{
  "spore": "profile",
  "id": "solder-sn96-5ag3-5",
  "spore_version": "0.2",
  "family": "tin-silver solder",
  "name": "Sn96.5Ag3.5 solder (tin-silver eutectic)",
  "abbreviation": "Sn-Ag",
  "role": "soft-solder alloy",
  "category": "metals",
  "type": "heavy-metals",
  "summary": "Sn96.5Ag3.5 is a lead-free tin-silver solder. Its melting point is 221 °C, which the AIM and Kester datasheets both print, and NIST calls the Sn-3.5Ag composition a eutectic solder. The two datasheets disagree on tensile strength (8.36 ksi from AIM, 8900 psi from Kester) and on density (7.36 g/cm3 from Kester, 7.3 g/cm3 from the MBO safety data sheet), so both values are recorded side by side.\n",
  "best_for": "Lead-free soft soldering of electronic joints where one melting point at 221 °C is wanted",
  "weakest_at": "Low tensile and shear strength for structural loads, and no corrosion or space-environment test for this grade was found in the sources read",
  "identity": {
    "formula": "Sn96.5Ag3.5 (tin alloyed with silver, eutectic composition; tin and silver as printed in the Kester table)",
    "designations": [
      {
        "system": "Trade name",
        "code": "Sn96Ag",
        "note": "MBO product name for the 96.5 Sn / 3.5 Ag alloy in its Lead Free alloys range",
        "source": "mbo-sds",
        "where": "Section 1, Available alloys list; Section 3, alloy composition table, Sn96Ag row"
      }
    ],
    "source": "kester-soft-solder",
    "where": "Technical data on soft solders table, Sn96.5Ag3.5 row (composition as printed)"
  },
  "tags": {
    "environments": [],
    "stresses": [],
    "applications": [
      "electronics-and-chips"
    ]
  },
  "properties": [
    {
      "benchmark": "melting_point",
      "label": "Melting point (AIM common alloys table)",
      "value": 221,
      "bound": "exact",
      "unit": "°C",
      "scope": "material",
      "conditions": {
        "alloy": "Sn96.5/Ag3.5 as printed in the AIM common solder alloys table",
        "form": "solder alloy"
      },
      "method": "Melting Point (ºC) column of the AIM alloy table; the table gives a single value for this alloy",
      "status": "ground",
      "source": "aim-alloy-info",
      "where": "Common solder alloys table, Sn96.5 row (Ag 3.5 column), Melting Point (ºC) column",
      "source_detail": {
        "title": "AIM: Alloy Information, common and specialty solder alloys",
        "id": "AIM, alloy_information.pdf (legacy file)",
        "url": "https://aimsolder.com/wp-content/uploads/legacy-files/alloy_information.pdf",
        "kind": "datasheet",
        "license": "supplier document, linked not reproduced"
      }
    },
    {
      "benchmark": "melting_point",
      "label": "Solidus (Kester soft solder table)",
      "value": 221,
      "bound": "exact",
      "unit": "°C",
      "scope": "material",
      "conditions": {
        "alloy": "Sn96.5Ag3.5 as printed in the Kester table",
        "liquidus_as_printed": "e (the liquidus column prints e for this row; read here as eutectic, solidus equal to liquidus)"
      },
      "method": "Solidus °C column of the Kester technical data table",
      "status": "ground",
      "source": "kester-soft-solder",
      "where": "Technical data on soft solders table, Sn96.5Ag3.5 row, Solidus °C column",
      "source_detail": {
        "title": "Kester: Technical Data on Soft Solders (Alloy Properties)",
        "id": "Kester, Knowledge Base, Alloy Properties.pdf",
        "url": "https://www.kester.com/Portals/0/Documents/Knowledge%20Base/Alloy%20Properties.pdf",
        "kind": "datasheet",
        "license": "supplier document, linked not reproduced"
      }
    },
    {
      "benchmark": "melting_point",
      "label": "Melting point (NIST review of Sn-Ag solders)",
      "value": 221,
      "bound": "exact",
      "unit": "°C",
      "scope": "material",
      "conditions": {
        "alloy": "Sn-3.5Ag eutectic solder as named in the NIST review"
      },
      "method": "Quoted in the NIST overview and conclusions as a melting point of 221°C",
