{
  "spore": "profile",
  "id": "indium-phosphide",
  "spore_version": "0.2",
  "family": "semiconductor-materials",
  "name": "Indium phosphide",
  "abbreviation": "InP",
  "role": "semiconductor",
  "category": "semiconductors",
  "type": "inp",
  "summary": "Indium phosphide (InP) is a binary III-V semiconductor of one indium atom and one phosphorus atom, sold by Shalomeo as single-crystal substrates. Shalomeo gives a density of 4.81 g/cm3, a band gap of 1.344 eV at 300 K and an electron mobility of 5400 cm2/(V·s) at 300 K. Most InGaAs devices are grown on InP, because In0.53Ga0.47As matches its lattice (Wikipedia). PubChem's ECHA summary classifies InP as a cancer hazard (H350) in most of the reports that give hazard codes.\n",
  "best_for": "Substrates for InGaAs photodiodes and detectors, and for high-speed electronics and telecom devices, where a band gap of 1.344 eV and an electron mobility of 5400 cm2/(V·s) at 300 K are the reasons to choose it",
  "weakest_at": "Supply and toxicity: the United States imports all of its indium, China produced 70% of world indium (USGS), and PubChem's ECHA summary gives H350 (May cause cancer) for 98.1% of reports that list codes",
  "identity": {
    "formula": "InP, one indium atom and one phosphorus atom in a zinc-blende crystal",
    "cas": "22398-80-7",
    "crystal_system": "cubic",
    "designations": [],
    "source": "shalomeo-inp",
    "where": "Basic Properties table of the Shalomeo page (crystal structure Tetrahedral(M4), lattice constant a = 5.869 Å); cubic from the Surfacenet crystal properties; zinc blende and CAS 22398-80-7 from the Wikipedia infobox"
  },
  "tags": {
    "environments": [],
    "stresses": [],
    "applications": [
      "electronics-and-chips",
      "optics-and-cameras",
      "solar-arrays"
    ]
  },
  "properties": [
    {
      "benchmark": "density",
      "label": "Density of InP single crystal",
      "value": 4.81,
      "bound": "exact",
      "unit": "g/cm3",
      "scope": "material",
      "conditions": {
        "form": "InP single crystal (substrate product)",
        "temperature": "not stated on the page"
      },
      "method": "Value printed in a substrate supplier's basic properties table",
      "status": "ground",
      "source": "shalomeo-inp",
      "where": "Basic Properties table, row Density",
      "source_detail": {
        "title": "Indium Phosphide (InP) single crystal substrates, InP-Semi-Growth product page (Shalomeo)",
        "url": "https://www.shalomeo.com/Ceramic-Substrates/InP-Semi-Growth/product-257.html",
        "kind": "datasheet",
        "license": "Manufacturer product page (cited, not reproduced)"
      }
    },
    {
      "benchmark": "melting_point",
      "label": "Melting point, InP (Shalomeo)",
      "value": 1062,
      "bound": "exact",
      "unit": "°C",
      "scope": "material",
      "conditions": {
        "form": "InP single crystal",
        "pressure": "not stated on the page"
      },
      "method": "Value printed in a substrate supplier's basic properties table",
      "status": "ground",
      "note": "Wikipedia's infobox also prints 1,062 °C. Surfacenet prints 1330 °C for the same material (next entry). The two values disagree and both are kept.",
      "source": "shalomeo-inp",
      "where": "Basic Properties table, row Melt Point",
      "source_detail": {
        "title": "Indium Phosphide (InP) single crystal substrates, InP-Semi-Growth product page (Shalomeo)",
        "url": "https://www.shalomeo.com/Ceramic-Substrates/InP-Semi-Growth/product-257.html",
        "kind": "datasheet",
        "license": "Manufacturer product page (cited, not reproduced)"
      }
    },
    {
      "benchmark": "melting_point",
      "label": "Melting point, InP (Surfacenet, (100) block)",
      "value": 1330,
      "bound": "exact",
      "unit": "°C",
      "scope": "material",
      "conditions": {
        "orientation": "(100)",
        "page_note": "degree sign is garbled on the page"
      },
      "method": "Value printed on a materials data page under the crystal properties block for the (100) orientation",
      "status": "ground",
      "note": "Disagrees with the 1062 °C from Shalomeo and Wikipedia. The disagreement is not resolved here.",
