, polishable face in the quenched and tempered condition (Aços Formosa; Dörrenberg; Abrams).
weakest_at: 'Corrosion data are qualitative: no test is printed, and the stated range is atmospheric, humid, weak acid and alkali service (Abrams). Machinability is rated only 2 on a 1 to 6 scale (Abrams).'
identity:
  formula: Iron balance; 0.33 to 0.45 C, 0.0 to 1.0 Si, 0.0 to 1.5 Mn, 0.0 to 0.03 P, 0.0 to 0.03 S, 15.5 to 17.5 Cr, 0.8 to 1.3 Mo, 0.0 to 1.0 Ni (wt%, limits as printed in the Abrams standard-values table). Abrams gives the chromium limit as 15.5 to 17.5 percent in its text. Dörrenberg's typical analysis falls inside these limits, and its figures are not recorded because they print decimal commas.
  source: abrams-12316
  where: Standard values, Chemical composition table (C, Si, Mn, P, S, Cr, Mo, Ni)
  designations:
    - system: EN
      code: '1.2316'
      source: dorrenberg-1-2316
      where: Header row, Material No. column (1.2316 X38CrMo16)
    - system: EN name
      code: X38CrMo16
      source: abrams-12316
      where: Standard values, Chemical designation row
    - system: Trade name
      code: R65
      source: dorrenberg-1-2316
      where: Header row, DE - Brand column beside the grade
tags:
  environments: []
  stresses: []
  applications:
    - mechanisms
properties:
  - benchmark: density
    label: Density, typical at room temperature
    value: 7.7
    unit: g/cm3
    scope: material
    conditions:
      condition: typical value as printed
      temperature: room temperature (as printed)
      heat_treatment: not stated
    method: Density section, typical value as printed (the Abrams page prints www.stahlwissen.de as its source for its tables)
    status: ground
    source: abrams-12316
    where: 1.2316 Density section, first sentence (7.7 g/cm3)
  - benchmark: ultimate_tensile_strength
    label: Tensile strength, approximate
    value: 1100
    unit: MPa
    scope: material
    conditions:
      condition: approximate value as printed; heat treatment and test temperature not stated
      unit_in_source: N/mm2 (printed as N/mm 2)
    method: Tensile strength section, as printed (approx. 1100 N/mm2)
    status: ground
    note: The page does not say whether the figure is for the delivery condition or a hardened state, so it is kept as an approximate value.
    source: abrams-12316
    where: 1.2316 Tensile strength section
  - benchmark: thermal_conductivity
    label: Thermal conductivity at 23 C
    value: 23.5
    unit: W/(m*K)
    scope: material
    conditions:
      temperature: 23 C (as printed)
      heat_treatment: not stated
      unit_in_source: W/(m*K)
    method: Heat conductivity section, sentence and table, Value W/(m*K) at 23 C, as printed
    status: ground
    source: abrams-12316
    where: 1.2316 Heat conductivity section, sentence and table row 23.5
  - benchmark: cte
    label: Average coefficient of thermal expansion, 20 to 100 C
    value: 10.5
    unit: ppm/K
    scope: material
    conditions:
      temperature: 20 to 100 C (as printed)
      heat_treatment: not stated
      unit_in_source: 10-6 m/(m*K) (same number as ppm/K)
    method: Average thermal expansion coefficient table, as printed
    status: ground
    source: abrams-12316
    where: 1.2316 Thermal expansion coefficient table, row 10.5 at 20 to 100 C
  - benchmark: cte
    label: Average coefficient of thermal expansion, 20 to 200 C
    value: 10.8
    unit: ppm/K
    scope: material
    conditions:
      temperature: 20 to 200 C (as printed)
      heat_treatment: not stated
      unit_in_source: 10-6 m/(m*K) (same number as ppm/K)
    method: Average thermal expansion coefficient table, as printed
    status: ground
    source: abrams-12316
    where: 1.2316 Thermal expansion coefficient table, row 10.8 at 20 to 200 C
  - benchmark: cte
    label: Average coefficient of thermal expansion, 20 to 300 C
    value: 11.1
    unit: ppm/K
    scope: material
    conditions:
      temperature: 20 to 300 C (as printed)
      heat_treatment: not stated
      unit_in_source: 10-6 m/(m*K) (same number as ppm/K)
    method: Average thermal expansion coefficient table, as printed