      "status": "ground",
      "source": "nist-sn-ag-overview",
      "where": "Overview and Conclusions section",
      "source_detail": {
        "title": "NIST: Review and Analysis of Lead-Free Solder Material Properties, Sn-Ag overview",
        "url": "https://www.msed.nist.gov/solder/clech/Sn-Ag_Overview.htm",
        "kind": "report",
        "license": "public domain (NIST)"
      }
    },
    {
      "benchmark": "density",
      "label": "Specific gravity (Kester table)",
      "value": 7.36,
      "bound": "exact",
      "unit": "g/cm3",
      "scope": "material",
      "conditions": {
        "alloy": "Sn96.5Ag3.5 as printed in the Kester table",
        "basis": "Specific Gravity g/cm3 column"
      },
      "method": "Specific Gravity column of the Kester technical data table",
      "status": "ground",
      "source": "kester-soft-solder",
      "where": "Technical data on soft solders table, Sn96.5Ag3.5 row, Specific Gravity column",
      "source_detail": {
        "title": "Kester: Technical Data on Soft Solders (Alloy Properties)",
        "id": "Kester, Knowledge Base, Alloy Properties.pdf",
        "url": "https://www.kester.com/Portals/0/Documents/Knowledge%20Base/Alloy%20Properties.pdf",
        "kind": "datasheet",
        "license": "supplier document, linked not reproduced"
      }
    },
    {
      "benchmark": "density",
      "label": "Density (MBO safety data sheet, physical characteristics table)",
      "value": 7.3,
      "bound": "exact",
      "unit": "g/cm3",
      "scope": "material",
      "conditions": {
        "alloy": "Sn96Ag, the MBO name for the 96.5 Sn / 3.5 Ag alloy",
        "basis": "Density ( g/cm3 ) column as printed to one decimal"
      },
      "method": "Density column of the physical characteristics table in the MBO safety data sheet",
      "status": "ground",
      "note": "The safety data sheet prints one decimal place; the Kester datasheet gives 7.36 g/cm3 for the same composition.",
      "source": "mbo-sds",
      "where": "Page 5 of 6, characteristics table (solidus, liquidus, density), Sn96Ag row",
      "source_detail": {
        "title": "MBO Lead Free alloys: Material and Safety Data Sheet (supplied by RS Components)",
        "id": "Document 1194-F, update number 02, updated 11/03/11",
        "url": "https://docs.rs-online.com/1615/0900766b8128cb0a.pdf",
        "year": 2011,
        "kind": "datasheet",
        "license": "supplier document, linked not reproduced"
      }
    },
    {
      "benchmark": "density",
      "label": "Density (NIST, Boulder database)",
      "value": 7.5,
      "bound": "exact",
      "unit": "g/cm3",
      "scope": "material",
      "conditions": {
        "alloy": "bulk Sn-3.5Ag solder as named in the NIST page",
        "basis": "value cited to the NIST Boulder database"
      },
      "method": "Printed in the Other Physical Properties section as ρ(g/cm3) = 7.5 (NIST Boulder database)",
      "status": "ground",
      "note": "The NIST page says a higher value quoted by two earlier sources is an error and does not use it.",
      "source": "nist-sn-ag-other",
      "where": "Other Physical Properties section",
      "source_detail": {
        "title": "NIST: Other Properties of Sn-3.5Ag (density, coefficient of thermal expansion)",
        "url": "https://www.metallurgy.nist.gov/solder/clech/Sn-Ag_Other.htm",
        "kind": "report",
        "license": "public domain (NIST)"
      }
    },
    {
      "benchmark": "density",
      "label": "Density (NIST rule-of-mixtures value)",
      "value": 7.42,
      "bound": "exact",
      "unit": "g/cm3",
      "scope": "material",
      "conditions": {
        "alloy": "Sn-3.5Ag as named in the NIST page",
        "basis": "rule-of-mixtures calculation printed by NIST"
      },
      "method": "NIST's rule-of-mixtures figure, printed as Sn-3.5Ag = 7.42 g/cm3",
      "status": "calculated",
      "source": "nist-sn-ag-other",
      "where": "Other Physical Properties section",
      "source_detail": {