      "source": "surfacenet-inp",
      "where": "Crystal properties, (100) block, melting point row",
      "source_detail": {
        "title": "Indium phosphide (InP) material properties (Surfacenet, old-version page)",
        "url": "https://surfacenet.de/files/old_version/html/inp.html",
        "kind": "database",
        "license": "cited, not reproduced"
      }
    },
    {
      "benchmark": "band_gap",
      "label": "Band gap of InP at 300 K",
      "value": 1.344,
      "bound": "exact",
      "unit": "eV",
      "scope": "material",
      "conditions": {
        "temperature": "300 K"
      },
      "method": "Value printed in a substrate supplier's basic properties table",
      "status": "ground",
      "note": "The Wikipedia infobox describes this gap as direct; the supplier table does not print the gap type.",
      "source": "shalomeo-inp",
      "where": "Basic Properties table, row Bandgap (@300 K)",
      "source_detail": {
        "title": "Indium Phosphide (InP) single crystal substrates, InP-Semi-Growth product page (Shalomeo)",
        "url": "https://www.shalomeo.com/Ceramic-Substrates/InP-Semi-Growth/product-257.html",
        "kind": "datasheet",
        "license": "Manufacturer product page (cited, not reproduced)"
      }
    },
    {
      "benchmark": "electron_mobility",
      "label": "Electron mobility of InP at 300 K",
      "value": 5400,
      "bound": "exact",
      "unit": "cm2/(V·s)",
      "scope": "material",
      "conditions": {
        "temperature": "300 K"
      },
      "method": "Value printed in a substrate supplier's basic properties table",
      "status": "ground",
      "note": "Surfacenet gives different figures for undoped N-type (100) and (111) crystal (next two entries). The conditions differ and the values are not reconciled.",
      "source": "shalomeo-inp",
      "where": "Basic Properties table, row Electron Mobility (@300K)",
      "source_detail": {
        "title": "Indium Phosphide (InP) single crystal substrates, InP-Semi-Growth product page (Shalomeo)",
        "url": "https://www.shalomeo.com/Ceramic-Substrates/InP-Semi-Growth/product-257.html",
        "kind": "datasheet",
        "license": "Manufacturer product page (cited, not reproduced)"
      }
    },
    {
      "benchmark": "electron_mobility",
      "label": "Mobility, undoped N-type InP, (100) crystal",
      "value": 3700,
      "value_high": 4000,
      "bound": "range",
      "unit": "cm2/ V-S",
      "scope": "material",
      "conditions": {
        "orientation": "(100)",
        "doping": "undoped, N-type",
        "temperature": "not stated on the page"
      },
      "method": "Range printed on a materials data page under the crystal properties block; the page gives it as mobility for N-type material without naming a temperature",
      "status": "ground",
      "source": "surfacenet-inp",
      "where": "Crystal properties, (100) block, mobility row",
      "source_detail": {
        "title": "Indium phosphide (InP) material properties (Surfacenet, old-version page)",
        "url": "https://surfacenet.de/files/old_version/html/inp.html",
        "kind": "database",
        "license": "cited, not reproduced"
      }
    },
    {
      "benchmark": "electron_mobility",
      "label": "Mobility, undoped N-type InP, (111) crystal (upper bound)",
      "value": 3000,
      "bound": "upper",
      "unit": "cm2/ V-S",
      "scope": "material",
      "conditions": {
        "orientation": "(111)",
        "doping": "undoped, N-type",
        "temperature": "not stated on the page"
      },
      "method": "Upper bound printed on a materials data page (the page prints \"< 3000\")",
      "status": "ground",
      "source": "surfacenet-inp",
      "where": "Crystal properties, (111) block, mobility row",
      "source_detail": {
        "title": "Indium phosphide (InP) material properties (Surfacenet, old-version page)",
        "url": "https://surfacenet.de/files/old_version/html/inp.html",
        "kind": "database",
        "license": "cited, not reproduced"
      }
    },
    {
      "benchmark": "thermal_conductivity",
      "label": "Thermal conductivity of InP at 300 K",
      "value": 0.68,
      "bound": "exact",
      "unit": "W/(cm·K)",