    status: ground
    source: abrams-12316
    where: 1.2316 Thermal expansion coefficient table, row 11.1 at 20 to 300 C
  - benchmark: cte
    label: Average coefficient of thermal expansion, 20 to 350 C
    value: 11.3
    unit: ppm/K
    scope: material
    conditions:
      temperature: 20 to 350 C (as printed)
      heat_treatment: not stated
      unit_in_source: 10-6 m/(m*K) (same number as ppm/K)
    method: Average thermal expansion coefficient table, as printed
    status: ground
    source: abrams-12316
    where: 1.2316 Thermal expansion coefficient table, row 11.3 at 20 to 350 C
  - benchmark: cte
    label: Average coefficient of thermal expansion, 20 to 400 C
    value: 11.5
    unit: ppm/K
    scope: material
    conditions:
      temperature: 20 to 400 C (as printed)
      heat_treatment: not stated
      unit_in_source: 10-6 m/(m*K) (same number as ppm/K)
    method: Average thermal expansion coefficient table, as printed
    status: ground
    source: abrams-12316
    where: 1.2316 Thermal expansion coefficient table, row 11.5 at 20 to 400 C
  - benchmark: cte
    label: Average coefficient of thermal expansion, 20 to 450 C
    value: 11.6
    unit: ppm/K
    scope: material
    conditions:
      temperature: 20 to 450 C (as printed)
      heat_treatment: not stated
      unit_in_source: 10-6 m/(m*K) (same number as ppm/K)
    method: Average thermal expansion coefficient table, as printed
    status: ground
    source: abrams-12316
    where: 1.2316 Thermal expansion coefficient table, row 11.6 at 20 to 450 C
  - benchmark: cte
    label: Average coefficient of thermal expansion, 20 to 500 C
    value: 11.7
    unit: ppm/K
    scope: material
    conditions:
      temperature: 20 to 500 C (as printed)
      heat_treatment: not stated
      unit_in_source: 10-6 m/(m*K) (same number as ppm/K)
    method: Average thermal expansion coefficient table, as printed
    status: ground
    source: abrams-12316
    where: 1.2316 Thermal expansion coefficient table, row 11.7 at 20 to 500 C
  - benchmark: hardness_rockwell_c
    label: Working hardness, approximate, up to 48 HRC
    value: 30
    value_high: 48
    bound: range
    unit: HRC
    scope: material
    conditions:
      condition: approx. 30 HRC in the delivery condition, up to 48 HRC as printed (the page does not tie 48 HRC to a heat treatment)
      scale: HRC
    method: Standard values, Working hardness line, as printed; the Working hardness section repeats approx. 30 HRC to 48 HRC on delivery
    status: ground
    note: The two Abrams statements do not agree on whether 48 HRC is a delivery or hardened value; both are kept as printed.
    source: abrams-12316
    where: 1.2316 Standard values, Working hardness line; 1.2316 Working hardness section
  - benchmark: hardness_brinell
    label: Delivery hardness, maximum
    value: 325
    bound: upper
    unit: HB
    scope: material
    conditions:
      condition: delivery condition, as printed (max.)
      scale: HB
    method: 'Standard values, Delivery condition line, as printed: max. 325 HB'
    status: ground
    source: abrams-12316
    where: 1.2316 Standard values, Delivery condition line
  - benchmark: electrical_resistivity
    label: Specific electrical resistance at 20 C
    value: 0.6
    unit: Ohm*mm2/m
    scope: material
    conditions:
      temperature: 20 C (as printed)
      heat_treatment: not stated
      unit_in_source: (Ohm*mm2)/m as printed, not converted
    method: Specific electrical resistance table, Value row, as printed; the page notes that electrical conductivity is the reciprocal
    status: ground
    source: abrams-12316
    where: 1.2316 Specific electrical resistance table, row 0.6 at 20 C
  - benchmark: machinability_rating
    label: Machinability rating on a 1 (low) to 6 (high) scale
    value: 2
    unit: '-'
    scope: material
    conditions:
      scale: 1 (low) to 6 (high), as printed
      heat_treatment: not stated
    method: Machinability section, as printed (a rating, not a test value)
    status: ground
    note: Rating scale from the datasheet; no machining test is printed.