        "title": "NIST: Other Properties of Sn-3.5Ag (density, coefficient of thermal expansion)",
        "url": "https://www.metallurgy.nist.gov/solder/clech/Sn-Ag_Other.htm",
        "kind": "report",
        "license": "public domain (NIST)"
      }
    },
    {
      "benchmark": "ultimate_tensile_strength",
      "label": "Tensile strength (AIM technical information table)",
      "value": 8.36,
      "bound": "exact",
      "unit": "ksi",
      "scope": "material",
      "conditions": {
        "alloy": "Sn96.5/Ag3.5 as printed in the AIM technical information table",
        "test": "test temperature and strain rate not stated in the table"
      },
      "method": "TENSILE STRENGTH (ksi) column of the AIM technical information table",
      "status": "ground",
      "note": "The Kester table gives 8900 psi for the same composition; the two values are not reconciled here.",
      "source": "aim-alloy-info",
      "where": "Technical information on common and specialty alloys table, Sn96.5/Ag3.5 row, TENSILE STRENGTH (ksi) column",
      "source_detail": {
        "title": "AIM: Alloy Information, common and specialty solder alloys",
        "id": "AIM, alloy_information.pdf (legacy file)",
        "url": "https://aimsolder.com/wp-content/uploads/legacy-files/alloy_information.pdf",
        "kind": "datasheet",
        "license": "supplier document, linked not reproduced"
      }
    },
    {
      "benchmark": "ultimate_tensile_strength",
      "label": "Tensile strength (Kester table)",
      "value": 8900,
      "bound": "exact",
      "unit": "psi",
      "scope": "material",
      "conditions": {
        "alloy": "Sn96.5Ag3.5 as printed in the Kester table",
        "test": "test temperature and strain rate not stated in the table"
      },
      "method": "Tensile Strength PSI column of the Kester technical data table",
      "status": "ground",
      "note": "The AIM table gives 8.36 ksi for the same composition; the two values are recorded side by side.",
      "source": "kester-soft-solder",
      "where": "Technical data on soft solders table, Sn96.5Ag3.5 row, Tensile Strength PSI column",
      "source_detail": {
        "title": "Kester: Technical Data on Soft Solders (Alloy Properties)",
        "id": "Kester, Knowledge Base, Alloy Properties.pdf",
        "url": "https://www.kester.com/Portals/0/Documents/Knowledge%20Base/Alloy%20Properties.pdf",
        "kind": "datasheet",
        "license": "supplier document, linked not reproduced"
      }
    },
    {
      "benchmark": "yield_strength",
      "label": "0.2% yield strength (AIM technical information table)",
      "value": 7.08,
      "bound": "exact",
      "unit": "ksi",
      "scope": "material",
      "conditions": {
        "alloy": "Sn96.5/Ag3.5 as printed in the AIM table",
        "offset": "0.2% yield",
        "test": "test temperature not stated in the table"
      },
      "method": "0.2% YIELD STRENGTH (ksi) column of the AIM technical information table",
      "status": "ground",
      "source": "aim-alloy-info",
      "where": "Technical information on common and specialty alloys table, Sn96.5/Ag3.5 row, 0.2% YIELD STRENGTH (ksi) column",
      "source_detail": {
        "title": "AIM: Alloy Information, common and specialty solder alloys",
        "id": "AIM, alloy_information.pdf (legacy file)",
        "url": "https://aimsolder.com/wp-content/uploads/legacy-files/alloy_information.pdf",
        "kind": "datasheet",
        "license": "supplier document, linked not reproduced"
      }
    },
    {
      "benchmark": "shear_strength",
      "label": "Shear strength (Kester table)",
      "value": 4600,
      "bound": "exact",
      "unit": "psi",
      "scope": "material",
      "conditions": {
        "alloy": "Sn96.5Ag3.5 as printed in the Kester table",
        "test": "shear test method not stated in the table"
      },
      "method": "Shear Strength PSI column of the Kester technical data table",
      "status": "ground",
      "note": "shear_strength is not in property-canon.yaml; used as printed. See gaps.",