      "scope": "material",
      "conditions": {
        "temperature": "300 K"
      },
      "method": "Value printed in a substrate supplier's basic properties table",
      "status": "ground",
      "source": "shalomeo-inp",
      "where": "Basic Properties table, row Thermal Conductivity (@300K)",
      "source_detail": {
        "title": "Indium Phosphide (InP) single crystal substrates, InP-Semi-Growth product page (Shalomeo)",
        "url": "https://www.shalomeo.com/Ceramic-Substrates/InP-Semi-Growth/product-257.html",
        "kind": "datasheet",
        "license": "Manufacturer product page (cited, not reproduced)"
      }
    },
    {
      "benchmark": "refractive_index",
      "label": "Refractive index of InP at 632.8 nm",
      "value": 3.55,
      "bound": "exact",
      "unit": "-",
      "scope": "material",
      "conditions": {
        "wavelength": "632.8nm"
      },
      "method": "Value printed in a substrate supplier's basic properties table",
      "status": "ground",
      "source": "shalomeo-inp",
      "where": "Basic Properties table, row Refractive Index",
      "source_detail": {
        "title": "Indium Phosphide (InP) single crystal substrates, InP-Semi-Growth product page (Shalomeo)",
        "url": "https://www.shalomeo.com/Ceramic-Substrates/InP-Semi-Growth/product-257.html",
        "kind": "datasheet",
        "license": "Manufacturer product page (cited, not reproduced)"
      }
    },
    {
      "benchmark": "lattice_constant",
      "label": "Lattice constant of InP (Shalomeo)",
      "value": 5.869,
      "bound": "exact",
      "unit": "Å",
      "scope": "material",
      "conditions": {
        "structure": "zinc blende (cubic)",
        "temperature": "not stated on the page"
      },
      "method": "Value printed in a substrate supplier's basic properties table",
      "status": "ground",
      "note": "Surfacenet prints 5.868 Å, and the Wikipedia InGaAs article gives 5.869 Å at 295 K for the In0.53Ga0.47As alloy that matches InP. The values agree within rounding.",
      "source": "shalomeo-inp",
      "where": "Basic Properties table, row Lattice Constant",
      "source_detail": {
        "title": "Indium Phosphide (InP) single crystal substrates, InP-Semi-Growth product page (Shalomeo)",
        "url": "https://www.shalomeo.com/Ceramic-Substrates/InP-Semi-Growth/product-257.html",
        "kind": "datasheet",
        "license": "Manufacturer product page (cited, not reproduced)"
      }
    },
    {
      "benchmark": "lattice_constant",
      "label": "Lattice constant of InP (Surfacenet, (100) block)",
      "value": 5.868,
      "bound": "exact",
      "unit": "Å",
      "scope": "material",
      "conditions": {
        "orientation": "(100) block",
        "structure": "cubic",
        "unit_as_printed": "A"
      },
      "method": "Value printed on a materials data page under the crystal properties block",
      "status": "ground",
      "source": "surfacenet-inp",
      "where": "Crystal properties, (100) block, crystal structure and lattice constant row",
      "source_detail": {
        "title": "Indium phosphide (InP) material properties (Surfacenet, old-version page)",
        "url": "https://surfacenet.de/files/old_version/html/inp.html",
        "kind": "database",
        "license": "cited, not reproduced"
      }
    },
    {
      "benchmark": "molar_mass",
      "label": "Molar mass of InP",
      "value": 145.792,
      "bound": "exact",
      "unit": "g/mol",
      "scope": "material",
      "conditions": {
        "basis": "molecular weight of the InP formula unit"
      },
      "method": "Value printed in a substrate supplier's basic properties table; PubChem prints the same molecular weight (145.792) without a unit",
      "status": "ground",
      "source": "shalomeo-inp",
      "where": "Basic Properties table, row Molar Mass",
      "source_detail": {
        "title": "Indium Phosphide (InP) single crystal substrates, InP-Semi-Growth product page (Shalomeo)",
        "url": "https://www.shalomeo.com/Ceramic-Substrates/InP-Semi-Growth/product-257.html",
        "kind": "datasheet",
        "license": "Manufacturer product page (cited, not reproduced)"
      }
    },
    {
      "benchmark": "electrical_resistivity",