    source: abrams-12316
    where: 1.2316 Machinability section
  - benchmark: hardness_brinell
    label: Hardness in the delivery condition, quenched and tempered
    value: 280
    value_high: 325
    bound: range
    unit: HB
    scope: material
    conditions:
      condition: quenched and tempered, supplied condition (as printed)
      scale: HB
    method: 'Condition of delivery row, as printed: quenched and tempered, 280 - 325 HB'
    status: ground
    source: dorrenberg-1-2316
    where: Condition of delivery row
  - benchmark: ultimate_tensile_strength
    label: Tensile strength in the delivery condition, converted from hardness
    value: 950
    value_high: 1100
    bound: range
    unit: MPa
    scope: material
    conditions:
      condition: quenched and tempered, delivery condition
      unit_in_source: N/mm2 (printed as 950 - 1100 N/mm2)
    method: Converted from hardness by the datasheet using DIN EN ISO 18265 Table A.1, not a tensile test; kept as calculated
    status: calculated
    source: dorrenberg-1-2316
    where: Condition of delivery row, second line
  - benchmark: hardness_brinell
    label: Hardness after soft annealing, maximum
    value: 230
    bound: upper
    unit: HB
    scope: material
    conditions:
      condition: soft annealed at 760 to 800 C, cooled in the furnace
      scale: HB
    method: 'Heat treatment table, Soft annealing row, as printed: max. 230 HB'
    status: ground
    source: dorrenberg-1-2316
    where: Heat treatment table, Soft annealing row
corrosion:
  - environment: Atmospheric, humid and slightly aggressive environments, weak acids and alkalis
    headline: Abrams says a passive chromium layer gives corrosion resistance in these environments.
    effect: The 1.2316 page says a passive, self-healing chromium layer gives corrosion resistance in atmospheric and slightly aggressive environments, weak acids and alkalis, and humid environments. No exposure time, concentration or test is printed. The moderate rating is an assistant judgement from this wording, not a test result.
    rating: moderate
    conditions:
      basis: datasheet statement
      test: none printed
    source: abrams-12316
    where: General corrosion resistance section
  - environment: Chloride-containing environments (pitting and crevice attack)
    headline: Abrams says molybdenum improves resistance to pitting and crevice corrosion in chloride-containing environments.
    effect: No chloride level, temperature or test is printed. The rating is unknown because the page gives no number.
    rating: unknown
    conditions:
      basis: datasheet statement
      test: none printed
    source: abrams-12316
    where: General corrosion resistance section, last sentence
  - environment: PVC and plastics that release aggressive gases during moulding
    headline: Aços Formosa points these plastics to the prehardened stainless grade 1.2316.
    effect: Aços Formosa describes 1.2316 as prehardened stainless steel with good corrosion resistance for PVC and plastics that release aggressive gases. It gives no corrosion test. The moderate rating is an assistant judgement.
    rating: moderate
    conditions:
      basis: supplier product guidance
      test: none printed
    source: formosa-1-2316
    where: Main materials list, DIN 1.2316 row, and Best Choice list
  - environment: Corrosive plastics and polymers, and the food industry (application statement)
    headline: Dörrenberg describes the grade as stainless martensitic steel with increased chromium for improved corrosion resistance.
    effect: The datasheet lists tools and moulds for corrosive plastics and polymers and for the food industry. It prints no corrosion test. The moderate rating is an assistant judgement from this wording.
    rating: moderate
    conditions:
      basis: datasheet statement
      test: none printed
    source: dorrenberg-1-2316
    where: Steel properties and Applications rows
risks:
  hazards:
    - text: PubChem's aggregated GHS record for elemental chromium carries the signal word Danger. It says 50% (1202 of 2404 reports) do not meet GHS criteria. Notified codes include H317 (20.7% of reports, may cause an allergic skin reaction), H319 (19.1%, causes serious eye irritation) and H334 (20.3%, may cause allergy or asthma symptoms or breathing difficulties if inhaled). Other notifications add H320, H335, H341, H371, H400 and H410. The record describes the element, not the steel.
      ghs:
        - H317
        - H319
        - H334
        - H320
        - H335
        - H341
        - H371
        - H400
        - H410
      source: pubchem-cr
      where: Safety and Hazards, GHS Classification (CID 23976)
    - text: PubChem's aggregated GHS record for elemental molybdenum says 57.4% (874 of 1523 reports) do not meet GHS criteria. Notified codes include H225 (11.6% of reports), H228 (30%, flammable solid), H361 (29.5%, suspected of damaging fertility or the unborn child), H315 (skin irritation), H319 (eye irritation) and H335 (respiratory irritation). The record describes the element, not the steel.
      ghs:
        - H225
        - H228
        - H361
        - H315
        - H319
        - H335
      source: pubchem-mo
      where: Safety and Hazards, GHS Classification (CID 23932)
    - text: PubChem's aggregated GHS record for elemental manganese says 46.1% (1429 of 3101 reports) do not meet GHS criteria. Notified codes include H228 (flammable solid, 11.6% of reports), H319 (eye irritation, 14.8%), H360 (may damage fertility or the unborn child), H372 (damage to organs through prolonged or repeated exposure), H411 (toxic to aquatic life with long-lasting effects) and H412 (harmful to aquatic life with long-lasting effects). The record describes the element, not the steel.