      "source": "kester-soft-solder",
      "where": "Technical data on soft solders table, Sn96.5Ag3.5 row, Shear Strength PSI column",
      "source_detail": {
        "title": "Kester: Technical Data on Soft Solders (Alloy Properties)",
        "id": "Kester, Knowledge Base, Alloy Properties.pdf",
        "url": "https://www.kester.com/Portals/0/Documents/Knowledge%20Base/Alloy%20Properties.pdf",
        "kind": "datasheet",
        "license": "supplier document, linked not reproduced"
      }
    },
    {
      "benchmark": "electrical_conductivity",
      "label": "Electrical conductivity (Kester table)",
      "value": 14,
      "bound": "exact",
      "unit": "Cu%",
      "scope": "material",
      "conditions": {
        "alloy": "Sn96.5Ag3.5 as printed in the Kester table",
        "basis": "column headed Electrical Conductivity Cu% as printed; the table does not define the scale further"
      },
      "method": "Electrical Conductivity Cu% column of the Kester technical data table",
      "status": "ground",
      "note": "electrical_conductivity is not in property-canon.yaml; used as printed. See gaps.",
      "source": "kester-soft-solder",
      "where": "Technical data on soft solders table, Sn96.5Ag3.5 row, Electrical Conductivity Cu% column",
      "source_detail": {
        "title": "Kester: Technical Data on Soft Solders (Alloy Properties)",
        "id": "Kester, Knowledge Base, Alloy Properties.pdf",
        "url": "https://www.kester.com/Portals/0/Documents/Knowledge%20Base/Alloy%20Properties.pdf",
        "kind": "datasheet",
        "license": "supplier document, linked not reproduced"
      }
    },
    {
      "benchmark": "cte",
      "label": "Coefficient of thermal expansion (NIST overall average)",
      "value": 21.5,
      "bound": "exact",
      "unit": "ppm/°C",
      "scope": "material",
      "conditions": {
        "alloy": "Sn3.5Ag as named in the NIST page",
        "basis": "overall average value; individual values are in a table printed as an image"
      },
      "method": "Printed in the Coefficients of Thermal Expansion (CTE) section as about 21.5 ppm/°C",
      "status": "ground",
      "source": "nist-sn-ag-other",
      "where": "Coefficients of Thermal Expansion (CTE) section",
      "source_detail": {
        "title": "NIST: Other Properties of Sn-3.5Ag (density, coefficient of thermal expansion)",
        "url": "https://www.metallurgy.nist.gov/solder/clech/Sn-Ag_Other.htm",
        "kind": "report",
        "license": "public domain (NIST)"
      }
    },
    {
      "benchmark": "creep_activation_energy",
      "label": "Creep activation energy (fitted model, bulk Sn-3.5Ag)",
      "value": 41.57,
      "bound": "exact",
      "unit": "kJ/mole",
      "scope": "material",
      "conditions": {
        "alloy": "bulk Sn-3.5Ag solder",
        "data": "tensile creep data at tensile stress 2 to 64 MPa, strain rate range printed on the page, test temperature -10°C to 180°C",
        "model": "hyperbolic sine creep model"
      },
      "method": "Q printed in the hyperbolic sine model fit (Equations 26 to 28); fitted by NIST, not measured directly",
      "status": "calculated",
      "note": "creep_activation_energy is not in property-canon.yaml; used as printed. See gaps.",
      "source": "nist-sn-ag-bulk",
      "where": "Data Analysis, hyperbolic sine model (Figure 9, Equations 26 to 28)",
      "source_detail": {
        "title": "NIST: Sn-Ag bulk solder properties, tensile creep and hyperbolic sine model",
        "url": "https://www.msed.nist.gov/solder/clech/Sn-Ag_Bulk.htm",
        "kind": "report",
        "license": "public domain (NIST)"
      }
    }
  ],
  "corrosion": [],
  "risks": {
    "hazards": [
      {
        "text": "The MBO safety data sheet says the product is not classified as dangerous and has no GHS label elements, but notes it could cause burns during soldering and may produce or release fumes.",
        "ghs": [],
        "source": "mbo-sds",
        "where": "Section 2, Hazards identification; Section 15, Regulatory information"