      "label": "Electrical resistivity, (100) InP",
      "value": 0.03,
      "value_high": 0.2,
      "bound": "range",
      "unit": "Ohm cm",
      "scope": "material",
      "conditions": {
        "orientation": "(100)",
        "doping": "not stated on the row"
      },
      "method": "Range printed on a materials data page under the crystal properties block",
      "status": "ground",
      "note": "The page does not tie this resistivity to a doping type, so it is kept apart from the mobility rows.",
      "source": "surfacenet-inp",
      "where": "Crystal properties, (100) block, resistivity row",
      "source_detail": {
        "title": "Indium phosphide (InP) material properties (Surfacenet, old-version page)",
        "url": "https://surfacenet.de/files/old_version/html/inp.html",
        "kind": "database",
        "license": "cited, not reproduced"
      }
    }
  ],
  "corrosion": [
    {
      "environment": "Acids",
      "headline": "The supplier calls indium phosphide slightly soluble in acids; no acid, temperature or exposure time is given.",
      "effect": "Shalomeo lists chemical stability as slightly soluble in acids. The statement is qualitative: the page names no acid, concentration, temperature or time, so no corrosion rate can be stated.",
      "rating": "low",
      "conditions": {
        "basis": "qualitative chemical-stability statement from a supplier",
        "acid": "not named on the page"
      },
      "source": "shalomeo-inp",
      "where": "Basic Properties table, row Chemical Stability"
    },
    {
      "environment": "Ionising radiation",
      "headline": "The supplier claims good radiation stability, with no dose or fluence figure.",
      "effect": "Shalomeo lists good radiation stability among the features of its InP substrates and names radiation-resistant solar cells as an application. The page prints no dose, fluence or test result for the claim.",
      "rating": "low",
      "conditions": {
        "basis": "supplier feature statement with no test given",
        "dose": "not stated on the page"
      },
      "source": "shalomeo-inp",
      "where": "Features statement and application fields"
    }
  ],
  "risks": {
    "hazards": [
      {
        "text": "PubChem's ECHA summary for indium phosphide (211 company reports from 8 notifications) gives H350 (May cause cancer) for 98.1% of reports that give codes, H361 (Suspected of damaging fertility or the unborn child) for 94.3%, and H372 (Causes damage to organs through prolonged or repeated exposure) for 98.1%. The signal word is Danger.",
        "ghs": [
          "H350",
          "H361",
          "H372"
        ],
        "source": "pubchem-inp",
        "where": "Safety and Hazards, GHS Classification, ECHA C&L Notifications Summary (CID 31170)"
      },
      {
        "text": "Individual notifications differ. One reads Not Classified, and others list H350 and H372 with the signal word Danger. PubChem notes that the classification varies with impurities, additives and other factors.",
        "ghs": [],
        "source": "pubchem-inp",
        "where": "Safety and Hazards, GHS Classification, individual notifications"
      }
    ],
    "failure_risks": [],
    "side_effects": [],
    "handling": [
      {
        "text": "Shalomeo packages its InP substrates in class 100 bags inside a class 1000 clean room.",
        "source": "shalomeo-inp",
        "where": "Packaging statement in the product specifications"
      },
      {
        "text": "No supplier safety data sheet for InP was opened. Get the supplier's sheet before cutting, etching or grinding the material, because the only hazard data here come from the PubChem classification.",
        "source": "pubchem-inp",
        "where": "Safety and Hazards, GHS Classification"
      }
    ],
    "mitigations": []
  },
  "uses": [
    {
      "application": "optics-and-cameras",
      "device": "InGaAs photodiodes and detectors grown on InP substrates",
      "example": "Most InGaAs devices are grown on InP substrates. The In0.53Ga0.47As alloy matches the InP lattice at 295 K, GaInAs photodiodes are the preferred choice from 1.1 μm to 1.7 μm, and the 53% indium composition has a cut-off of 1.68 μm at 295 K.",