      ghs:
        - H228
        - H319
        - H360
        - H372
        - H411
        - H412
      source: pubchem-mn
      where: Safety and Hazards, GHS Classification (CID 23930)
  failure_risks:
    - mode: Hardness loss on heating into the soft-annealing range
      trigger: Reheating to 760 to 800 C followed by furnace cooling, which is the soft-anneal cycle
      consequence: Soft annealing gives at most 230 HB, against 280 to 325 HB in the delivery condition, so an unplanned reheat into that range softens the block (Dörrenberg).
      severity: moderate
      source: dorrenberg-1-2316
      where: Heat treatment table, Soft annealing row
  side_effects: []
  handling:
    - text: Buy in the quenched and tempered condition at 280 to 325 HB (Dörrenberg), or at most 325 HB (Abrams).
      source: dorrenberg-1-2316
      where: Condition of delivery row
    - text: Soft anneal at 760 to 800 C in the furnace with furnace cooling, which gives at most 230 HB (Dörrenberg).
      source: dorrenberg-1-2316
      where: Heat treatment table, Soft annealing row
    - text: Stress relieve at 500 to 550 C in the quenched and tempered condition; in the soft-annealed condition 600 to 650 C is possible (Dörrenberg).
      source: dorrenberg-1-2316
      where: Heat treatment table, Stress relief annealing row
    - text: Harden from 1020 to 1050 C, cooling in oil, pressure gas (N2), air or a hot bath, then temper following the tempering diagram (Dörrenberg; the diagram has no values in its PDF text layer and was not read).
      source: dorrenberg-1-2316
      where: Heat treatment table, Hardening row, and Tempering diagram (no text-layer values)
  mitigations:
    - text: Chromium at 15.5 to 17.5 percent gives a passive, self-healing chromium layer (Abrams).
      source: abrams-12316
      where: General corrosion resistance section
    - text: Molybdenum improves resistance to pitting and crevice corrosion in chloride-containing environments (Abrams).
      source: abrams-12316
      where: General corrosion resistance section, last sentence
uses:
  - application: mechanisms
    device: Plastic moulds, extrusion tools and press moulds for corrosive plastics
    example: Dörrenberg lists tools and moulds for corrosive plastics and polymers, and for the food industry; Abrams lists plastic moulds, extrusion tools and press moulds.
    source: dorrenberg-1-2316
    where: Applications row
  - application: mechanisms
    device: Shafts, spindles, bolts, pistons, valves and pump parts
    example: Abrams lists shafts, spindles, bolts and pistons, and valves, pump rods and compressor parts, among 1.2316 applications.
    source: abrams-12316
    where: Applications list, 1.2316 page
  - application: mechanisms
    device: Injection and blow moulds for PVC and gas-releasing plastics
    example: Aços Formosa points PVC and plastics that release aggressive gases to 1.2316, and lists the 1.2316 ESR variant for corrosive applications with demanding finish requirements.
    source: formosa-1-2316
    where: Main materials list, DIN 1.2316 row; Best Choice list
supply:
  - subject: Chromium
    abundance: World resources are greater than 12 billion tons of shipping-grade chromite, heavily concentrated (95%) in Kazakhstan and southern Africa (USGS 2026). US net import reliance was 79 percent of apparent consumption in 2025e.
    producers:
      - country: South Africa
        share_percent: 45.1
        year: 2025
      - country: Turkey
        share_percent: 17.6
        year: 2025
      - country: Kazakhstan
        share_percent: 13.7
        year: 2025
      - country: India
        share_percent: 5.9
        year: 2025
      - country: Brazil
        share_percent: 3.9
        year: 2025
      - country: Zimbabwe
        share_percent: 3.9
        year: 2025
      - country: Finland
        share_percent: 3.7
        year: 2025
    recycling: Recycled chromium in reported stainless-steel scrap receipts accounted for 21 percent of US apparent consumption in 2025 (USGS 2026).
    substitutes:
      - Chromium has no substitute in stainless steel, the leading end use, or in superalloys (USGS 2026).
    source: usgs-cr-2026
    where: Salient Statistics; World Mine Production and Reserves (2025e; shares calculated by Space Mushroom from the printed tonnage over the 51,000 world total, gross weight); World Resources; Substitutes; Recycling
  - subject: Molybdenum
    abundance: Identified resources are about 5.4 million tons in the United States and about 20 million tons in the rest of the world, and world reserves were 17,000 thousand metric tons in 2025e (USGS 2026). Molybdenum is used principally as an alloying agent in steel, cast iron and superalloys. The United States was a net exporter, not an importer, in each year from 2021 to 2025e.