      }
    ],
    "failure_risks": [
      {
        "mode": "Low strength under structural load",
        "trigger": "Structural or mechanical load carried by a solder joint",
        "consequence": "Kester lists 8900 psi tensile strength and 4600 psi shear strength; AIM lists 8.36 ksi tensile and 7.08 ksi 0.2% yield strength for the same composition.",
        "severity": "moderate",
        "source": "kester-soft-solder",
        "where": "Technical data on soft solders table, Tensile and Shear columns"
      },
      {
        "mode": "Creep under sustained load at elevated temperature",
        "trigger": "Sustained tensile stress in the 2 to 64 MPa range tested by NIST, at temperatures from -10°C to 180°C",
        "consequence": "NIST fits its bulk Sn-3.5Ag creep data with an activation energy of 41.57 kJ/mole; the page gives no creep life or time to failure.",
        "severity": "moderate",
        "source": "nist-sn-ag-bulk",
        "where": "Data Analysis, Figure 8 and Figure 9"
      }
    ],
    "side_effects": [],
    "handling": [
      {
        "text": "The MBO data sheet recommends safety glasses, protective gloves, handwashing after use, good ventilation and a local fume extraction system during soldering.",
        "source": "mbo-sds",
        "where": "Section 2, Prevention"
      }
    ],
    "mitigations": []
  },
  "uses": [
    {
      "application": "electronics-and-chips",
      "device": "Soft-soldered electronic assemblies",
      "example": "NIST's review calls the Sn-3.5Ag composition an eutectic solder and refers to solder joints of electronic assemblies in use.",
      "source": "nist-sn-ag-overview",
      "where": "Overview and Conclusions section"
    },
    {
      "application": "electronics-and-chips",
      "device": "Lead-free solder alloy sold by MBO (product name Sn96Ag)",
      "example": "The MBO safety data sheet gives the application of the alloy as soft soldering.",
      "source": "mbo-sds",
      "where": "Section 1, Application of the substance/preparation"
    }
  ],
  "supply": [
    {
      "subject": "Tin",
      "producers": [
        {
          "country": "China",
          "share_percent": 24.5,
          "year": 2025
        },
        {
          "country": "Indonesia",
          "share_percent": 21,
          "year": 2025
        },
        {
          "country": "Peru",
          "share_percent": 11.4,
          "year": 2025
        },
        {
          "country": "Brazil",
          "share_percent": 9.7,
          "year": 2025
        }
      ],
      "critical_lists": [],
      "recycling": "USGS: about 17,000 tons of tin from old and new scrap was estimated to have been recycled in 2025, accounting for 22% of apparent consumption.",
      "substitutes": [
        "USGS: epoxy resins for solder are listed as substitutes for tin."
      ],
      "source": "usgs-mcs2026-tin",
      "where": "World Mine Production and Reserves table, 2025e, tin content (shares calculated by Space Mushroom against the 290,000 t world total); Recycling; Substitutes"
    },
    {
      "subject": "Silver",
      "producers": [
        {
          "country": "Mexico",
          "share_percent": 24.2,
          "year": 2025
        },
        {
          "country": "Peru",
          "share_percent": 13.8,
          "year": 2025
        },
        {
          "country": "China",
          "share_percent": 13.1,
          "year": 2025
        },
        {
          "country": "Bolivia",
          "share_percent": 5.8,
          "year": 2025
        }
      ],
      "critical_lists": [
        {
          "list": "USGS 2025 List of Critical Minerals (silver added in the 2025 list, per the USGS chapter)",
          "listed": true
        }
      ],
      "recycling": "USGS: approximately 1,000 tons of silver was recovered from new and old scrap in 2025, about 11% of apparent consumption.",
      "substitutes": [
        "USGS: the substitutes text covers photography and surgical uses; it does not name a substitute for silver in solder."