      "source": "wikipedia-ingaas",
      "where": "Introduction; lattice-matching section; photodiode section"
    },
    {
      "application": "electronics-and-chips",
      "device": "High-frequency transistors built on InP and InGaAs",
      "example": "Shalomeo says InP performs superiorly in high-power and high-frequency electronics. Wikipedia reports pseudomorphic heterojunction bipolar transistors that could operate at 604 GHz.",
      "source": "wikipedia-inp",
      "where": "Uses section, RF and high-speed electronics paragraph; Shalomeo application statements"
    },
    {
      "application": "optics-and-cameras",
      "device": "Telecom lasers, photodetectors and receivers",
      "example": "USGS reports that InP lasers and receivers send data through fiber-optic lines in 5G networks, and that InP is used in high-speed photodetectors and laser diodes for optical communications.",
      "source": "usgs-mcs2026-indium",
      "where": "Events, Trends, and Issues"
    },
    {
      "application": "solar-arrays",
      "device": "Radiation-resistant solar cells",
      "example": "Shalomeo lists radiation-resistant solar cells among the application fields of its InP substrates. The page prints no cell efficiency and no radiation dose.",
      "source": "shalomeo-inp",
      "where": "Product and application statements"
    }
  ],
  "supply": [
    {
      "subject": "Indium (the metal used to make InP)",
      "producers": [
        {
          "country": "China",
          "share_percent": 69.1,
          "year": 2025
        },
        {
          "country": "Korea, Republic of",
          "share_percent": 16.4,
          "year": 2025
        },
        {
          "country": "Japan",
          "share_percent": 5.9,
          "year": 2025
        },
        {
          "country": "Canada",
          "share_percent": 3.6,
          "year": 2025
        }
      ],
      "critical_lists": [
        {
          "list": "USGS 2025 List of Critical Minerals (final list, November 2025)",
          "listed": true
        },
        {
          "list": "EU critical raw materials list (European Commission page)",
          "listed": false
        }
      ],
      "recycling": "USGS: indium is most commonly recovered from ITO scrap in Japan and the Republic of Korea; the quantity recovered from scrap is not available.",
      "substitutes": [
        "USGS: the substitutes it names are for indium tin oxide coatings (antimony tin oxide, carbon nanotubes, PEDOT, copper or silver nanowires, graphene), not for InP wafers."
      ],
      "source": "usgs-mcs2026-indium",
      "where": "World Refinery Production and Capacity table, 2025e (world total 1,100 metric tons; shares calculated by Space Mushroom from China 760, Korea 180, Japan 65 and Canada 40 tons); Events, Trends, and Issues (China 70% of the world total, as printed); Recycling; Substitutes"
    }
  ],
  "media": [],
  "documents": [
    {
      "title": "Wikipedia: Indium phosphide (formula, crystal structure, manufacturing, uses)",
      "type": "database",
      "url": "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Indium_phosphide",
      "year": 2026
    },
    {
      "title": "Shalomeo: InP single crystal substrates, product page (specifications and basic properties)",
      "type": "datasheet",
      "url": "https://www.shalomeo.com/Ceramic-Substrates/InP-Semi-Growth/product-257.html"
    },
    {
      "title": "Surfacenet: Indium phosphide (InP) material properties page",
      "type": "database",
      "url": "https://surfacenet.de/files/old_version/html/inp.html"
    },
    {
      "title": "PubChem compound record: Indium phosphide (CID 31170), GHS classification",
      "type": "database",
      "url": "https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Indium-phosphide",
      "year": 2026
    },
    {
      "title": "USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries 2026: Indium",
      "type": "report",
      "url": "https://pubs.usgs.gov/periodicals/mcs2026/mcs2026-indium.pdf",
      "year": 2026
    },
    {
      "title": "USGS: About the 2025 List of Critical Minerals",
      "type": "report",
      "url": "https://www.usgs.gov/programs/mineral-resources-program/science/about-2025-list-critical-minerals",