    producers:
      - country: China
        share_percent: 37.3
        year: 2025
      - country: Chile
        share_percent: 16.2
        year: 2025
      - country: United States
        share_percent: 15.4
        year: 2025
      - country: Peru
        share_percent: 15
        year: 2025
      - country: Mexico
        share_percent: 6.5
        year: 2025
    recycling: Molybdenum is recycled as a component of catalysts, ferrous scrap and superalloy scrap; recycled material may be as much as 30% of the apparent supply (USGS 2026).
    substitutes:
      - There is little substitution for molybdenum in steels and cast irons; potential substitutes include boron, chromium, niobium and vanadium in alloy steels, and tungsten in tool steels (USGS 2026).
    source: usgs-mo-2026
    where: Salient Statistics (net exporter, footnote E); Events, Trends and Issues (China export controls on molybdenum powders, February 2025); World Mine Production and Reserves (2025e; shares calculated by Space Mushroom from the printed tonnage over the 260,000 world total, tons of molybdenum content); World Resources; Substitutes; Recycling
media: []
documents:
  - title: 'Dörrenberg Edelstahl: 1.2316 (X38CrMo16) material datasheet, revision 02/24'
    type: datasheet
    url: https://doerrenberg.de/fileadmin/special_steel/files/pdf_en_products_neues_Design/1.2316_en.pdf
    year: 2024
  - title: 'Abrams Industries: PREMIUM 1.2316 steel, standard values and at-a-glance page'
    type: datasheet
    url: https://eu.abrams-industries.com/steel/premium-12316
  - title: 'Aços Formosa: Plastic mold steels (P-20 family and stainless 1.2316)'
    type: datasheet
    url: https://acosformosa.com.br/en/products/plastic-mold-steels/
    year: 2026
  - title: 'USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries, February 2026: Chromium'
    type: report
    url: https://pubs.usgs.gov/periodicals/mcs2026/mcs2026-chromium.pdf
    year: 2026
  - title: 'USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries, February 2026: Molybdenum'
    type: report
    url: https://pubs.usgs.gov/periodicals/mcs2026/mcs2026-molybdenum.pdf
    year: 2026
  - title: 'PubChem: Chromium (CID 23976), GHS classification'
    type: database
    url: https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/rest/pug_view/data/compound/23976/JSON/?heading=GHS+Classification
  - title: 'PubChem: Molybdenum (CID 23932), GHS classification'
    type: database
    url: https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/rest/pug_view/data/compound/23932/JSON/?heading=GHS+Classification
  - title: 'PubChem: Manganese (CID 23930), GHS classification'
    type: database
    url: https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/rest/pug_view/data/compound/23930/JSON/?heading=GHS+Classification
gaps:
  - No safety data sheet for the 1.2316 steel was read in this run. The hazard entries are PubChem records for the pure elements chromium, molybdenum and manganese, which do not describe the steel.
  - The request name X36CrMo17 is not printed by any page fetched in this run. The printed EN name is X38CrMo16 (Dörrenberg header row; Abrams standard values), so X36CrMo17 is not listed in identity.designations.
  - No AISI, UNS, ASTM or JIS code is printed for this grade on the pages read. Abrams prints 'AISI / SAE 1.2316' in its product header; that is the EN number in an AISI field, so it is not used as an AISI code.
  - Dörrenberg prints its typical analysis, its thermal conductivity table and its thermal expansion table with decimal commas. The source check cannot match decimal commas, so those figures are not recorded as values. Their conductivity and expansion figures do not agree with the Abrams figures, and the Abrams figures are the ones recorded.
  - 'Specific heat: Abrams prints 0.46 J/kg*K. That unit cannot be right for steel, so the figure is left out rather than converted.'
  - Elastic modulus, Poisson ratio, yield strength, elongation and impact values are not printed in the text of the pages read for 1.2316.
  - 'Hardness: Abrams gives approx. 30 HRC in the delivery condition up to 48 HRC, and a second Abrams paragraph says 30 to 48 HRC on delivery. The 48 HRC end does not match between the two, so both are kept as printed.'
  - 'Tempering: the Dörrenberg tempering diagram, CCT diagram and thermal cycle diagram have no values in the PDF text layer. No tempering-hardness values were read, so no tempering temperature for a target hardness is recorded.'
  - 'Corrosion: no salt-spray, immersion, humidity or acid test for 1.2316 is printed in the pages read. Corrosion entries are datasheet and supplier statements; their ratings are assistant judgements from the wording.'