      ],
      "source": "usgs-mcs2026-silver",
      "where": "World Mine Production and Reserves table, 2025e (shares calculated by Space Mushroom against the 26,000 t world total); Recycling; Substitutes; Events, Trends and Issues (critical list)"
    }
  ],
  "media": [],
  "documents": [
    {
      "title": "AIM alloy information: common and specialty solder alloys (PDF)",
      "type": "datasheet",
      "url": "https://aimsolder.com/wp-content/uploads/legacy-files/alloy_information.pdf"
    },
    {
      "title": "Kester: Technical data on soft solders, Alloy Properties (PDF)",
      "type": "datasheet",
      "url": "https://www.kester.com/Portals/0/Documents/Knowledge%20Base/Alloy%20Properties.pdf"
    },
    {
      "title": "MBO Lead Free alloys: Material and Safety Data Sheet (RS Components copy, PDF)",
      "type": "sds",
      "url": "https://docs.rs-online.com/1615/0900766b8128cb0a.pdf",
      "year": 2011
    },
    {
      "title": "NIST: Review and Analysis of Lead-Free Solder Material Properties, Sn-Ag overview",
      "type": "report",
      "url": "https://www.msed.nist.gov/solder/clech/Sn-Ag_Overview.htm"
    },
    {
      "title": "NIST: Sn-Ag bulk solder properties (tensile creep)",
      "type": "report",
      "url": "https://www.msed.nist.gov/solder/clech/Sn-Ag_Bulk.htm"
    },
    {
      "title": "NIST: Other properties of Sn-3.5Ag",
      "type": "report",
      "url": "https://www.metallurgy.nist.gov/solder/clech/Sn-Ag_Other.htm"
    },
    {
      "title": "USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries 2026: Tin (PDF)",
      "type": "report",
      "url": "https://pubs.usgs.gov/periodicals/mcs2026/mcs2026-tin.pdf",
      "year": 2026
    },
    {
      "title": "USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries 2026: Silver (PDF)",
      "type": "report",
      "url": "https://pubs.usgs.gov/periodicals/mcs2026/mcs2026-silver.pdf",
      "year": 2026
    }
  ],
  "gaps": [
    "No corrosion, oxidation or ageing test for Sn96.5Ag3.5 was found in the sources read, so the corrosion section is empty.",
    "No space-flight, vacuum or thermal-cycling result for this grade was found. The planner's note about space-hardware use is not confirmed by any source read in this run.",
    "No UNS, EN, AISI or ASTM designation was printed in the sources read for this alloy; only the MBO trade name Sn96Ag is listed.",
    "The Brinell hardness value for this alloy (17.0 in the Kester table) has no unit printed, so it is left out.",
    "The AIM uniform elongation value (0.69 in the technical table) has no unit printed, so it is left out.",
    "The 0.01% yield strength (5.39 ksi in the AIM table) is not in property-canon.yaml and is left out.",
    "Elastic modulus and surface tension are blank for this alloy in the Kester table, and NIST gives no printed value for them.",
    "Specific heat, thermal conductivity and electrical resistivity were not printed for this composition in the pages read.",
    "The NIST page on bulk tensile creep prints its data as figures and exponent-form rates, which cannot be copied as printed; those rates are left out.",
    "Silver's hazard data (PubChem GHS) could not be read: the PubChem page returned a verification challenge in this run.",
    "Abundance of tin and silver in the crust was not found in a source read in this run.",
    "Tin's status on the USGS 2025 critical list and on the EU critical raw materials list was not stated in the tin chapter read here; EU list status for silver was not checked.",
    "Wikipedia's Solder article writes the eutectic as 22/78 Sn-Ag (wt.%), which does not match the 3.5 percent silver printed by the datasheets and NIST; that article is not used for composition.",
    "Sources disagree on tensile strength (AIM 8.36 ksi, Kester 8900 psi) and density (Kester 7.36, MBO 7.3, NIST 7.42 and 7.5 g/cm3). Both values are recorded and neither is preferred."
  ],
  "story": {
    "why": "Sn96.5Ag3.5 is a lead-free tin-silver solder. The Wikipedia Solder article says that lead-free solders \"have been increasing in use due to regulatory requirements\". NIST calls the Sn-3.5Ag composition a eutectic solder, which means one melting point rather than a melting range.",
    "uses": [
      {
        "where": "Soft soldering of electronic assemblies",
        "line": "NIST's review refers to solder joints of electronic assemblies in use and calls the composition an eutectic solder. The MBO data sheet lists its application as soft soldering."