      "year": 2025
    },
    {
      "title": "European Commission: Critical raw materials",
      "type": "report",
      "url": "https://single-market-economy.ec.europa.eu/sectors/raw-materials/areas-specific-interest/critical-raw-materials_en",
      "year": 2024
    },
    {
      "title": "Wikipedia: Indium gallium arsenide (lattice matching to InP, photodiode range)",
      "type": "database",
      "url": "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Indium_gallium_arsenide",
      "year": 2026
    }
  ],
  "gaps": [
    "No space flight, vacuum, thermal-cycling or radiation-dose result for InP was found. The space statements come from one supplier (good radiation stability, radiation-resistant solar cells) and carry no numbers.",
    "Space group, dielectric constant, thermal expansion and effective masses were not found on any page opened. The Ioffe Institute semiconductor table returned a certificate error and could not be opened.",
    "Carrier concentration, mobility ratio and dislocation density for undoped, S-doped, Zn-doped and Fe-doped InP are printed on the Shalomeo page without units, and Surfacenet flattens the exponents, so none is recorded.",
    "Melting point is not resolved: 1062 °C (Shalomeo, Wikipedia) against 1330 °C (Surfacenet, degree sign garbled). Both are recorded.",
    "Electron mobility is not resolved: 5400 cm2/(V·s) at 300 K (Shalomeo) against 3700 to 4000 cm2/ V-S for undoped N-type (100) crystal (Surfacenet). The conditions differ.",
    "Atomic weights of indium and phosphorus were not printed on any page opened, so the recipe parts carry atom counts only.",
    "The Wikipedia manufacturing section gives a temperature for the white-phosphorus route. It is not recorded as a property because Wikipedia is used here for composition and history only, so the story describes the route without the figure.",
    "Phosphorus supply, crustal abundance of indium and the indium price were not recorded. The USGS 2026 summary prints the 2025 U.S. warehouse price as 370 and as 390 dollars per kilogram in different places, so neither is used.",
    "No supplier safety data sheet for InP was opened (the American Elements page returned HTTP 403). Hazard data rest on the PubChem ECHA summary, and no toxicology values are recorded.",
    "Corrosion and ageing are described only by a qualitative supplier statement about acids and one about radiation stability. No oxidation, humidity or thermal ageing study was opened.",
    "Standard designations (UNS, EN, DIN, JIS, ASTM) were not found for InP substrates, so identity.designations is left out.",
    "Failure modes, side effects and mitigations for InP devices were not found in the sources read.",
    "Molar mass, band gap, electron mobility and lattice constant are not in spores/property-canon.yaml and use snake_case names.",
    "No images are added to this profile."
  ],
  "story": {
    "why": "Indium phosphide (InP) is a III-V semiconductor, made of indium and phosphorus in a 1:1 ratio, that is sold as a single-crystal substrate. Shalomeo lists its features as high electron mobility, good radiation stability and a large band gap, and gives a band gap of 1.344 eV at 300 K and an electron mobility of 5400 cm2/(V·s) at 300 K. Its main role is as the substrate for indium gallium arsenide, because the In0.53Ga0.47As alloy matches the InP lattice (Wikipedia).",
    "uses": [
      {
        "where": "Photodiodes and detectors",
        "line": "Most InGaAs devices are grown on InP substrates. For 1.1 μm to 1.7 μm, GaInAs photodiodes are the preferred choice, and the 53% indium composition has a cut-off of 1.68 μm at 295 K (Wikipedia)."
      },
      {
        "where": "High-frequency transistors",
        "line": "Shalomeo says InP performs superiorly in high-power and high-frequency electronics. Wikipedia reports pseudomorphic heterojunction bipolar transistors that could operate at 604 GHz."
      },
      {
        "where": "Telecom lasers and receivers",
        "line": "USGS reports that InP lasers and receivers send data through fiber-optic lines in 5G networks, and that InP is used in high-speed photodetectors and laser diodes for optical communications."