  - 'Polishability is described (Dörrenberg: good polishability; Aços Formosa: the 1.2316 ESR variant for greater cleanliness and polishability) but not measured. No surface roughness value was read. The ESR variant is not used as a value for this grade.'
  - Aços Formosa prints 30 to 34 HRC for the P-20 family, not for 1.2316. That figure is not used here.
  - 'Composition: Abrams prints the limits without a unit line; its text gives the chromium limit in percent. Lower limits of 0.0 for Si, Mn, P, S and Ni are kept as printed.'
  - Supply shares are calculated by Space Mushroom from the printed USGS 2025e tonnage over the printed world totals; they are not printed percentages. Chromium mine production is in gross weight per the USGS footnote. Molybdenum production is in tons of molybdenum content.
  - 'Critical-mineral status: the USGS 2025 List of Critical Minerals page returned HTTP 403 to curl and was not read. The European Commission page read in this run does not name chromium, molybdenum or manganese, so no EU list status is recorded.'
  - 'Uses: no space, vacuum, radiation or flight use of 1.2316 was found in the pages read. The listed uses are terrestrial moulds, tools and machine parts.'
  - 'Failure risks: only the soft-anneal softening is printed for this grade. No welding, thick-section, fatigue or creep data were read for 1.2316.'
  - No licensed photograph or micrograph of 1.2316 was fetched, so media is empty.
  - 'Web search was refused in this run because the turn''s search budget was already used, so the 1.2316 sources were found by direct URL. Tried and not found: Oberste-Beulmann 1.2316 PDF (HTTP 404), Industeel DS Mold 2316 (HTTP 404), SIJ SIMOLD 2316 PDF (HTTP 404).'
  - Trade name R65 is the brand code printed in the Dörrenberg header row beside the grade; its meaning beyond that brand column is not stated.
sources:
  dorrenberg-1-2316:
    title: 'Dörrenberg Edelstahl: 1.2316 (X38CrMo16) material datasheet'
    id: 1.2316 X38CrMo16
    url: https://doerrenberg.de/fileadmin/special_steel/files/pdf_en_products_neues_Design/1.2316_en.pdf
    year: 2024
    kind: datasheet
    license: supplier datasheet, cited not reproduced
  abrams-12316:
    title: 'Abrams Industries: PREMIUM 1.2316 steel, standard values (tables derived from stahlwissen.de)'
    id: PREMIUM 1.2316
    url: https://eu.abrams-industries.com/steel/premium-12316
    kind: web
    license: supplier web page, cited not reproduced
  formosa-1-2316:
    title: 'Aços Formosa: Plastic mold steels (P-20 family and stainless 1.2316)'
    id: DIN 1.2316
    url: https://acosformosa.com.br/en/products/plastic-mold-steels/
    year: 2026
    kind: web
    license: supplier web page, cited not reproduced
  usgs-cr-2026:
    title: 'USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries, February 2026: Chromium'
    id: mcs2026-chromium
    url: https://pubs.usgs.gov/periodicals/mcs2026/mcs2026-chromium.pdf
    year: 2026
    kind: report
    license: public domain (USGS)
  usgs-mo-2026:
    title: 'USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries, February 2026: Molybdenum'
    id: mcs2026-molybdenum
    url: https://pubs.usgs.gov/periodicals/mcs2026/mcs2026-molybdenum.pdf
    year: 2026
    kind: report
    license: public domain (USGS)
  pubchem-cr:
    title: 'PubChem: Chromium (CID 23976), Safety and Hazards, GHS Classification'
    id: CID 23976
    url: https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/rest/pug_view/data/compound/23976/JSON/?heading=GHS+Classification
    kind: database
    license: PubChem terms (public)
  pubchem-mo:
    title: 'PubChem: Molybdenum (CID 23932), Safety and Hazards, GHS Classification'
    id: CID 23932
    url: https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/rest/pug_view/data/compound/23932/JSON/?heading=GHS+Classification
    kind: database
    license: PubChem terms (public)
  pubchem-mn:
    title: 'PubChem: Manganese (CID 23930), Safety and Hazards, GHS Classification'
    id: CID 23930
    url: https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/rest/pug_view/data/compound/23930/JSON/?heading=GHS+Classification
    kind: database
    license: PubChem terms (public)
license: CC-BY-4.0
updated: '2026-10-24'
review:
  status: draft
  method: assistant
  checked_values: 17
  unreachable: 1
  caveats: 4
  note: 'Read by an AI assistant on 2026-10-24 from pages fetched in this run. Caveats: the approximate tensile value, the 30 to 48 HRC range and the machinability rating are printed without a test condition; the 950 to 1100 MPa tensile range is calculated from hardness; Dörrenberg''s decimal-comma figures and the Abrams specific heat were left out. No web search was available in this run. The USGS 2025 critical-list page returned HTTP 403.'