      }
    ],
    "can_do": [
      {
        "label": "Melting point",
        "line": "Melts at 221 °C as a eutectic. The AIM and Kester datasheets both print 221 °C.",
        "benchmark": "melting_point",
        "scope": "material"
      },
      {
        "label": "Tensile strength",
        "line": "Carries a tensile strength of 8.36 ksi in the AIM table and 8900 psi in the Kester table. The two datasheets differ, so both are recorded.",
        "benchmark": "ultimate_tensile_strength",
        "scope": "material"
      },
      {
        "label": "Yield strength",
        "line": "Has a 0.2% yield strength of 7.08 ksi in the AIM table.",
        "benchmark": "yield_strength",
        "scope": "material"
      },
      {
        "label": "Electrical conductivity",
        "line": "Conducts electricity at a Kester Cu% reading of 14.",
        "benchmark": "electrical_conductivity",
        "scope": "material"
      }
    ],
    "compare": "The sources agree on the melting point, 221 °C, which is a single temperature for this eutectic composition. They do not agree on density, with 7.36 g/cm3 from Kester, 7.3 g/cm3 from the MBO sheet, 7.5 g/cm3 from the NIST Boulder database, and 7.42 g/cm3 from NIST's rule-of-mixtures figure. The tensile strength also differs between AIM (8.36 ksi) and Kester (8900 psi). No like-for-like comparison with SAC alloys or tin-lead solders is made here, because those grades were not read in this run.",
    "compare_rows": [
      {
        "label": "Melting point",
        "benchmark": "melting_point",
        "scope": "material"
      },
      {
        "label": "Density",
        "benchmark": "density",
        "scope": "material"
      },
      {
        "label": "Tensile strength",
        "benchmark": "ultimate_tensile_strength",
        "scope": "material"
      }
    ],
    "handling": [
      "Wear safety glasses and protective gloves when soldering, and wash hands after use, as the MBO sheet recommends.",
      "Use good ventilation and local fume extraction at the soldering point.",
      "The alloy is not classified as dangerous in the sheet read here, but soldering can cause burns and release fumes."
    ],
    "good_for": [
      "Lead-free soft soldering of electronic joints where a single melting point of 221 °C is wanted.",
      "Joints that carry light mechanical load, where the datasheets give tensile strengths of 8.36 ksi (AIM) and 8900 psi (Kester)."
    ],
    "watch_out": [
      "Low tensile and shear strength (8900 psi tensile and 4600 psi shear in the Kester table).",
      "Creep at elevated temperature: NIST's bulk data cover -10°C to 180°C, and its fitted activation energy is 41.57 kJ/mole.",
      "The sources disagree on tensile strength and density, so use the value and source that match your test."
    ],
    "verdict": "Sn96.5Ag3.5 is a simple lead-free eutectic solder. The datasheets agree on its 221 °C melting point, but its strength values disagree between sources, and no space-environment or corrosion test for this grade was found.",
    "recipe": {
      "line": "Sn96.5Ag3.5 is a binary alloy of tin and silver. The Kester table prints its composition as Sn96.5Ag3.5 and the AIM table as Sn96.5/Ag3.5. The MBO safety data sheet lists the same two elements for its Sn96Ag alloy.",
      "parts": [
        {
          "name": "Tin",
          "symbol": "Sn",
          "role": "Matrix metal of the solder; it forms most of the joint."
        },
        {
          "name": "Silver",
          "symbol": "Ag",
          "role": "Alloying element. Wikipedia's Solder article says the eutectic tin-silver alloy tends to form platelets of Ag3Sn."
        }
      ]
    },
    "risk_groups": [
      {
        "title": "For people",
        "lead": "The supplier safety data sheet for this alloy does not classify it, but it lists burn and fume hazards during soldering.",
        "points": [
          {
            "label": "The alloy",
            "line": "The MBO safety data sheet says the product is not classified as dangerous and has no GHS label elements."