      }
    ],
    "can_do": [
      {
        "label": "Electron speed",
        "line": "Electron mobility is 5400 cm2/(V·s) at 300 K (Shalomeo). Surfacenet gives 3700 to 4000 cm2/ V-S for undoped N-type (100) crystal, so the exact figure depends on the material and its conditions.",
        "benchmark": "electron_mobility",
        "scope": "material",
        "value": "5400 cm2/(V·s) at 300 K"
      },
      {
        "label": "Band gap",
        "line": "The band gap is 1.344 eV at 300 K (Shalomeo). The Wikipedia infobox describes this gap as direct.",
        "benchmark": "band_gap",
        "scope": "material",
        "value": "1.344 eV at 300 K"
      },
      {
        "label": "Lattice match",
        "line": "The lattice constant is 5.869 Å (Shalomeo). Wikipedia gives 5.869 Å at 295 K for the In0.53Ga0.47As alloy, which matches InP at that temperature.",
        "benchmark": "lattice_constant",
        "scope": "material",
        "value": "5.869 Å"
      },
      {
        "label": "Heat conduction",
        "line": "Thermal conductivity is 0.68 W/(cm·K) at 300 K (Shalomeo).",
        "benchmark": "thermal_conductivity",
        "scope": "material",
        "value": "0.68 W/(cm·K)"
      }
    ],
    "compare": "Indium phosphide sits with the other III-V compound semiconductors in this collection. Compared with gallium arsenide, the figures we hold put InP at a smaller band gap and a lower electron mobility at 300 K. InP's main role is as the substrate on which InGaAs devices are grown. The table compares InP with the other semiconductors in this collection on density, band gap and electron mobility.",
    "compare_rows": [
      {
        "label": "Density",
        "benchmark": "density",
        "scope": "material"
      },
      {
        "label": "Band gap",
        "benchmark": "band_gap",
        "scope": "material"
      },
      {
        "label": "Electron mobility",
        "benchmark": "electron_mobility",
        "scope": "material"
      }
    ],
    "handling": [
      "Treat the material as a cancer hazard until the supplier's safety data sheet says otherwise, because PubChem's ECHA summary gives H350 for 98.1% of reports that list codes.",
      "Keep substrates in the clean-room bags they are shipped in until use.",
      "Get the supplier's safety data sheet before cutting, etching or grinding InP."
    ],
    "good_for": [
      "Substrates for InGaAs detectors and photodiodes, where the InP lattice matches In0.53Ga0.47As at 295 K.",
      "High-frequency transistors. Wikipedia reports pseudomorphic transistors that could operate at 604 GHz.",
      "Telecom lasers and receivers, which USGS says carry fiber-optic traffic in 5G networks."
    ],
    "watch_out": [
      "Cancer classification: PubChem's ECHA summary gives H350 for 98.1% of reports that list codes.",
      "Supply: China produced 70% of world indium (USGS), China added indium to new export restrictions in February 2025, and the United States imports all of its indium.",
      "Melting point: 1062 °C from Shalomeo and Wikipedia, but 1330 °C from Surfacenet.",
      "No space flight or radiation-dose data for InP were found, so the space case rests on supplier statements."
    ],
    "verdict": "InP is the lattice-matched substrate for InGaAs detectors and a fast-electron material for high-frequency and telecom devices. The supplier and database pages agree on density, band gap and lattice constant, but they disagree on the melting point, and the mobility figures need their conditions. The cancer classification and dependence on Chinese indium supply are the points to watch. This profile has no space flight data.",
    "recipe": {
      "line": "Indium phosphide is a binary compound of one indium atom and one phosphorus atom, with the formula InP (PubChem). It crystallises in the zinc-blende structure (Wikipedia). Wikipedia lists three routes: reacting white phosphorus with indium iodide at high temperature, direct combination of purified indium and phosphorus at high temperature and pressure, and thermal decomposition of a trialkyl indium compound mixed with phosphine.",
      "parts": [
        {
          "name": "Indium",
          "symbol": "In",
          "role": "The group III element. Indium gallium arsenide replaces part of this indium with gallium so that the alloy matches the InP lattice."
        },
        {
          "name": "Phosphorus",
          "symbol": "P",
          "role": "The group V element. One phosphorus atom per formula unit, in the tetrahedral coordination that the supplier table prints."
        }
      ]
    },
    "risk_groups": [
      {
        "title": "For people",
        "lead": "PubChem's ECHA summary classifies indium phosphide as a cancer hazard in most reports that give codes. The classification varies between notifications, and no supplier safety data sheet was opened.",
        "points": [
          {
            "label": "Classification",
            "line": "PubChem's ECHA summary covers 211 company reports from 8 notifications. Of the reports that give codes, 98.1% list H350 (May cause cancer), 94.3% list H361 (Suspected of damaging fertility or the unborn child) and 98.1% list H372 (Causes damage to organs through prolonged or repeated exposure). The signal word is Danger."
          },
          {
            "label": "Other notifications",
            "line": "One notification reads Not Classified. Others list H350 and H372 with the signal word Danger."
          },
          {
            "label": "Wafer packing",
            "line": "Shalomeo packs its substrates in class 100 bags inside a class 1000 clean room. That is the only supplier handling statement that was read."