story:
  recipe:
    line: 1.2316 is an iron-based, stainless martensitic chromium-molybdenum steel. Abrams gives composition limits in wt% (its table has no unit line; the chromium limit is stated in percent in its text), and Dörrenberg prints a typical analysis inside those limits. It is usually supplied quenched and tempered at 280 to 325 HB and is hardened from 1020 to 1050 C (Dörrenberg).
    parts:
      - name: Iron
        symbol: Fe
        share_note: balance (the rest)
        role: The matrix of the steel. Heat treatment changes its structure between martensite and tempered martensite.
      - name: Carbon
        symbol: C
        share_percent: 0.33
        share_high: 0.45
        role: Sets how hard the steel can become when quenched.
      - name: Silicon
        symbol: Si
        share_percent: 0
        share_high: 1
        role: Upper limit 1.0 percent as printed by Abrams; no role is stated by the source.
      - name: Manganese
        symbol: Mn
        share_percent: 0
        share_high: 1.5
        role: Upper limit 1.5 percent as printed by Abrams; no role is stated by the source.
      - name: Phosphorus
        symbol: P
        share_percent: 0
        share_high: 0.03
        role: Impurity, held to a maximum of 0.03 percent as printed by Abrams.
      - name: Sulfur
        symbol: S
        share_percent: 0
        share_high: 0.03
        role: Impurity, held to a maximum of 0.03 percent as printed by Abrams.
      - name: Chromium
        symbol: Cr
        share_percent: 15.5
        share_high: 17.5
        role: Gives the stainless behaviour; Abrams says 15.5 to 17.5 percent chromium makes it stainless in the classic sense.
      - name: Molybdenum
        symbol: Mo
        share_percent: 0.8
        share_high: 1.3
        role: Improves resistance to pitting and crevice corrosion in chloride-containing environments and adds to hardenability (Abrams).
      - name: Nickel
        symbol: Ni
        share_percent: 0
        share_high: 1
        role: Upper limit 1.0 percent as printed by Abrams; no role is stated by the source.
  risk_groups:
    - title: For people
      level: 1
      verdict: Element records only; no SDS for the steel was read
      lead: The only hazard records are PubChem entries for the pure elements chromium, molybdenum and manganese. No safety data sheet for the 1.2316 bar was read in this run.
      points:
        - label: Chromium
          line: PubChem gives the signal word Danger for elemental chromium. About half of its reports say it does not meet GHS criteria, and H317 (allergic skin reaction) appears for 20.7 percent of reports.
        - label: Molybdenum
          line: PubChem lists H315 (skin irritation), H319 (eye irritation) and H335 (respiratory irritation) for elemental molybdenum, and says 57.4 percent of its reports do not meet GHS criteria.
        - label: Manganese
          line: PubChem lists H360 (may damage fertility or the unborn child) and H372 (organ damage on repeated exposure) for elemental manganese.
    - title: In service
      level: 2
      verdict: Corrosion is qualitative; chloride and reheat limits matter
      lead: Abrams and Dörrenberg describe corrosion resistance without test data. Their stated range is atmospheric, humid and weak acid or alkali service, and Abrams says molybdenum helps against pitting in chlorides.
      points:
        - label: Plastics
          line: Aços Formosa points PVC and plastics that release aggressive gases to 1.2316, not to the P-20 family.
        - label: Reheating
          line: Heating into 760 to 800 C and furnace cooling gives at most 230 HB, so an unplanned reheat softens the block (Dörrenberg).
        - label: Chlorides
          line: Abrams gives no chloride level or temperature for its pitting statement.
    - title: Heat treatment
      level: 1
      verdict: Keep reheats inside the printed ranges
      lead: The temper sets the hardness, and the datasheet gives separate soft-anneal, stress-relief and hardening ranges.
      points:
        - label: Hardening
          line: Harden from 1020 to 1050 C, with oil, pressure gas, air or a hot bath as the cooling medium (Dörrenberg).
        - label: Stress relief
          line: 500 to 550 C for the quenched and tempered condition; 600 to 650 C is possible in the soft-annealed condition (Dörrenberg).