          },
          {
            "label": "Soldering",
            "line": "The same sheet says the product could cause burns during soldering and may produce or release fumes. It recommends safety glasses, protective gloves, good ventilation and local fume extraction."
          }
        ],
        "level": 0,
        "verdict": "Not classified as dangerous"
      },
      {
        "title": "Handling and storage",
        "points": [
          {
            "label": "Ventilation",
            "line": "Use fume extraction at the soldering point, as the MBO sheet recommends."
          }
        ]
      }
    ]
  },
  "updated": "2026-11-01",
  "review": {
    "status": "draft",
    "method": "assistant",
    "checked_values": 14,
    "unreachable": 0,
    "caveats": 2,
    "note": "Written by an AI assistant on 2026-11-01 from datasheets and NIST pages read in this run. Values are copied as printed; two property names (shear_strength, electrical_conductivity, creep_activation_energy) are not in the canonical list."
  },
  "sources": {
    "aim-alloy-info": {
      "title": "AIM: Alloy Information, common and specialty solder alloys",
      "id": "AIM, alloy_information.pdf (legacy file)",
      "url": "https://aimsolder.com/wp-content/uploads/legacy-files/alloy_information.pdf",
      "kind": "datasheet",
      "license": "supplier document, linked not reproduced"
    },
    "kester-soft-solder": {
      "title": "Kester: Technical Data on Soft Solders (Alloy Properties)",
      "id": "Kester, Knowledge Base, Alloy Properties.pdf",
      "url": "https://www.kester.com/Portals/0/Documents/Knowledge%20Base/Alloy%20Properties.pdf",
      "kind": "datasheet",
      "license": "supplier document, linked not reproduced"
    },
    "mbo-sds": {
      "title": "MBO Lead Free alloys: Material and Safety Data Sheet (supplied by RS Components)",
      "id": "Document 1194-F, update number 02, updated 11/03/11",
      "url": "https://docs.rs-online.com/1615/0900766b8128cb0a.pdf",
      "year": 2011,
      "kind": "datasheet",
      "license": "supplier document, linked not reproduced"
    },
    "nist-sn-ag-overview": {
      "title": "NIST: Review and Analysis of Lead-Free Solder Material Properties, Sn-Ag overview",
      "url": "https://www.msed.nist.gov/solder/clech/Sn-Ag_Overview.htm",
      "kind": "report",
      "license": "public domain (NIST)"
    },
    "nist-sn-ag-bulk": {
      "title": "NIST: Sn-Ag bulk solder properties, tensile creep and hyperbolic sine model",
      "url": "https://www.msed.nist.gov/solder/clech/Sn-Ag_Bulk.htm",
      "kind": "report",
      "license": "public domain (NIST)"
    },
    "nist-sn-ag-other": {
      "title": "NIST: Other Properties of Sn-3.5Ag (density, coefficient of thermal expansion)",
      "url": "https://www.metallurgy.nist.gov/solder/clech/Sn-Ag_Other.htm",
      "kind": "report",
      "license": "public domain (NIST)"
    },
    "usgs-mcs2026-tin": {
      "title": "Mineral Commodity Summaries 2026: Tin",
      "id": "USGS MCS 2026, February 2026",
      "url": "https://pubs.usgs.gov/periodicals/mcs2026/mcs2026-tin.pdf",
      "year": 2026,
      "kind": "report",
      "license": "public domain (USGS)"
    },
    "usgs-mcs2026-silver": {
      "title": "Mineral Commodity Summaries 2026: Silver",
      "id": "USGS MCS 2026, February 2026",
      "url": "https://pubs.usgs.gov/periodicals/mcs2026/mcs2026-silver.pdf",
      "year": 2026,
      "kind": "report",
      "license": "public domain (USGS)"
    },
    "wikipedia-solder": {
      "title": "Solder (Wikipedia), used for history and composition context only",
      "url": "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Solder",
      "kind": "web",
      "license": "CC BY-SA 4.0"
    }
  },
  "license": "CC-BY-4.0",
  "url": "https://spacemushroom.com/profiles/solder-sn96-5ag3-5/"
}