          }
        ],
        "level": 2,
        "verdict": "Cancer classification in most reports"
      },
      {
        "title": "In service",
        "lead": "No space failure data for InP were found. The radiation statements that were read carry no numbers.",
        "points": [
          {
            "label": "Radiation",
            "line": "Shalomeo says InP has good radiation stability, but it gives no dose, fluence or test result for that claim."
          },
          {
            "label": "Surface",
            "line": "Shalomeo gives a surface roughness of Ra ≤5 Å for polished substrates, printed as Ra:≤5A."
          }
        ]
      },
      {
        "title": "Handling and storage",
        "points": [
          {
            "label": "Packaging",
            "line": "Shalomeo ships the substrates in class 100 bags inside a class 1000 clean room. Keep them in those bags until use."
          }
        ]
      }
    ]
  },
  "updated": "2026-11-01",
  "review": {
    "status": "draft",
    "method": "assistant",
    "checked_values": 13,
    "unreachable": 2,
    "caveats": 4,
    "note": "Written by an AI assistant on 2026-11-01 from pages read in this run: Wikipedia (composition, CAS, manufacturing routes, uses), the Shalomeo and Surfacenet property pages (read through text extraction), PubChem (molecular weight and GHS summary via its data service), the USGS 2026 indium summary (PDF text extracted), the USGS and EU critical-list pages, and the Wikipedia InGaAs article. Unreachable: the Ioffe Institute InP table (certificate error) and American Elements (HTTP 403). Caveats: the Surfacenet melting point and mobility disagree with Shalomeo; the Surfacenet degree sign is garbled; all supplier numbers are one manufacturer's data."
  },
  "sources": {
    "wikipedia-inp": {
      "title": "Indium phosphide (Wikipedia)",
      "url": "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Indium_phosphide",
      "year": 2026,
      "kind": "web",
      "license": "CC BY-SA 4.0 (cited, not reproduced)"
    },
    "shalomeo-inp": {
      "title": "Indium Phosphide (InP) single crystal substrates, InP-Semi-Growth product page (Shalomeo)",
      "url": "https://www.shalomeo.com/Ceramic-Substrates/InP-Semi-Growth/product-257.html",
      "kind": "datasheet",
      "license": "Manufacturer product page (cited, not reproduced)"
    },
    "surfacenet-inp": {
      "title": "Indium phosphide (InP) material properties (Surfacenet, old-version page)",
      "url": "https://surfacenet.de/files/old_version/html/inp.html",
      "kind": "database",
      "license": "cited, not reproduced"
    },
    "pubchem-inp": {
      "title": "PubChem compound record: Indium phosphide (CID 31170), including ECHA C&L Inventory classification",
      "id": "CID 31170; CAS 22398-80-7",
      "url": "https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Indium-phosphide",
      "year": 2026,
      "kind": "database",
      "license": "PubChem (NCBI), public domain; ECHA sections attributed in the record"
    },
    "usgs-mcs2026-indium": {
      "title": "Mineral Commodity Summaries 2026, Indium",
      "id": "USGS MCS 2026, February 2026",
      "url": "https://pubs.usgs.gov/periodicals/mcs2026/mcs2026-indium.pdf",
      "year": 2026,
      "kind": "report",
      "license": "public domain (USGS)"
    },
    "usgs-crit2025": {
      "title": "About the 2025 List of Critical Minerals (USGS)",
      "id": "Final 2025 List of Critical Minerals, November 2025",
      "url": "https://www.usgs.gov/programs/mineral-resources-program/science/about-2025-list-critical-minerals",
      "year": 2025,
      "kind": "web",
      "license": "public domain (USGS)"
    },
    "ec-crm": {
      "title": "Critical raw materials (European Commission)",
      "url": "https://single-market-economy.ec.europa.eu/sectors/raw-materials/areas-specific-interest/critical-raw-materials_en",
      "year": 2024,
      "kind": "web",
      "license": "European Commission web page"
    },
    "wikipedia-ingaas": {
      "title": "Indium gallium arsenide (Wikipedia)",
      "url": "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Indium_gallium_arsenide",
      "year": 2026,
      "kind": "web",
      "license": "CC BY-SA 4.0 (cited, not reproduced)"
    }
  },
  "license": "CC-BY-4.0",
  "url": "https://spacemushroom.com/profiles/indium-phosphide/"
}