        - label: Tempering
          line: The Dörrenberg tempering diagram has no values in its text layer and was not read, so no hardness-by-temperature values are recorded.
  why: 1.2316 (EN 1.2316, printed as X38CrMo16) is a stainless, martensitic plastic mould steel. Dörrenberg says it is usually supplied quenched and tempered at 280 to 325 HB, and Aços Formosa points PVC and plastics that release aggressive gases to this grade rather than to the P-20 family. Abrams explains the chromium content (15.5 to 17.5 percent) as the source of its corrosion resistance, and says the molybdenum helps against pitting in chloride-containing environments.
  uses:
    - where: Plastic moulds and tools for corrosive plastics
      line: Dörrenberg lists tools and moulds for corrosive plastics and polymers, and for the food industry. Aços Formosa points PVC and gas-releasing plastics to 1.2316.
    - where: Extrusion and press tools
      line: Abrams lists plastic moulds, extrusion tools, press moulds and fitting tools among 1.2316 applications.
    - where: Shafts, valves and pump parts
      line: Abrams also lists shafts, spindles, bolts, pistons, valves, pump rods and compressor parts.
  can_do:
    - label: Hardness
      line: Supplied quenched and tempered at 280 to 325 HB (Dörrenberg), or at most 325 HB (Abrams). Soft annealing gives at most 230 HB (Dörrenberg).
    - label: Strength
      line: Tensile strength is 950 to 1100 MPa in the delivery condition, converted from hardness per DIN EN ISO 18265 (Dörrenberg); Abrams gives approx. 1100 MPa.
    - label: Density
      line: Typical density is 7.7 g/cm3 at room temperature (Abrams).
    - label: Thermal
      line: Thermal conductivity is 23.5 W/(m*K) at 23 C, and mean thermal expansion runs from 10.5 ppm/K (20 to 100 C) to 11.7 ppm/K (20 to 500 C) (Abrams).
    - label: Corrosion
      line: The chromium layer resists weak acids and alkalis, humid and slightly aggressive air, and molybdenum helps against pitting in chlorides (Abrams). No test is printed.
    - label: Polish
      line: Good polishability (Dörrenberg). Aços Formosa lists the 1.2316 ESR variant for greater cleanliness and polishability, which is a process variant and is not used as a value here.
    - label: Machining
      line: Machinability is rated 2 on a 1 to 6 scale (Abrams).
  compare: 1.2316 sits with the Aços Formosa plastic-mould range. Its P-20 family (standard, high-machinability, nickel-alloyed and ESR variants) is the general mould choice, while 1.2316 is the stainless choice for PVC and plastics that release aggressive gases. Its printed numbers are a density of 7.7 g/cm3, a delivery hardness of 280 to 325 HB and a tensile strength of 950 to 1100 MPa (converted from hardness). The compare rows give its strength, hardness and density.
  compare_rows:
    - label: Strength
      benchmark: ultimate_tensile_strength
    - label: Hardness
      benchmark: hardness_brinell
    - label: Density
      benchmark: density
  handling:
    - Buy in the quenched and tempered condition at 280 to 325 HB (Dörrenberg), or at most 325 HB (Abrams).
    - Soft anneal at 760 to 800 C with furnace cooling to reach at most 230 HB (Dörrenberg).
    - Stress relieve at 500 to 550 C in the quenched and tempered condition, or at 600 to 650 C in the soft-annealed condition (Dörrenberg).
    - Harden from 1020 to 1050 C, then temper following the Dörrenberg tempering diagram, which has no values in its text layer and was not read.
    - Keep reheats out of the 760 to 800 C soft-anneal range unless a soft anneal is intended.
  good_for:
    - PVC and plastics that release aggressive gases, which Aços Formosa and Abrams both point to 1.2316.
    - 'Moulds and tools that need a polished stainless face (Dörrenberg: good polishability; Aços Formosa: ESR variant for polishing).'
    - Food-industry tools, which Dörrenberg lists as an application.
  watch_out:
    - 'Corrosion is qualitative: no test is printed, and the stated range is atmospheric, humid, weak acid and alkali service (Abrams).'
    - Reheating into 760 to 800 C softens the block to at most 230 HB (Dörrenberg).
    - Machinability is rated 2 on a 1 to 6 scale (Abrams), so plan machining time.
    - The name X36CrMo17 that buyers search for is not printed by any page read; check the printed EN name X38CrMo16 (see gaps).
  verdict: 1.2316 is a stainless, pre-hardened plastic mould steel that Aços Formosa and Abrams point to for PVC and other corrosive plastics. It is supplied at 280 to 325 HB, polishes well, and has a typical density of 7.7 g/cm3 and a thermal conductivity of 23.5 W/(m*K) at 23 C. Its corrosion data are qualitative, and no SDS, modulus or yield strength was read for the steel.
